Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 24

Baytop-Fitzhugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00111
Scope and Contents The inventory includes letters, 1851-1861, and accounts, 1840-1866, of Rufus King Fitzhugh and his wife Henrietta Ellen (Baytop) Fitzhugh of Stanardsville, Greene County, Virginia. Most letters to Henrietta are from her mother Lucy Taliaferro (Catlett) Baytop, and her sisters Rowena, Lucy Ann, and Eugenia, all of Springfield, Gloucester County, Virginia. The collection also includes letters from her sister-in-law Mary F. Fitzhugh of Fredericksburg, Virginia. The letters relate...

Beverley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 B46
Scope and Contents Chiefly letters written to Robert Beverley (1769-1843) of "Blandfield," Essex County, Virginia and Georgetown, D.C. from his sister Lucy (Beverley) Randolph, her husband Brett Randolph and their son Richard Randolph, Jr. (1795-1885). The letters concern slaves given to Lucy Beverley Randolph and her children by her father Robert Beverley (d. 1800), and held in trust by her brother Robert Beverley, some of which were sold to pay debts incurred by her husband. Also includes letters...

James D. Blackwell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 B57
Scope and Contents Letters and accounts of James DeRuyter Blackwell, Sr., lawyer and poet, his wife Judith Emma (Edmonds) Blackwell of Warrenton, Virginia and of members of their family including their son, James De Ruyter Blackwell, Jr. There are letters written from Richmond and Petersburg, Virginia concerning social life, and letters concerning the hiring of slaves and the illnesses of female slaves. Collection includes genealogy of Blackwell family and three bound manuscript volumes of poetry by James De...

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (II)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B855
Scope and Contents Papers, 1791-1920, of the Brown, Coalter and Tucker families. Includes correspondence, of Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown with Margaret W. Barnes, members of the Braxton family, Henry Peronneau Brown, Fanny T. Bryan, John Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter and members of the Morton family.Also includes additional correspondences of members of the Brown, Coalter, Braxton, Tomlin and Bryan families including a letter, 29 April 1791, from Maria Rind to John Coalter as well as notes,...

Carter Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C24
Scope and Contents The collection includes: correspondence and land records of Robert "King" Carter; correspondence and land records of his sons Robert Carter (1704-1731) and Landon Carter (1710-1778); correspondence, accounts, land records and the appointment to the Virginia Council of Robert Carter (1728-1804), son of Robert Carter (1704-1731); correspondence, diaries, land records and accounts of Robert Wormeley Carter (1734-1804), son of Landon Carter of Sabine Hall; and correspondence and land records and...

Chappelear Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C38
Scope and Contents Papers, 1876-1959, of Benjamin Curtis Chappelear including manuscript and printed maps of Fauquier, Loudoun, Clarke, and Warren counties, Va.; Virginia state maps; United States Department of the Interior Geological Survey Maps of areas in Virginia and West Virginia; notes concerning land records and manuscript volumes which include account books collected by Chappelear of blacksmiths, farmers, postmasters, students, tanners, and operators of general stores. The collection also includes...

Lottie V. Clark Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C54
Scope and Contents Papers of members of the Clark family of Amelia County, Virginia, dated 1849, 1889-1899, 1915. The collection consists primarily of letters written to Lottie V. Clark of Namozine, Amelia County, Virginia, by Anthelia Holt and other friends in Chesterfield County, Virginia, which discuss social, religious, and family matters, and Anthelia's work in a cotton mill. In addition, there are letters, invitations, and poems, 1849, 1890, and n.d., addressed to Martha Susan Clark and Missouri A....

Cook-Luttrell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C77
Scope and Contents Correspondence, business, tax and legal records, primarily 1848-1890, of various members of the Cook and Luttrell Families of Culpeper and Rappahannock Counties, Virginia. The Cook family correspondence is concentrated between 1855 and 1858 and discusses the migration of several members of the family to western Virginia and Missouri, courtship and marriage, farming, and detailed accounts of family visits. The Luttrell correspondence, 1874-1890, contains letters to Mollie Luttrell...

George Washington Parke Custis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C96
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1832-1856, of George Washington Parke Custis of "Arlington." The collection is mostly letters written to Francis Nelson, his farm manager at "White House," New Kent County, Virginia concerning growing and marketing crops, agricultural improvements, the effect of the proposed Richmond and York River Railroad on the plantation, and Robert E. Lee. There are a few additional letters to Nelson from merchants and railroad officials, and photostats of 2 additional Custis letters.

