Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 15

Augusta County, Va. Merchant's Journal, 1819

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame63u
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1819, of an unidentified merchant at Krings Mills [Augusta County, Va.] which was used as a scrapbook for newspaper clippings of poetry.  Per 1810 census, many names are from Rockingham County, Va.  Some newspaper clippings are from the 1860's.

Effinger-Thurmond Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Ef6
Scope and Contents

Accounts, 1855-1857, of Effinger, Thurmond, & Co., merchants of [Rockingham County, Va. ?]; and one letter, 1887, written by Grace Thurmond, Taylor Springs, Va.

Henkel Plains Mill Store Daybook

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2007.113
Scope and Contents

Daybook, 1835-1849, kept by Siram Peter Henkel for Solomon Henkel at Plains Mill Store, Rockingham County, Va. Includes records of purchases,  and records of farm workers, their tasks and their reasons for missing work. Also includes Henkel's  purchases for himself and his family.

Henry N. Kagey Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame76
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1834-1871, of Henry N. Kagey, merchant, at or near New Market, Shenandoah County, Virginia, including pages used as a ledger, 1832-1840, by George M. Pennybacker, Rockingham County, Virginia.

J. G. H. Miller Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame93
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1872-1884, of J. G. H. Miller, merchant, of Millbank, Rockingham County, Va. which includes entries, 1865-1866, for Conrad's Store.

M. J. Meyerhoeffer Journals

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ast1-MsV Ast2
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1858-1862. of M. J. Meyerhoeffer, Meyerhoeffer's Store, Rockingham County, Va.

J. K. Mauzy Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame86-88
Scope and Contents

Account books, 1878-1884, of J. K. Mauzy, merchant of Spartapolis, Rockingham County, Va.

Benjamin Pennybacker Daybook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad132
Scope and Contents

Kept by a merchant [of Rockingham County, Va. ?]. Mentions laborers at work, Shenandoah River Company stock and the hire of slaves.

L. S. Rhodes & Sons Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R34
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1886-1923, of L. S. Rhodes and Sons, Linnville, Rockingham County, Va. Chiefly accounts with suppliers, local producers, manufacturers, and wholesale houses, but including bank statements, canceled checks, tax and license receipts. Consists of 5,810 items and about 100 manuscript volumes.

Rhodes & Speck Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame106-109 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Journals (A and B) and daybooks (C and D), 1888-1893, of Rhodes & Speck, merchants, of Athens and Edom, [Rockingham County], Va.