Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 15 of 15

Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 B31
Scope and Contents Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Carter Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C24
Scope and Contents The collection includes: correspondence and land records of Robert "King" Carter; correspondence and land records of his sons Robert Carter (1704-1731) and Landon Carter (1710-1778); correspondence, accounts, land records and the appointment to the Virginia Council of Robert Carter (1728-1804), son of Robert Carter (1704-1731); correspondence, diaries, land records and accounts of Robert Wormeley Carter (1734-1804), son of Landon Carter of Sabine Hall; and correspondence and land records and...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Floyd-Johnston-Preston Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.37
Scope and Contents Letters and papers of the Floyd, Johnston, and Preston families, as well as newspaper articles principally concerning Gen. Joseph E. Johnston and Judge Robert William Hughes. The central figures in the collection include Gen. John Preston, his brother Gen. Francis Preston, Gen Joseph E. Johnston (1807-1891), his niece, Eliza Hughes (1825-1908), and Harriet Lane, niece of President Buchanan. The collection also contains the correspondence of or papers relating to Congressman Charles C....
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gregory Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00027
Scope and Contents The Gregory Family papers follow the family of Virginia Governor John Munford Gregory and wife Amanda Wallace through three generations with letters dating from the 1820’s to the 1920’s. Most items are letters between family members and grant insight into the daily activities and concerns of the Gregory family. The collection also includes correspondence between members of the Gregory family and other acquaintances, including members of the John Tyler family. While most letters are of a...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henry Clay letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01760
Content Description

A letter from Henry Clay to Josiah Bigelow. In it, Clay responds to a rumor Bigelow heard about a General Harrison joining the Antimasons. The letter is one page long, and is housed with a cover sheet that served as an envelope, as well as a typed transcription of the text.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Leven Powell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P87
Scope and Contents This collection is largely comprised of the correspondence of Leven Powell, who served in American Revolution, the Virginia House of Delegates, and the U. S. House of Representatives.The letters reflect military and civilian situations in Virginia during the Revolution, United States and Virginia politics, and foreign relations in the early national period. The collection also includes financial records concerning the Revolutionary War and Loudoun County, Va.A major...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Preston Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 P91
Scope and Contents This inventory, chiefly 1786-1815, represents three generations of the Preston family, and likewise can be divided into the following: Items relating to William Preston (ca. 1729-1783), 1755-1782, primarily photostats of appointments to various county offices (coroner, sheriff and surveyor) and to positions in the Virginia militia; but also including original appointments, 1763 and 1776; a surveyor's entry; 1774; and letters, 1773-1782, to Preston concerning land, the Cherokee...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

A. Willis Robertson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 66 R54
Scope and Contents This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1921-1967, of A. Willis Robertson, U. S. Congressman and Senator from Virginia. Chiefly his senatorial office files, 1946-1966. Robertson was a conservative Democrat, serving at the same time as Harry F. Byrd, Sr. Subjects in the collection include national defense, agriculture, taxation, banking, government employees, the Moral...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tazewell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 92 T19
Scope and Contents Papers; 1838-1979. Business records and letters of the Tazewell family of Norfolk, VA, chiefly of Gov. Littleton Waller Tazewell, John Nivison Tazewell, Sally A. Tazewell, Ella Wickham Tazewell and Louisa Nivison Tazewell. Includes are account balances, property inventory lists, stock and bond certificate lists, tax collection receipts, payment receipts and personal correspondence concerning a book about Littleton Waller Tazewell. Also includes are a newspaper article, 1978, about the...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tazewell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00586
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1797-1850, of the Tazewell family. Includes letter, 1797, written by Samuel H. Smith to Henry Tazewell concerning his paper, The Universal Gazette and discussing foreign affairs; and letters, 1804-1850, written by Henry S. Foote and William Nelson, Jr. to Littleton Waller Tazewell; and one anonymous letter addressed to Tazewell and John Tyler (1790-1862) concerning army promotions.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Munford Tuck Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 68 T79
Scope and Contents This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman. Tuck's law practice files and his correspondence, 1950-1953, are arranged alphabetically. His congressional file is arranged alphabetically and the legislation files are arranged by session...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tyler Family Papers, Group A

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tyler Family Papers, Group A - H, Additions

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 T97 Additions
Scope and Contents

Additions to the Tyler Family Papers that are not shelved with Mss. 65 T97 Tyler Family Papers, Groups A-H are included on the pdf inventories.

Please see the record for 65 T97 Tyler Family Papers.

