Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 11

Gloucester Circuit of the Methodist Church Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 G51
Scope and Contents Papers, 1825-1910, of the Gloucester Circuit of the Virginia Conference of the Methodist Church which covered Gloucester County and part of King and Queen County, Va. Includes minutes of quarterly conference meetings for the circuit; Sunday School class records; and building committee records. Acc. 2003.16 is a photocopy of a register, 1879-1885, of baptisms, marriages and members. Acc. 2012.382 is a register of members of the Gloucester Circuit of the Methodist Church,...

Goodwin Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G63
Scope and Contents Letters, memoirs, journals, sermons, monographs, genealogical material concerning the Goodwin, Archer, Silvester, Ballard and Smith families.The bulk of the collection is comprised of the papers of Frederick Deane Goodwin, an Episcopal minister.  Bishop William Meade is a correspondent.  Correspondence between Frederick Deane Goodwin's immediate family is included and papers of his son, Edward Lewis Goodwin, an Episcopal minister and his granddaughter, Mary Frances Goodwin, a...

Fairfax Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...

Henkel Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 H38
Scope and Contents Correspondence, papers, and ledgers of the Rev. Paul Henkel (1754-1825), who was a Lutheran missionary, and David Henkel, Ambrose Henkel, and Solomon Henkel of New Market, Shenandoah Co., Va. Includes woodcuts and watercolor sketches, Ambrose Henkel's account ledger (1807-1813), notebooks on the study of Hebrew, memorandum book, indentures, certificates, and other. Topics include Lutheranism, printing, Shenandoah County, immigration, merchants, and education. Mss poem with a hand...

Hickory Neck Church Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1994.57
Scope and Contents

Records of Hickory Neck Episcopal Church located in Toano, Virginia. Most of the material in this collection is from the Hickory Neck Church with a permanent loan or deposit agreement. Other material is from members of Hickory Neck Church or Williamsburg, Virginia area residents.

Collection includes additions.

Cotesworth P. Lewis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1997.26
Scope and Contents Papers of the Reverend Cotesworth P. Lewis of Bruton Parish Church, Williamsburg, Va. More than one-half of the collection consists of letters written to Lewis relating to a sermon he gave 12 November 1967 with President Lyndon B. Johnson in the congregation. Lewis questioned United States policy in Vietnam. Most of the letters in the collection are favorable to Lewis' sermon. The rest of the collection consists of other sermons, 1938, 1947-1995 (1200 sermons), eulogies given by Lewis;...

William Selden Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00934
Scope and Contents Papers, 1772-1799, of Anglican minister William Selden (1741-1783) and his wife Mary Ann Hancock Selden (1745-1789) of Elizabeth City County, Virginia. These papers are primarily financial in nature and document the Selden family's management of the Elizabeth City Parish, the family estate, slave holdings, and the hire of estate slaves to local plantation owners. These papers consist of receipts, labor contracts, financial summaries, and a small leather financial ledger. The labor contracts...

Rev. John J. Spooner Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Sp6
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1757-1792, of the Rev. John Jones Spooner including his election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences; and his installation as minister to Martins Brandon Parish, Prince George County, Va. Also Includes certificate of ordination, 1792, signed by Bishop James Madison.

United Methodist Church Histories, Peninsula District

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.52
Scope and Contents Contains Volume  I and II of the Church Histories of the United Methodist Church, Peninsula District, Virginia, published by the Virginia Peninsula United Methodist Historical Society for the Peninsula District, Virginia Conference.  Includes histories of churches in Hampton, Newport News, Phoebus, Poquoson and Toano including the churches:  Aldersgate, Asbury, Bethany, Buckroe Beach, Central (Fox Hill), Central (Hampton), Chestnut Memorial, East Hampton, First (Hampton), First (Newport...

Virginia Counties Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents

Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: Virginia--Religious history X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 7
Photographs 5
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History 4
Financial records 4
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 4
∨ more
Minutes 3
Account books 2
Diaries 2
Elizabeth City County (Va.)--History 2
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 2
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 2
James City County (Va.)--History 2
Legal documents 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Notebooks 2
Parishes--Virginia 2
Programs 2
Publications 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Speeches 2
United States--Religious History--Christianity 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
Accounts 1
Advertising cards 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History 1
Amelia County (Va.)--History 1
American Academy of Arts and Sciences 1
American diaries--Women authors 1
Amherst County (Va.)--History 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History 1
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History 1
Bible records 1
Booklets 1
Botetourt County (Va.)--History 1
Broadsides 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History 1
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 1
Campbell County (Va.)--History 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History 1
Catalogs 1
Certificates 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History 1
Chesterfield County (Va.)--History 1
Church bulletins 1
Church records 1
Church records and registers--Virginia 1
Circulars (fliers) 1
Clarke County (Va.)--History 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 1
Criss Cross House (New Kent County, Va.) 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History 1
Daybooks 1
Debt, Imprisonment for--Virginia 1
Deeds 1
Deeds--Virginia 1
Dinwiddie County (Va.)--History 1
Dunmore County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Education--Virginia--History 1
Episcopal Church--Clergy 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--18th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fairfax County (Va.)--History 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History 1
Fayette County (W. Va.)--History 1
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History 1
France--Description and travel--20th century 1
Franklin County (Va.)--History 1
Frederick County (Va.)--History 1
Genealogy 1
General stores--Virginia 1
German American literature--Publishing--Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.)--History 1
German Americans--Virginia 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Goochland County (Va.)--History 1
Grain--Milling--Virginia 1
Greenbrier County (Va.)--History 1
Halifax County (Va.)--History 1
Hanover County (Va.)--History 1
Hardy County (W.Va.)--History 1
Harrison County (W. Va.)--History 1
Henrico County (Va.)--History 1
Hickory Neck Church (James City County, Va.) 1
Horses--Virginia 1
Indentures 1
Indians of North America--Virginia 1
Invoices 1
Isle of Wight County (Va.)--History 1
∧ less
 
Language
German 1
Hebrew 1
 
Names
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Ballard family 1
Ballard, James William, 1875-1920 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1