Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6

John Allen Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01140
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1727-1728, received by John Allen of Virginia ["On James River"]. Includes letter, 30 Octob[er] 1727, of Edward Randolph, London, [Eng.] to Allen concerning sale of Allen's tobacco; and letter, 11 Sept[pember] 1728, of James Brad[ly?], London, [Eng.] to Allen concerning goods shipped and sale of tobacco.

2 items.

Bushrod Washington Letter to George Turberville

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00609
Scope and Contents Letter, 1787 November 4, from Bushrod Washington of Richmond to George Turberville in Westmoreland County. He writes that he has enclosed a copy of [minutes?] from the Federal Convention, and resolutions of the Virginia House of Delegates. He discusses the defeat of a bill to repeal the Port Law, the debate concerning the printing of paper money and his hopes for relief from the present taxation and the fact that the additional duty on tobacco has been removed. He states he will be a...

Carter Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C24
Scope and Contents The collection includes: correspondence and land records of Robert "King" Carter; correspondence and land records of his sons Robert Carter (1704-1731) and Landon Carter (1710-1778); correspondence, accounts, land records and the appointment to the Virginia Council of Robert Carter (1728-1804), son of Robert Carter (1704-1731); correspondence, diaries, land records and accounts of Robert Wormeley Carter (1734-1804), son of Landon Carter of Sabine Hall; and correspondence and land records and...

James Reid Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 R27
Scope and Contents

Letters, 1790-1791, received by James Reid of Huie, Reid & Co., merchants of Dumfries, Prince William County, Va. Many deal with the tobacco trade and prices.

Thomas Ladd Letter Copy Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Cp4
Scope and Contents

Letter copybook, 1798-1799, of Thomas Ladd, tobacco merchant of Richmond, Va. Later, the volume was used as a scrapbook for newspaper clippings, 1841-1862, by Alice Starke.

Tobacco Warehouse Receipt

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00260
Scope and Contents

Receipt for one hogshead of tobacco received at the "Appomattox River" ... Warehouse.  Signed by Vaughan J. Blick and received from William (illegible). John Holloway noted under columns for "Sweet Scented" and "Aronoko."  December 12, 1777.  Warehouse is possible in Prince Edward County, Virginia.