Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 226 - 250 of 754

B. F. Garrett Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Al6
Scope and Contents

Account book, 1842-1849, of B. F. Garrett, attorney, Williamsburg, Va. Includes account with John Tyler, Jr.

Dates: 1842-1849
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Garth Family papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 G19
Scope and Contents This inventory contains personal and buisness correspondence, financial documents, loans, promissory notes, legal documents, tax information, and land records belonging to the Jesse Garth family of Charlottesville, Albemarle County, Virginia, The majority of the inventory documents correspondence chiefly from 1800-1854 between family members, mostly the adult children of Jesse and Elizabeth Garth, fl. 1798-1854, especially Lucy E. B. Garth, fl. 1820-1849; Sarah Garth Goodman, fl. 1820-1842;...
Dates: 1798-1872
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Genealogy Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 G29
Scope and Contents

An artificial collection of genealogical materials; ca. 1880 to 1993; many of which were probably collected by Dr. Earl Gregg Swem in connection with the publication of genealogical information in the "William and Mary Quarterly, 2nd Series". Includes correspondence, clippings, coats-of-arms, charts, and family histories.  Most newspaper clippings are from "The Standard" in Richmond, Virginia from the early 1880's.

Dates: 1880-2001
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

General Order Number 11

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00058
Scope and Contents

Letter giving a general order (Number 11) regarding the galloping of horses.  This order was issued from Fort Magruder in Williamsburg, which was under Union occupation at the time on June 14, 1864.

Dates: 1864 June 14
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Ira F. Gensel Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01348
Content Description Four page letter from Union Officer 2nd Lieutenant Ira Fox Gensel of the 4th United States Regular Infantry from a camp near Roper's meeting House in James City County, Virginia dated May 11, 1862. He describes his march into Williamsburg after the battle that took place in that city and the high casualties as a result of that battle. He calls Williamsburg a beautiful city but the court houses, William and Mary College, and all of the churches are used as hospitals and are filled. Gensel...
Dates: 1862-05-11
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

George and Ursula Pleasants Ellis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01588
Scope and Contents

The collection consists of two love letters written by George Ellis to Ursula Pleasants and their marriage contract.

The marriage contract states that George Ellis is the son of John and "Cathrine" Ellis of "Old England," and that Ursula Pleasants is the daughter of John and Susanna Pleasants of Henrico County, Virginia. It is dated July 10, 1766 and signed by 26 members of the Quakers of Virginia.

Dates: 1764, 1766
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

George E. Dennis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 D42
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1874-1883, to George E. Dennis, lawyer, in Rocky Mount (Franklin County, Va.) concerning the collection of debts.

Dates: 1874-1883
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

George G. York Letter

 Collection — Container: Small Collections Box 120
Identifier: SC 01744
Content Description

An eight page letter with envelope from George G. York, a senior corporal stationed at Camp Alger, to his wife and child. York writes about a visit to the camp by President McKinley, the moral of the soldiers, his experience with military rations, and his thoughts on the Spanish-American war.

Dates: May 29th, 1898
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

George L. Hersum Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00354
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of letters written by George L. Hersum, Sergeant in the 5th New Hampshire Infantry, Company A, to his wife, while he was stationed in or near Alexandria, Richmond, Yorktown, Harrison's Landing, and Falmouth, Virginia.

Dates: 1862-1863
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

George M. Pennybacker Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 P38
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1843-1852, of George M. Pennybacker and Mrs. Ann Pennybacker of Rockingham County, Va. Includes letter and accounts. The accounts are with farm laborers and with merchants in Winchester, Va.

Dates: 1843-1852
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

W. Brooks George Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 Geo29
Scope and Contents

Dates; 1975-1983; of correspondence, minutes, financial reports, and brochures pertaining to the various civic organizations George was associated with, including the Central Virginia Educational Television Corporation, Commonwealth Club (Richmond, Va.), Downtown Development Unlimited, Metropolitan Richmond Chamber of Commerce, and Keep Virginia Beautiful, Inc.

Dates: 1975-1983
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gideon Christian Ledgers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad21-MsV Ad30
Scope and Contents

Ledgers of Gideon Christian, physician of Charles City County, Virginia.  10 Ledgers.

Dates: 1850-1870
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

A. Glass Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Aa4
Scope and Contents

Account books containing personal accounts, 1852-1862, of A. Glass and his accounts, 1844-1859, as the administrator of the estates of Thomas H. Roberts, Joseph Cleuveures, and Benjamin Cleuveures. Also includes accounts of A. Glass with the Baltimore and West Point Steam Packet Company and the West Point Railway.

