Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 8 of 8

Austin-Twyman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 Au7
Scope and Contents Papers, 1765 (1800-1890) 1939, of the Austin, Twyman, Spiller and Horsley families of Amherst and Buckingham counties, Virginia.The papers include correspondence, accounts, legal papers and manuscript volumes. Includes papers of Archibald Austin (1772-1837), member of Congress, 1817-1819, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, 1815-1816, 1835-1837, his wife, Grace R. (Booker) Austin and their children, James M. Austin, John Austin and Bernard Austin, Grace Austin and Frances...

Baytop-Fitzhugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00111
Scope and Contents The inventory includes letters, 1851-1861, and accounts, 1840-1866, of Rufus King Fitzhugh and his wife Henrietta Ellen (Baytop) Fitzhugh of Stanardsville, Greene County, Virginia. Most letters to Henrietta are from her mother Lucy Taliaferro (Catlett) Baytop, and her sisters Rowena, Lucy Ann, and Eugenia, all of Springfield, Gloucester County, Virginia. The collection also includes letters from her sister-in-law Mary F. Fitzhugh of Fredericksburg, Virginia. The letters relate...

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B85
Scope and Contents Papers, 1780-1929, of the Brown, Coalter, Tucker families including the papers of John Coalter (1769-1838), Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia, and John Thompson Brown (1802-1836), member of the Virginia House of Delegates.Among the correspondents are Maria (Rind) Coalter, St. George Tucker, William Munford, Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter, Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge, and Henry Peronneau Brown.This...

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (II)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B855
Scope and Contents Papers, 1791-1920, of the Brown, Coalter and Tucker families. Includes correspondence, of Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown with Margaret W. Barnes, members of the Braxton family, Henry Peronneau Brown, Fanny T. Bryan, John Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter and members of the Morton family.Also includes additional correspondences of members of the Brown, Coalter, Braxton, Tomlin and Bryan families including a letter, 29 April 1791, from Maria Rind to John Coalter as well as notes,...

James River and Kanawha Company Records

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00628
Scope and Contents

The collection relates to the James River Canal and Kanawha Company, which officially gained a charter in 1835. Included are a list of subscriptions sold to private individuals, a letter to the auditors office discussing current and previous subscriptions, a letter from a prospective surveyor and a list of tollage rates along the canal. Individuals mentioned are John Hartwell Cocke, and his son John Hartwell Cocke Jr.

Joseph Keith Newell Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00652
Scope and Contents Diary, 19 March 1862 to 24 August 1862, of Joseph Keith Newell, a captain of the 10th Massachusetts Infantry during the Civil War. Diary runs from March to August of 1862, and describes the life of a Union soldier during the Peninsula Campaign. Describes his trip down the Potomac River from Washington, D.C., to Hampton, Virginia. Also includes a description of the Battle of Williamsburg, 5 May 1862, as well as his observations of the College of William & Mary. Newell also describes his...

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...

Tyler Family Papers, Group A

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: Slavery--Virginia--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 6
Financial records 6
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 5
Diaries 4
Legal documents 4
∨ more
Receipts (financial records) 4
United States--Slavery 4
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 3
United States--History--War of 1812 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Account books 2
Anti-slavery movements 2
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 2
United States--Politics and Government 2
United States--Religious History--Christianity 2
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 2
African Americans--History--19th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--James City County 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
American Temperance Union 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Amherst County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Architecture, Domestic--Virginia 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Buckingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Embargo, 1807-1809 1
Farm management 1
Genealogy 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Greene County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Maps 1
Marriage-Virginia-Gloucester County 1
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 1
Medicine--Study and teaching--Virginia 1
Patronage, Political--United States--History 1
Photographs 1
Princeton University--History 1
Programs 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
Reports 1
Sherwood Forest (Virginia : Estate) 1
Slavery--Southern States--History 1
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 1
Slavery--Virginia--History 1
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Slavery--Virginia--Williamsburg--History--19th century. 1
Slaves--United States--Correspondence 1
Slaves--Virginia--Correspondence 1
Slaves--Virginia--Social conditions 1
Speeches 1
Springs--Virginia 1
Technical reports 1
Transcripts 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 1
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
United States--Presidents 1
University of Virginia--History--19th century 1
Virginia Military Institute--History--19th century 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
Virginia--Maps 1
Virginia--Politics and Government 1
Virginia--Politics and Government--18th century 1
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Williamsburg, Battle of, Williamsburg, Va., 1862 1
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 2
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 2
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 2
Coalter family 2
∨ more
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 2
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 2
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 2
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 2
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 2
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Austin family 1
Austin, Archibald, 1772-1837 1
Baytop family 1
Baytop, Lucy Taliaferro Catlett 1
Booth family 1
Braxton family 1
Brown family 1
Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 1
Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 1
Coalter, Judith H. Tomlin, d. 1859 1
Cocke, John Hartwell 1
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 1
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 1
Coulter family 1
Ellis, Pearl Tyler, 1860-1947 1
Fitzhugh family 1
Fitzhugh, Henrietta Ellen Baytop 1
Fitzhugh, Mary F. 1
Fitzhugh, Rufus King 1
Francisco, Peter, d. 1831 1
Hoge, Moses Drury, 1818-1899 1
Horsley family 1
James River & Kanawha Company 1
Longwood University 1
Mason, J. M. (James Murray), 1798-1871 1
Morton family 1
Munford, William, 1775-1825 1
Pendleton, William Nelson, 1809-1883 1
Pleasants, John Hampden, 1797-1846 1
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 1
Randolph, Judith Randolph, fl. 1792-1813 1
Rives, William C. (William Cabell), 1793-1868 1
Semple, James 1
Semple, Letitia Tyler, 1821-1907 1
Spencer, Julia Gardiner Tyler, 1849-1871 1
Spiller family 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Todd family 1
Tucker family 1
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 1
Tucker, John Randolph, 1823-1897 1
Tucker, Lelia Skipwith Carter, 1767-post 1833 1
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 1
Twyman family 1
Tyler Family 1
Tyler family 1
Tyler, David Gardiner, 1846-1927 1
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 1
Tyler, Julia Gardiner, 1820-1889 1
Tyler, Lachlan, 1851-1902 1
Tyler, Letitia Christian, 1790-1842 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
Tyler, Robert Fitzwater, 1856-1927 1
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 1
Tyler, Tazewell, 1830-1874 1
University of Virginia 1
Whittle (Bishop) 1
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 1
∧ less