Many of these additions can logically be incorporated into the Groups A-H, and possibly will be in the future.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

United States Federal Nineteenth Century Government Publications

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.204
Scope and Contents Government publications printed by the U.S Government Printing Office (GPO) and others from the 1820s-1890s. The formats include legislation, annual reports, histories, speeches, resolutions, reports, rebuttals and more. Topics include abolition of slavery, Mexican War, information and reports about the Civil War, Army register for 1858, annual reports for railroads and banks, historical paper on Christ Church in Norfolk, Virginia (1878), Governor Pierpoint's address to "People of...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: United States--Politics and Government X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 14
Financial records 9
United States--Politics and Government 9
Legal documents 7
Agendas (administrative records) 4
∨ more
Diaries 4
Receipts (financial records) 4
Reports 4
Speeches 4
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 4
Photographs 3
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Virginia--Governors 3
Virginia--History--19th century 3
Virginia--Politics and Government 3
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 3
Account books 2
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
Communism--Post 1945 2
Indians of North America--History--19th century 2
Maps 2
Petitions 2
Sherwood Forest (Virginia : Estate) 2
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 2
Technical reports 2
United States -- Politics and government -- 19th century 2
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 2
United States--History--War of 1812 2
United States--Politics and government--1815-1861 2
United States--Slavery 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--Politics and Government--18th century 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
Agriculture--United States 1
Alien and Sedition laws, 1798 1
American periodicals--Virginia--History 1
Animal welfare--United States 1
Architecture, Domestic--Virginia 1
Banks and banking--United States--History 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 1
Bunker Hill Monument (Boston, Mass.)--History. 1
Capital punishment--Virginia 1
Carriage and wagon making 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Certificates 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Cherokee Indians 1
Civil service--United States 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Communism--United States 1
Compromise of 1850 1
Dueling 1
Dueling--Virginia 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Editorials 1
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Energy policy--Virginia 1
Fish trade--Virginia 1
France--Foreign relations--United States--18th century 1
Freedmen--Virginia--History 1
Freemasons--Virginia--History. 1
Fundraising campaigns 1
Genealogy 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Great Bridge (Va.), Battle of, 1775 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Horse racing--Virginia 1
Indians of North America 1
Intergovernmental fiscal relations--United States 1
Invitations 1
Invoices 1
James City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Loudoun County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Minutes 1
National parks and reserves--Law and legislation 1
National parks and reserves--United States 1
National parks and reserves--Virginia 1
Newport News (Va.)--History 1
Newspapers 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Notebooks 1
Patronage, Political--United States--History 1
Photostats 1
Plantation life--Virginia 1
Plantation life--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Presidents' spouses--United States 1
Presidents--United States--Election 1
Press releases 1
Prison sentences--United States 1
∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 6
Virginia State Senate 5
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 4
United States Congress 3
Clay, Henry, 1777-1852 2
∨ more
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Preston Family 2
Preston, Francis 2
Preston, John, 1764-1827 2
Tazewell family 2
Tazewell, Littleton Waller, 1774-1860 2
Tyler Family 2
Tyler, Julia Gardiner, 1820-1889 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 2
Virginia House of Delegates 2
Bateman, Herbert Harvell, 1928-2000 1
Booth family 1
Burr, Aaron, 1756-1836 1
Carter, Robert ("King"), 1663-1732 1
Connolly, John, 1750?-1813 1
Dalton, John N. 1
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 1
Ellis, Pearl Tyler, 1860-1947 1
Floyd, John Buchanan, 1806-1863 1
Galbraith family 1
Galt, John Minson, II, 1819-1862 1
Godwin, Edwin Mills, Jr., 1914-1999 1
Graves, William J. (Congressman), 1806-1876 1
Greenleaf, Joseph 1
Gregory family 1
Gregory family. 1
Holloway, Laura C. (Laura Carter), b. 1848 1
Holton, A. Linwood (Abner Linwood), 1923- 1
Hughes family. 1
Hughes, Robert William 1
Humboldt, Alexander von, 1769-1859 1
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 1
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 1
Longwood University 1
McCandlish (Colonel) 1
McKean, Thomas, 1734-1817 1
Minge (Dr.) 1
Newport News Shipbuilding and Dry Dock Company 1
Poughkeepsie Lyceum (N.Y.) 1
Powell, Leven, 1737-1810 1
Preston family 1
Preston, Francis, 1765-1836 1
Preston, William 1
Preston, William, ca. 1729-1783 1
Republican Party (U.S.) 1
Robb, Charles S. 1
Semple, James 1
Semple, Letitia Tyler, 1821-1907 1
Shields, Howard 1
Spencer, Julia Gardiner Tyler, 1849-1871 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Taylor, John, 1753-1824 1
Tazewell, Ella Wickham, 1826-1888 1
Tazewell, Henry, 1753-1799 1
Tazewell, John Nivison, b. 1807 1
Tazewell, Louisa Nivison, b. 1804 1
Tazewell, Sally A., 1826-1888 1
Todd family 1
Tuck, William Munford 1
Tyler family 1
Tyler, David Gardiner, 1846-1927 1
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 1
Tyler, Lachlan, 1851-1902 1
Tyler, Letitia Christian, 1790-1842 1
Tyler, Mary 1
Tyler, Robert Fitzwater, 1856-1927 1
Tyler, Sue Ruffin, 1889-1953 1
Tyler, Tazewell, 1830-1874 1
United States. Government Printing Office. Office of the Public Printer 1
Waggaman, George 1
Wheaton (Mr.) 1
Whig Party (U.S.) 1
Whittle (Bishop) 1
Wickliffe, C.A 1
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 1
∧ less