Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Barraud Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B26
Scope and Contents Correspondence and other papers, mostly 1810-1860, of the Barraud family of Norfolk, Virginia. Correspondence of Dr. Philip Barraud (1758-1830), his wife, Ann Blaws (Hansford) Barraud (1760-1836), and their children, included Daniel Cary Barraud (1790-1867), Otway Byrd Barraud (b. 1801), and Leliana (Barraud) Baker (b. 1805). A number of the letters, as well as some poems, are from St. George Tucker (1752-1827), a close friend of Barraud's when he lived in Williamsburg,...

Bishop James Madison Papers, Photostats

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Pst
Scope and Contents Photostats of correspondence, 1777-1812, of Bishop James Madison, President of College of William & Mary, with Thomas Jefferson, James Monroe, Joseph C. Cabell, St. George Tucker, and others.  These copies are from originals housed in various libraries:  Harvard College Library, Free Library of Philadelphia, University of the South, Church Historical Society in Austin, Texas, Maryland Historical Society, Chicago Historical Society, Yale University and the Free Library of Philadelphia. ...

Leven Powell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P87
Scope and Contents This collection is largely comprised of the correspondence of Leven Powell, who served in American Revolution, the Virginia House of Delegates, and the U. S. House of Representatives.The letters reflect military and civilian situations in Virginia during the Revolution, United States and Virginia politics, and foreign relations in the early national period. The collection also includes financial records concerning the Revolutionary War and Loudoun County, Va.A major...

Tucker-Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 40 T79
Scope and Contents Papers, primarily 1770-1907, of the Tucker and Coleman families of Williamsburg, Winchester, Lexington, Staunton and Richmond, including papers of: St. George Tucker (1752-1827), Nathaniel Beverley Tucker (1784-1851), Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Ann Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter (1779-1813), John Coalter (1769-1838), and John Randolph of Roanoke (commonplace book is in box 64B), as well as other family members. Members of the family were involved in law, politics,...

George Wythe Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 W99
Scope and Contents Copies of letters, 1781-1783, from George Wythe, Williamsburg, Va. , one to John Adams and another to Thomas Jefferson concerning the use of the College of William and Mary as a hospital. Also includes a magazine article about Wythe; newspaper copy of William Munford's oration at Wythe's funeral; correspondence, 1921, of Robert M. Hughes concerning a monument for Wythe's grave; a form book of Peter Tinsley, clerk of the High Court of Chancery which gives "Forms of Injunctions," Forms of...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 X
  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 2
Diaries 2
Financial records 2
Legal documents 2
United States--Revolutionary War--1775-1783 2
∨ more
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--18th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Alien and Sedition laws, 1798 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Commonplace books 1
Continential Congress 1
Declaration of Independence 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
France--Foreign relations--United States--18th century 1
Great Bridge (Va.), Battle of, 1775 1
History of the College 1
House of Burgesses 1
Indians of North America 1
Loudoun County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 1
Medicine--United States--History--18th century 1
Medicine--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Music--18th century 1
Music--Virginia--Williamsburg. 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Photographs 1
Photostats 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Slavery--Virginia--History 1
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Speeches, addresses, etc. 1
Typescripts 1
United States-- History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Veterans 1
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
United States--History--War of 1812 1
United States--History--War with France, 1798-1800 1
United States--Lawyers 1
United States--Politics and government--1775-1809 1
United States--Religious History--Christianity 1
United States. Navy 1
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 1
Virginia. High Court of Chancery. Richmond District 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
Women--Education--Virginia 1
Women--History--Virginia 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
XYZ Affair, 1797-1798. 1
Yorktown (Va.) 1
∧ less
 
Names
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 4
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 3
Adams, John, 1735-1826 1
Barraud Family 1
Barraud family 1