John Dixon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D6
Scope and Contents The John Dixon Papers include letters, legal papers, farm and personal accounts, 1760-1829 of John Dixon, Jr. (1777-1830) of "Airville" Gloucester County, Virginia. Letters include those from Charles H. Braxton of "Oak Spring," Burwell Bassett of Williamsburg, Richard Jones, John Nicholson, John Peyton, and James and Samuel Stubbs of Gloucester County. The collection also includes a letter, 22 October 1827, of Burwell Bassett and a letter, 1826, of John Mercer Patton (1796-1858)....

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 21
Financial records 15
Account books 10
Legal documents 10
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 9
∨ more
Receipts (financial records) 7
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 6
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 5
Diaries 4
Genealogy 4
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 4
Agriculture--United States--History--19th century 3
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 3
Photographs 3
Slavery--Southern States--History 3
Speeches 3
United States--Religious History--Christianity 3
United States--Slavery 3
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Anti-slavery movements 2
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Farm management 2
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Minutes 2
Poems 2
Publications 2
Reports 2
Roads--Virginia 2
United States--Politics and Government 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 2
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 2
Agricultural implements 1
Agriculture 1
Agriculture--United States 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Amelia County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Amelia County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American Temperance Union 1
Animal welfare--United States 1
Arlington House, the Robert E. Lee Memorial (Va.) 1
Artifacts 1
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Banks and banking--United States--History 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Blacksmithing 1
Blacksmithing--Virginia 1
Botetourt County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Cherokee Indians 1
Chicago (Ill.)--History--19th century 1
Civil service--United States 1
Clarke County (Va.)--Maps 1
Class materials 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Communism--Post 1945 1
Cotton textile industry--Southern States 1
Courtship--Virginia 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Curriculum--History 1
Daybooks 1
Design drawings 1
Elizabeth City County (Va.)--History 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--18th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Farm management--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Farms--Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.) 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--Maps 1
Football--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
General stores--Virginia 1
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Greene County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Halifax County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Hopewell (Va.)--History 1
Horse racing--Virginia 1
Horses--Breeding--Virginia 1
Indians of North America 1
Invoices 1
Land grants--Virginia 1
Lead mines and mining--Virginia 1
Ledgers (Accounting) 1
Letter books 1
Lotteries--United States 1
Loudoun County (Va.)--Maps 1
∧ less
 
Language
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
 
Names
Democratic Party (U.S.) 3
Democratic Party (Va.) 2
Morton family 2
University of Virginia 2
American Chemical Society 1
∨ more
American Red Cross 1
Anthelia Holt 1
Bassett, Burwell, 1764-1841 1
Baytop family 1
Baytop, Lucy Taliaferro Catlett 1
Bernard Family 1
Boyd family 1
Braxton family 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 1
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 1
Bywaters family 1
Cabaniss, Mat 1
Carter, Robert ("King"), 1663-1732 1
Clark, Lottie V., fl. 1888-1895 1
Clark, Martha Susan 1
Clark, Missouri A. 1
Cloyd family 1
Coalter family 1
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 1
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 1
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 1
Cocke, John Hartwell 1
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 1
Cook family 1
Custis, George Washington Parke 1
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 1
Dixon family 1
Dixon, Elizabeth Peyton 1
Dixon, John 1
Dixon, John, d. 1788 1
Dixon, William M 1
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 1
Early family 1
Fitzhugh family 1
Fitzhugh, Henrietta Ellen Baytop 1
Fitzhugh, Mary F. 1
Fitzhugh, Rufus King 1
Hipkins family 1
Howerton family 1
Howerton, W. M 1
James River & Kanawha Company 1
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 1
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 1
Lee, Henry, 1756-1818 1
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 1
Luttrell family 1
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 1
McGavock family 1
McGavock, James, 1728-1812 1
McGavock, James, 1764-1838 1
McGavock, James, 1804-1839 1
McGavock, John Williamson, b. 1843 1
McGavock, Stephen, 1807-1880 1
Morton, Estelle 1
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 1
Nelson, Francis 1
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 1
Patton, John Mercer, 1796-1858 1
Persinger, Fannie 1
Robb family 1
Robb-Bernard family 1
Selden, William, 1741-1783 1
Stuart, Archibald, 1757-1832 1
Tabler, William 1
Taylor, John, 1753-1824 1
Taylor, Mark 1
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 1
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization 1
United States Congress 1
Upton family 1
Vaiden family 1
Vinyard, Abraham, fl. 1827-1842 1
Vinyard, Christian 1
Vinyard, N. J 1
Vinyard, Walter D., Sr 1
Virginia State Senate 1
Washington, George, 1732-1799 1
Washington, Henry A., 1820-1858 1
Whiting family 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Wirt, William, 1772-1834 1
Wood family 1
Wood, James Thomas 1
Woods, H 1
∧ less