Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 32

B. Davenport & Co. Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame20
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1841-1861, of B. Davenport & Co., merchants, of Williamsburg, Va. which includes accounts, 1860, with the College of William and Mary and which was used as a scrapbook, 1892-1905, for newspaper clippings of poems and articles; Christmas cards; valentines; advertisements; cigarette cards; and seed catalog covers.

Blow Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B63
Scope and Contents Papers, 1770-1875, of the Blow family of "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and of the Waller family. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Philip Barraud, John Hartwell Cocke, Henry Lee and Edmund Ruffin. Most of these accessions were integrated as the collection was partially processed, but some are boxed separately. Includes a Blow family scrapbook containing many manuscript items. Collection includes: correspondence of Richard Blow (1746-1833), merchant, who had...

Gideon Christian Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00150
Scope and Contents Papers, 1838-1882, of Gideon Christian, physician, of Norfolk, Va. The collection includes letters, accounts, lotteries, prescriptions, and forms for excusing draftees into the Confederate Army on medical grounds. A 1993 addendum to this collection (Mss. Acc. 1993.63) consists of two medical essays and one College of William and Mary student notebook belonging to Dr. Gideon Christian.  The student notebook begins October 15th 1840. Medical essays include notes made while...

Henry Denison Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 C67
Scope and Contents Included are minutes of the Wise Light Infantry Co. of Williamsburg, 1881-1882; the College of William and Mary Alumni Association, 1906-1917; papers concerning the College of William and Mary including letters, 1873, from Benjamin S. Ewell; the Williamsburg Free School Trustees, 1870-1907; and the Democratic Committee of Williamsburg. Also accounts of the state school funds, 1894-1911; the city school funds, 1906-1911, 1919-1924; Bruton Parish Church 1897-1938; and of Robert F....

College Papers Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 14
Scope and Contents

This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history.

Gregory Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00027
Scope and Contents The Gregory Family papers follow the family of Virginia Governor John Munford Gregory and wife Amanda Wallace through three generations with letters dating from the 1820’s to the 1920’s. Most items are letters between family members and grant insight into the daily activities and concerns of the Gregory family. The collection also includes correspondence between members of the Gregory family and other acquaintances, including members of the John Tyler family. While most letters are of a...

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...

Henry Augustine Washington to Lawrence Washington Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00508
Content Description Four page letter from Williamsburg, Virginia in which Henry writes about financial matters with his father, Lawrence, and describes his responsibilities at the college in his new position. He also writes to his father regarding the low price Lawrence was able to get on his corn crop. Henry seems hopeful though that the future crop Lawrence has will be plentiful and will fetch a better price. Additionally, Henry laments that he cannot travel home to see Mother and other family in...

George Frederick Holmes Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 H73
Scope and Contents The papers of the Holmes family. Chiefly letters, 1842-1887, received by George Frederick Holmes, educator, concerning the College of William and Mary, the University of Mississippi, and the University of Virginia. Correspondents include William Campbell Preston, Andrew Steele Fulton, Robert Saunders and Charles Minnigerode. The collection also includes papers of the Floyd and Preston families; an album kept by Eliza Lavalette Floyd Holmes consisting of plant leaves, newspapers and memorials...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: College of William and Mary--History--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 16
Financial records 12
Account books 9
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 8
College of William and Mary--Students 7
∨ more
Legal documents 7
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 6
Photographs 6
Receipts (financial records) 6
Virginia--Genealogy 5
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 5
Diaries 4
Genealogy 4
Letters (correspondence) 4
Scrapbooks 4
Certificates 3
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 3
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Indians of North America 3
James City County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Ledgers (Accounting) 3
Manuscripts (document genre) 3
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 3
New Kent County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Poems 3
Reports 3
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 3
University of Virginia--History--19th century 3
Virginia--History--19th century 3
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 3
Carte de visite photographs 2
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 2
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 2
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 2
Merchants--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
Minutes 2
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Notebooks 2
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Spanish-American War, 1898 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 2
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 2
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--Suffrage 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American periodicals--Virginia--History 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Awards and scholarships 1
Banks and banking--United States--History 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Belmont County (Ohio)--History 1
Buildings and Grounds 1
Buildings and Grounds--Fires--1859 1
Cabinet photographs 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Charter Day 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Cholera--United States 1
Christmas cards 1
Church of England--Virginia--History 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Clubs--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Coeducation--United States--History--20th century 1
Coeducation--Virginia 1
College of William and Mary--History--17th century 1
Confederate States of America. Army--Recruiting, enlistment, etc 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Cavalry Regiment, 13th. Company H 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Volunteers, Third Brigade 1
Course work 1
Cumberland Road 1
Debates and debating--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Democratic Party (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--18th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Farm management--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Farms--Virginia--Gloucester County 1
Farms--Virginia--Hanover County 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Farms--Virginia--New Kent County 1
∧ less
 