Dates: 1844-1862
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Glenn Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 G48
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1821-1858, received by George D. Glenn, iron founder at Isabella Furnace near Luray, Page County, Va. from family (members of the Bradley, Groves and Dowdell families) and friends who have left Page County for West Virginia, Ohio and Oregon. A few letters concern patterns and moldings for iron castings and there are three letters, 1826-1831, written by a Quaker, Abraham Alderdice of Wilmington, Del.

Dates: 1821-1858
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gloucester Circuit of the Methodist Church Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 G51
Scope and Contents Papers, 1825-1910, of the Gloucester Circuit of the Virginia Conference of the Methodist Church which covered Gloucester County and part of King and Queen County, Va. Includes minutes of quarterly conference meetings for the circuit; Sunday School class records; and building committee records. Acc. 2003.16 is a photocopy of a register, 1879-1885, of baptisms, marriages and members. Acc. 2012.382 is a register of members of the Gloucester Circuit of the Methodist Church,...
Dates: 1825-1910
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gloucester County, Va. Farmer's Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D34
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1880-1882, of an unidentified farmer in Gloucester County, Va. It includes weather data and writings concerning religion.

Dates: 1880-1882
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gloucester County, Va. School Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV As3
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1819-1849, of the school commissioners of Gloucester County, Va. and minutes of meetings, 1818-1829.

Dates: 1819-1849
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Goodwin Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G63
Scope and Contents Letters, memoirs, journals, sermons, monographs, genealogical material concerning the Goodwin, Archer, Silvester, Ballard and Smith families.The bulk of the collection is comprised of the papers of Frederick Deane Goodwin, an Episcopal minister.  Bishop William Meade is a correspondent.  Correspondence between Frederick Deane Goodwin's immediate family is included and papers of his son, Edward Lewis Goodwin, an Episcopal minister and his granddaughter, Mary Frances Goodwin, a...
Dates: 1826-1959
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Armistead C. Gordon Notes about the Bench and Bar of Virginia

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Nla14
Scope and Contents

An alphabetical index of Virginia lawyers, with designations beside each name telling the source.  Gordon labels the notebook, "Notes for a work on the Bench and Bar of Virginia."  The final result could be his book, Some Lawyers in Colonial Virginia.

Dates: 1909
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Grand Oaks Daybook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01116
Scope and Contents Daybook for Grand Oaks (formerly Strange Acres) school and camp, probably in Virginia. No location is given in the daybook but the director, Mary Alice Ankers is with great likelihood Mary Alice Ankers (1915-1994) who was born and spent most of her life in Virginia. The daybook was kept by Ankers and assistant director Olive Louise Boggs.Students were aged 8-12 and came for the most part from Virginia, West Virginia, and Washington, D.C.The daybook records school and...
Dates: 1947-1954
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gregory Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00027
Scope and Contents The Gregory Family papers follow the family of Virginia Governor John Munford Gregory and wife Amanda Wallace through three generations with letters dating from the 1820’s to the 1920’s. Most items are letters between family members and grant insight into the daily activities and concerns of the Gregory family. The collection also includes correspondence between members of the Gregory family and other acquaintances, including members of the John Tyler family. While most letters are of a...
Dates: 1829-1920; Majority of material found in 1880-1900
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

M.E. Griffin Letter

 Collection — Container: Small Collections Box 124, Folder: 1
Identifier: SC 01765
Content Description A letter from M. (possibly Margaret) E. Griffin to her cousin John Davis. In the letter, Griffin asks Davis to hire out or sell all of the enslaved people working on the plantation she inherited. She mentions that an enslaved man by the name of Henry struck her son Jordan, and left the plantation to go to Lynchburg without permission. Griffin states that Henry has been "increasing in insolence, till his presence can no longer be endured."Content warning for derogatory language...
Dates: 1863-11-29
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...
Dates: 1736-1982; Majority of material found in 1840-1930
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Emanuel Grove Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00518
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1848-1850, of Emmanuel Grove, of Luray, Va. which is business correspondence mainly concerning shipments and prices of goods.

