Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 15

Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 1.02
Scope and Contents

The Ephemera Collection contains material primarily acquired for teaching. It includes material in various formats, most of which have been previously published. The collection is currently being processed and new items will be added on an ongoing basis. For this reason, the indicated date range is approximate at this point.

Gregory Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00027
Scope and Contents The Gregory Family papers follow the family of Virginia Governor John Munford Gregory and wife Amanda Wallace through three generations with letters dating from the 1820’s to the 1920’s. Most items are letters between family members and grant insight into the daily activities and concerns of the Gregory family. The collection also includes correspondence between members of the Gregory family and other acquaintances, including members of the John Tyler family. While most letters are of a...

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...

Lexington Newsletter and Western Virginia Telegraph Subscription Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Su1
Scope and Contents

Record, 1818-1819, of newspaper subscriptions including The Lexington (Virginia) Newsletter and Western Virginia Telegraph, and The Staunton (Virginia) Republic. The volume was also used as a ledger, 1818-1825, by an unidentified merchant, Lexington, Virginia.

Matthew Whaley School Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 0/2 Mss. 1.11
Scope and Contents

This is an artificial collection of material from and about Matthew Whaley School in Williamsburg, Virginia including material from the annual fifty year reunions. The school newspaper, The Powder Horn, 1930-1937 and 1946-1948, is available in Rare Books call number AN47 .W54 P68.

Samuel W. Meek Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M47
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1886-1917, received by Samuel W. Meek in his connection with newspapers in Akron and Cleveland, Ohio and Washington, D. C. and as business manager for the Times-Dispatch in Richmond, Va. and for The Press in Philadelphia, Pa. Prominent correspondents include John Stewart Bryan, Ellis A. Gimbel and John Wanamaker.

Parker Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1989.20
Scope and Contents This collection contains papers related to the Parker family, notably Lena Parker and Bessie Parker of Cumberland County, Virginia. The bulk of the letters are from Harry Leach and Edward Embly, both living in Washington, D.C., which contain descriptions of everyday life. Other letters are from friends, family, the State Teachers College, schools where Lena Parker taught, and from children she had taught. The collection also includes photographs, greeting cards, and genealogical material....

Peninsula Bank Minute Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1995.37
Scope and Contents

Mss. Acc. 1995.37

Eight ledgers, 1897-1916, 1917-1937, 1949, 1952, 1959, 1960, 1963 and 1964 of the Peninsula Bank Williamsburg showing business records including individual accounts and minutes of the Board.

Peninsula Bank was also known as Peninsula Bank and Trust, then later became Crestar Bank and Crestar became SunTrust Bank.

Mss. Acc. 1994.92 has been added to this collection.  Two newspaper articles, undated, on the history of the Peninsula Bank.

J. Randolph Ruffin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1998.58
Scope and Contents

Papers of J. Randolph Ruffin. Newspaper clippings, brochures, drafts of speeches, correspondence about Virginia history, the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, and tours directed by J. Randolph Ruffin, Director of Special Events for the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation. Accessions 1998.58 and 1999.22 WHRA.

General David Allen Russell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00642
Scope and Contents This collection consists of correspondence, sketches, and other material mostly related to Union General David Allen Russell during the Civil War. Included in the papers are letters from the battlefield, hand-drawn sketches of the battlefield in Yorktown, Virginia and near Petersburg on the Appomattox River, issues of the Baltimore Clipper and the Philadelphia Inquirer  newspapers regarding Fort Monroe and the Battle of...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: Newspapers X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Newspapers 11
Correspondence 8
Photographs 8
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 6
Broadsides 4
∨ more
Invitations 4
Pamphlets 4
Programs 4
Clippings (information artifacts) 3
Jamestown Festival (1957) 3
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Notebooks 3
Virginia--History--20th century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
Advertising cards 2
Catalogs 2
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
College of William and Mary--Presidents 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 2
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 2
Financial records 2
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Ledgers (Accounting) 2
Legal documents 2
Minutes 2
Postcards 2
Reports 2
Scrapbooks 2
Speeches 2
Speeches, addresses, etc. 2
Virginia--History 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 2
World War, 1914-1918 2
World War, 1939-1945 2
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
Account books 1
Accounts 1
Advertising 1
Advertising blotters 1
Advertising--United States--History 1
Agricultural exhibitions--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History 1
Amelia County (Va.)--History 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American Revolution Bicentennial, 1976--Virginia 1
American newspapers--District of Columbia--History 1
American newspapers--Ohio--History 1
American newspapers--Pennsylvania--History 1
American newspapers--Virginia--History 1
American newspapers--Virginia--Lexington 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Amherst County (Va.)--History 1
Announcements 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Antietam, Battle of, Md., 1862 1
Assignats 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History 1
Banks and banking--United States--History--20th century 1
Banks and banking--Virginia 1
Banks and banking--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Banks and banking--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History 1
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History 1
Bible records 1
Booklets 1
Botetourt County (Va.)--History 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History 1
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 1
Bumper Stickers 1
Calendars 1
Campbell County (Va.)--History 1
Card games 1
Card games (game sets) 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History 1
Checks (bank checks) 1
Chesterfield County (Va.)--History 1
Chicago (Ill.)--Industries--Pictorial work 1
Church records and registers--Virginia 1
Cigarette cards 1
Circulars (fliers) 1
Clarke County (Va.)--History 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Coupons 1
Courthouses--Virginia 1
∧ less
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 5
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
∨ more
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Clark, James W. 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Educational and Civic Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Etheridge, Jeanne 1
Ford, Henry, 1863-1947 1
Galbraith family 1
Gimbel, Ellis A., 1865-1950 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Gregory family 1
Gregory family. 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Langton, Helen 1
Mathews, Mary 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Meek, Samuel W., fl. 1886-1917 1
Middle Plantation Agricultural Society (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Miller and Rhoads (Richmond, Va.) 1
Miller, Shirley Fout 1
Miss Williamsburg Pageant (Va.) 1
Mt. Ararat Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Parker, Bessie, ca. 1905 - 1
Parker, Lena Augusta, ca. 1902 - 1
Pedersen, Thelma 1
Peninsula Bank (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Peninsula Transit Corporation 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Richmond (Va.) News Leader 1
Ruffin, J. Randolph 1
Scottish Widows' Fund and Life Assurance Society 1
Sears, Roebuck and Company 1
Sears, Roebuck and Company--Pictorial works 1
Special Collections Research Center 1
The Palace (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
Unitarian Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States Amateur Ballroom Dancers Association. Chapter #609 (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United States. President (2009- : Obama) 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 1
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Virginia Independence Bicentennial Commission 1
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 1
Virginia State Teacher’s College at Farmville, Virginia 1
Virginia. General Court 1
Virginia. State Lottery Dept. 1
Wanamaker, John, 1838-1922 1
Ward, Courtney Sharpe 1
Whitehead and Hoag Company (Newark, N.J.) 1
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 1
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Press, Inc 1
Williamsburg Theater (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Woman's Club of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
∧ less