Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 121 - 130 of 718

Charles II Entry Book of Warrants

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Lee1
Scope and Contents A copy, possibly written 1675-1686, of an Entry Book of Warrants relating to Virginia, Carolina, Ireland, etc. in the time of Charles II. An April 9, 1677 entry appoints someone to protect the people in Virginia from the Indians. Bacon's Rebellion was in 1676.Typed label on inside cover states "from the collection of Sir W. Betham, Ulster King at Arms, half russia." Sir William Betham (1779–1853) was an English herald and antiquarian who held the office of Ulster King of Arms...

Gideon Christian Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00150
Scope and Contents Papers, 1838-1882, of Gideon Christian, physician, of Norfolk, Va. The collection includes letters, accounts, lotteries, prescriptions, and forms for excusing draftees into the Confederate Army on medical grounds. A 1993 addendum to this collection (Mss. Acc. 1993.63) consists of two medical essays and one College of William and Mary student notebook belonging to Dr. Gideon Christian.  The student notebook begins October 15th 1840. Medical essays include notes made while...

Christopher Newport College Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 87
Scope and Contents

Series 1: Acc. 1984.069: This series contains Budgets, from 1963-1976, and capital outlay requests from 1966-1972, that were submitted to the Virginia State Legislature. They include appropriations requests and justifications.

Series 2: This series contains publications produced by Christopher Newport from 1959-1977. The inventory for this accession is available below in the finding aid/inventory section of this finding aid.

Cassimere Churchill Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00406
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters from Cassimere Churchill, a member of Company E, 9th Cavalry Regiment, New York, to his family while stationed in New York, Washington, D.C. and Virginia during the Civil War. He participated in the battles of Yorktown, Virginia, and Williamsburg, Virginia as an artillery guard. He includes descriptions of Yorktown, Va., Manassas, Va. and Washington, D.C. He write about camp life and the surrounding area, as well as his opinions of the war and the Union's...

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...

Civilian Conservation Corps Photographs, Petersburg and Waverly, Virginia

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.108
Scope and Contents 71 photographs of people, buildings and grounds at the Civilian Conservation Corps camps in Petersburg, Virginia and Waverly, Virginia. The Petersburg Camp, a predominantly white camp, was Company 1364, and the Waverly Camp, a predominantly black camp, was Camp P-55, Company 376. Captain Joseph James Matthews was the commander and responsible for the construction and landscaping of the camp, plus the training of the men. Alice Erickson, the daughter of Captain Joseph James...

Lottie V. Clark Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C54
Scope and Contents Papers of members of the Clark family of Amelia County, Virginia, dated 1849, 1889-1899, 1915. The collection consists primarily of letters written to Lottie V. Clark of Namozine, Amelia County, Virginia, by Anthelia Holt and other friends in Chesterfield County, Virginia, which discuss social, religious, and family matters, and Anthelia's work in a cotton mill. In addition, there are letters, invitations, and poems, 1849, 1890, and n.d., addressed to Martha Susan Clark and Missouri A....

James F. Clarke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00486
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1856-1907, of James F. Clarke, physician, of Mt. Solon, Va. Includes letters and accounts.

Cocke Family Collection

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00231
Scope and Contents

Letter from J.E. Wills, Upper Brandon (home of William Byrd Harrison) to Dr. Cocke asking if Cocke needed a farm manager, July 11, 1869.  Note to Palmer and Turpin requesting seeds, written from Bremo, July 17, 1869.  The years on both of these documents are difficult to read.

