Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 12

James D. Blackwell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B57
Scope and Contents Letters and accounts of James DeRuyter Blackwell, Sr., lawyer and poet, his wife Judith Emma (Edmonds) Blackwell of Warrenton, Virginia and of members of their family including their son, James De Ruyter Blackwell, Jr. There are letters written from Richmond and Petersburg, Virginia concerning social life, and letters concerning the hiring of slaves and the illnesses of female slaves. Collection includes genealogy of Blackwell family and three bound manuscript volumes of poetry by James De...

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (III)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B8555
Scope and Contents

Papers and correspondence of three generations of the Brown Family of Virginia:  Frances (Fanny) Bland Coalter Brown and her husband, Henry Peronneau Brown (1838-1888),  J. Thompson and Cassie Tucker Brown (1890-1920) and Frances Bland Brown and Fleming Sanders (1921-1964).

Charles Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 C17
Scope and Contents The Charles Campbell papers consist of papers received or collected by Charles Campbell (1807-1876), Virginia historian. The papers fall into four general headings: historical papers collected by Charles Campbell, correspondence, manuscript volumes, and miscellaneous. These include personal and professional correspondence as well as eighteenth century documents collected by Charles Campbell, newspaper clippings, diaries, scrapbooks, and notebooks, covering then period 1743-1896. The papers...

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...

Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 1.02
Scope and Contents

The Ephemera Collection contains material primarily acquired for teaching. It includes material in various formats, most of which have been previously published. The collection is currently being processed and new items will be added on an ongoing basis. For this reason, the indicated date range is approximate at this point.

Fletcher Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00216
Scope and Contents Three letterpress copy books of the Fletcher Family.  The books are written by a woman, possibly from Georgia. The writer is an ancestor of the donor, Dr. John S. Fletcher.  Partial signatures suggest Joan and Hownick. Msv. 1 has some water damage and much faded ink.  Cover unattached.  Includes a few pages of transcript from letters written from Richmond, Virginia from July 22-26, 1861.  Carbon paper in back of book.  July-September 1861. Describes traveling from...

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...

Hart Papers I and II

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H29
Scope and Contents Papers, 1847-1934, including correspondence, essays, articles, and poems by John Hart, a Richmond book seller and poems, short stories, and a novel by his wife, Katherine M. Hart. The papers of John Hart include letters concerning the sale of books and two letters by James Branch Cabell. The collection includes diplomas and certificates awarded by the University of Virginia to his [father ?] John Hart of Louisa County, Va. The Hart Papers (II) series contains 200...

John W. Lewis and Lewis P. Olds Papers, 1808-1902

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2010.022
Scope and Contents Collection consists of the papers of three Southerners, dating predominantly from the 19th century. John W. Lewis lived in Virginia, Mississippi, and North Carolina and the portion of the collection from this Methodist minister and farmer includes references to religion including sermons, farming, and slavery. Lewis P. Olds was a North Carolina lawyer and politician and the collection includes evidence of his career as well as poetry and short stories he wrote. The remainder of the...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: Poems X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 9
Photographs 7
Financial records 6
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 5
Account books 4
∨ more
Diaries 4
Legal documents 4
Certificates 3
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 3
Genealogy 3
Publications 3
Receipts (financial records) 3
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--Genealogy 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 2
Broadsides 2
Cabinet photographs 2
Carte de visite photographs 2
Catalogs 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Letters (correspondence) 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Notebooks 2
Postcards 2
Scrapbooks 2
Transcripts 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 2
United States--Slavery 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Visiting cards 2
World War, 1914-1918 2
World War, 1939-1945 2
Advertising 1
Advertising blotters 1
Advertising cards 1
Advertising--United States--History 1
African Americans--Virginia--Photographs 1
Agriculture--United States--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American Revolution Bicentennial, 1976--Virginia 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Assignats 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Booksellers and bookselling--Virginia 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Card games 1
Card games (game sets) 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Checks (bank checks) 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Chicago (Ill.)--Industries--Pictorial work 1
Cigarette cards 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 1
Coupons 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Deeds 1
Desert Storm, Operation, 1991 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
Education--Study and teaching 1
Education--Virginia--History 1
England--Description and travel--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Essays 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 1
Genealogical tables 1
Georgia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Greeting cards 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Indians of North America 1
Invitations 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Jamestown 400th Anniversary 1
Japan--Description and travel 1
∧ less
 
Language
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
German 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
American Chemical Society 1
American Red Cross 1
Anderson Gallery 1
Anderson Seminary 1
Bernard Family 1
∨ more
Braxton family 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Cassie Dallas Tucker 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 1
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 1
Brown, John Thompson, 1861-1921 1
Brown, John Willcox, 1886- 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Charles, 1807-1876 1
Carrington family 1
Carter, Mary B. 1
Coalter family 1
Coleman, Mary Haldane Begg, 1875-1967 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
Cryer, William 1
Eastern Publishing Co 1
Farmer's Register 1
Ford, Henry, 1863-1947 1
Galt family 1
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 1
Garland family 1
Grigsby family 1
Grigsby, Hugh Blair, 1806-1881 1
Hall, Channing Moore, III 1
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 1
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 1
Hart, John, 1860-1937 1
Hart, Katherine McCowan, 1863-1948 1
Hipkins family 1
Latting, Sally 1
Lee Gallery 1
Lewis, John W., [1808]-1885 1
Maxwell, William, 1784-1857 1
Miller and Rhoads (Richmond, Va.) 1
Moore family 1
New York Weekly Journal of Commerce 1
Olds, Lewis P. 1
Petersburg Index (Va.) 1
Richmond Enquirer 1
Robb family 1
Robb-Bernard family 1
Saunders family 1
Saunders, Fleming 1
Saunders, Frances Bland Coalter Brown, 1891 1
Scottish Widows' Fund and Life Assurance Society 1
Sears, Roebuck and Company 1
Sears, Roebuck and Company--Pictorial works 1
Southern Literary Messenger 1
Taylor, John, 1753-1824 1
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 1
Tucker family 1
Tyree family 1
United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 10th 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 1st 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 22nd 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Mounted Rifles, 1st 1
United States. Army. New York Infantry Regiment, 70th 1
United States. Army. Ohio Volunteers 1
United States. Army. Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment, 101st 1
United States. Army. Rhode Island Volunteers, 2nd 1
United States. Army. Vermont Infantry Regiment, 2nd 1
United States. Navy. Office of the Paymaster 1
United States. President (2009- : Obama) 1
Upton family 1
Virginia Historical Society 1
Virginia Polytechnic Institute. 1
Virginia. State Lottery Dept. 1
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 1
Whitehead and Hoag Company (Newark, N.J.) 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Wingo family 1
Women's College of Richmond 1
∧ less