Language
Latin 2
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
German 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 6
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 4
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 2
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 2
∨ more
Madison, James, 1749-1812 2
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Chemical Society 1
American Red Cross 1
Badgley, John 1
Baker family 1
Barber, Levi 1
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 1
Bernard Family 1
Blow family 1
Booth family 1
Braikenridge, George, 1737-1827 1
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 1
Call, Daniel, 1765 (ca.)-1840 1
Carrington family 1
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 1
Cole Family 1
Cole, Henry Denison, 1856-1938 1
College of William and Mary 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Mathematics 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Volunteer Regiment, 32nd 1
Doddridge, Philip, 1773-1832 1
Donald & Burton, London, Eng 1
Eastern Publishing Co 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 1
Galbraith family 1
Galt family 1
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 1
Garland family 1
Gregory family 1
Gregory family. 1
Grigsby family 1
Grigsby, Hugh Blair, 1806-1881 1
Hall, Channing Moore, III 1
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 1
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 1
Hipkins family 1
Holmes, George Frederick, 1820-1897 1
Holmes, John Floyd 1
Hooe, John 1
Hughes, Robert M. (Robert Morton), b. 1855 1
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 1
Johnson, Chapman, 1779-1849 1
Jones, Richard Henry 1
Lee, Fitzhugh, 1835-1905 1
Literary Societies--Phoenix Literary Society 1
Longwood University 1
Macon, William, 1725-1813 1
McCandlish, Robert 1
McCann family 1
Millington, Thomas Charles, fl. 1836-1850 1
Minnigerode, Charles, 1814-1894 1
Morecock, William Henry Edloe 1
Morgan family 1
Moss, Samuel, Jr 1
Office of the President 1
Robb family 1
Robb-Bernard family 1
Roberts, William Thomas 1
Robinson Family 1
Rockefeller, Abby Greene Aldrich 1
Rockefeller, John D. (John Davison), 1874-1960 1
Rockefeller, Jr., John D. (Davison), 1874-1960 1
Ruggles, Benjamin, 1783-1857 1
Saunders, Robert, 1805-1868 1
Sheffey, Daniel, 1770-1830 1
Sheldon, Jacob D. 1
Stanard, William G. 1
Stubbs, James N. 1
Swem, E. G. (Earl Gregg), 1870-1965 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Taverner, John 1
Taylor, John, 1753-1824 1
Todd family 1
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 1
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 1
Turner family 1
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 1
United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization 1
United States. Navy. Office of the Paymaster 1
Upton family 1
Waller family 1
Warburton, Mary 1
Warburton, Robert 1
Washington, Booker T., 1856-1915 1
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 1
Washington, Lawrence, 1791-1875 1
Wharburton family 1
Whittle (Bishop) 1
Wilson, Edgar Campbell, 1800-1860 1
Wilson, George Washington, b. 1807 1
Wilson, Thomas, 1765-1826 1
∧ less