Cocke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 C64
Scope and Contents Papers include letter, 13 March 1838, from Charles Carter at University of Virginia to C[ary] Charles Cocke; letter, n.d., of Jesse Pound to W. E. Webb; letter, 24 June [18]46, of W. E. Webb, "Loch Lomond," Goochland Co., Va. to [John Hartwell] Cocke, Bremo, Fluvanna Co., Va.; letter, 27 June 1884, of W[illiam] R[uffin] C[oleman] Cocke, Philadelphia, to Charles [Hartwell Cocke ?]; account, 1885, of Cary Charles Cocke; and list, n.d., of slaves at "Bremo" and "Lower Bremo" Fluvanna Co.,...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 226
Account books 224
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 123
Financial records 114
Ledgers (Accounting) 76
∨ more
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 76
Legal documents 73
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 71
Receipts (financial records) 59
Photographs 58
Diaries 54
Journals (accounts) 44
Notebooks 44
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 36
Letters (correspondence) 33
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 33
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 33
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 32
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 32
Scrapbooks 31
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 26
Reports 26
Virginia--History 26
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 26
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 25
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 24
Minutes 23
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 21
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 20
Manuscripts (document genre) 20
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 20
Publications 20
Virginia--History--20th century 20
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 19
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 19
Practice of law--Virginia--History 19
Genealogy 18
Daybooks 17
Executors and administrators--Virginia--History--19th century 17
Speeches 17
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 16
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 16
Invoices 16
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 16
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 16
College of William and Mary--Students 15
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 15
Medical practice--Virginia--History 15
Merchants--Virginia--Rockingham County 15
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 15
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 15
Tobacco--Virginia--History--19th century 15
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 15
Virginia--Genealogy 15
Programs 14
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 13
Agendas (administrative records) 13
Education--Virginia--History 13
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 13
Lawyers--Virginia--History 13
United States--History--War of 1812 13
United States--Slavery 13
University of Virginia--History--19th century 13
Virginia--History--19th century 13
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 13
Women--Education--Virginia--History 13
Buckingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 12
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 12
Merchants--Virginia--History--20th century 12
Pamphlets 12
Poems 12
Virginia--Governors 12
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 12
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 11
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History--19th century 11
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 11
Newspapers 11
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 11
Typescripts 11
Virginia--History--18th century 11
Virginia--Religious history 11
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 10
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 10
Practice of law--Virginia--History--19th century 10
Slavery--Virginia--History 10
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 10
Surveys (documents) 10
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 10
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 10
Women--History--Virginia 10
Agriculture--Virginia--History 9
Clippings (information artifacts) 9
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 9
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 9
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 9
Medicine--Virginia--History--19th century 9
Merchants--Virginia--Augusta County 9
Merchants--Virginia--Fauquier County 9
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 9
Photostats 9
∧ less
 
Language
English 715
French 7
Latin 5
German 4
Dutch; Flemish 1
∨ more  
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 21
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 16
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 14
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 9
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 9
∨ more
College of William and Mary. 7
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 7
Virginia State Senate 6
College of William and Mary 5
Democratic Party (U.S.) 5
Gary Alonzo Barranger 5
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 5
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 5
Tyler Family 5
Virginia House of Delegates 5
Brown family 4
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 4
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 4
Galt, James, of Fluvanna County, 1805-1876 4
Henry, Patrick, 1736-1799 4
Madison, James, 1749-1812 4
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 4
Morton family 4
Perrin family 4
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 4
University of Virginia 4
Braxton family 3
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 3
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 3
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 3
Coalter family 3
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 3
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 3
College of William and Mary. School of Education 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Dunmore, John Murray, 4th Earl of, 1732-1809 3
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 3
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 3
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 3
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 3
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 3
Morton, Estelle 3
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 3
Preston Family 3
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 3
Tabb family 3
Taliaferro family 3
Tazewell, Littleton Waller, 1774-1860 3
Tucker family 3
Tyler, Sue Ruffin, 1889-1953 3
United States Congress 3
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 3
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 3
American Red Cross 2
Amherst, Jeffery Amherst, Baron, 1717-1797 2
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 2
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 2
Blair family 2
Blair, James, 1656-1743 2
Blair, James, 1741-1772 2
Blair, John, 1732-1800 2
Botetourt, Norborne Berkeley, Baron de, ca. 1718-1770 2
Brooke, Robert 2
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 2
Campbell family 2
Catlett family 2
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 2
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 2
Cocke Family 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, fl. 1857-1880 2
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 2
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 2
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 2
Dalton, John N. 2
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 2
Fauquier, Francis 2
French, Samuel Bassett, 1820-1898 2
Galt, James, 1805-1876 2
Garth family 2
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 2
Hart, John, 1860-1937 2
Holmes, George Frederick, 1820-1897 2
Hughes, Robert M. (Robert Morton), b. 1855 2
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 2
Loring, William Wing 2
Maury family 2
Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 2
Maxwell, William, 1784-1857 2
McAllister, J. T. (Joseph Thompson), 1866-1927 2
McCausland, John 2
Morton, Margaret H. 2
Myers, Gustavus Adophus, 1801-1869 2
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 2
Office of the President 2
Preston, Francis 2
Preston, John, 1764-1827 2
∧ less