Dates: 1848 October 7, 1850 June 18
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...
Dates: 1900-1988
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 232
Account books 224
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 123
Financial records 115
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 78
∨ more
Ledgers (Accounting) 77
Legal documents 74
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 71
Photographs 59
Receipts (financial records) 59
Diaries 55
Journals (accounts) 44
Notebooks 44
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 41
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 35
Letters (correspondence) 34
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 34
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 32
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 32
Scrapbooks 31
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 27
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 27
Reports 26
Virginia--History 26
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 25
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 24
Minutes 23
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 22
Virginia--History--20th century 21
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 20
Manuscripts (document genre) 20
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 20
Publications 20
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 19
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 19
Practice of law--Virginia--History 19
Genealogy 18
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 18
Daybooks 17
Executors and administrators--Virginia--History--19th century 17
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 17
Speeches 17
College of William and Mary--Students 16
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 16
Invoices 16
Medical practice--Virginia--History 16
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 16
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 16
Virginia--Genealogy 16
Virginia--History--19th century 16
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 15
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 15
Merchants--Virginia--Rockingham County 15
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 15
Tobacco--Virginia--History--19th century 15
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 15
Programs 14
United States--History--War of 1812 14
Women--Education--Virginia--History 14
Agendas (administrative records) 13
Education--Virginia--History 13
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 13
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 13
Lawyers--Virginia--History 13
United States--Slavery 13
University of Virginia--History--19th century 13
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 13
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 13
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 13
Buckingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 12
Merchants--Virginia--History--20th century 12
Pamphlets 12
Poems 12
Slavery--Virginia--History 12
Virginia--Governors 12
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 12
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 11
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 11
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History--19th century 11
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 11
Newspapers 11
Slavery--Southern States--History 11
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 11
Typescripts 11
Virginia--History--18th century 11
Virginia--Religious history 11
Women--History--Virginia 11
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 10
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 10
Photostats 10
Practice of law--Virginia--History--19th century 10
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 10
Surveys (documents) 10
Agriculture--Virginia--History 9
Clippings (information artifacts) 9
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 9
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 9
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 9
Maps 9
Medicine--Virginia--History--19th century 9
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 752
French 7
Latin 5
German 4
Dutch; Flemish 1
∨ more
Greek, Modern (1453-) 1
Hebrew 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 21
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 16
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 14
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 9
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 9
∨ more
College of William and Mary. 7
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 7
Virginia State Senate 6
College of William and Mary 5
Democratic Party (U.S.) 5
Gary Alonzo Barranger 5
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 5
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 5
Tyler Family 5
Virginia House of Delegates 5
Brown family 4
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 4
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 4
Galt, James, of Fluvanna County, 1805-1876 4
Henry, Patrick, 1736-1799 4
Madison, James, 1749-1812 4
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 4
Morton family 4
Perrin family 4
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 4
University of Virginia 4
Braxton family 3
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 3
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 3
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 3
Coalter family 3
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 3
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 3
College of William and Mary. School of Education 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 3
Dunmore, John Murray, 4th Earl of, 1732-1809 3
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 3
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 3
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 3
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 3
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 3
Morton, Estelle 3
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 3
Preston Family 3
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 3
Tabb family 3
Taliaferro family 3
Tazewell, Littleton Waller, 1774-1860 3
Tyler, Sue Ruffin, 1889-1953 3
United States Congress 3
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 3
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 3
American Red Cross 2
Amherst, Jeffery Amherst, Baron, 1717-1797 2
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 2
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 2
Blair family 2
Blair, James, 1656-1743 2
Blair, James, 1741-1772 2
Blair, John, 1732-1800 2
Botetourt, Norborne Berkeley, Baron de, ca. 1718-1770 2
Brooke, Robert 2
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 2
Campbell family 2
Catlett family 2
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 2
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 2
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 2
Cocke Family 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 2
Cocke, John Hartwell, fl. 1857-1880 2
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 2
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 2
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 2
Dalton, John N. 2
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 2
Fauquier, Francis 2
French, Samuel Bassett, 1820-1898 2
Galt, James, 1805-1876 2
Garth family 2
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 2
Hart, John, 1860-1937 2
Holmes, George Frederick, 1820-1897 2
Hughes, Robert M. (Robert Morton), b. 1855 2
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 2
Loring, William Wing 2
Luttrell family 2
Maury family 2
Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 2
Maxwell, William, 1784-1857 2
McAllister, J. T. ( Joseph Thompson), 1866-1927 2
McCausland, John 2
Morton, Margaret H. 2
Myers, Gustavus Adophus, 1801-1869 2
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 2
Office of the President 2
Preston, Francis 2
+ ∧ less