Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 8 of 8

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (III)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B8555
Scope and Contents

Papers and correspondence of three generations of the Brown Family of Virginia:  Frances (Fanny) Bland Coalter Brown and her husband, Henry Peronneau Brown (1838-1888),  J. Thompson and Cassie Tucker Brown (1890-1920) and Frances Bland Brown and Fleming Sanders (1921-1964).

Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 1.02
Scope and Contents

The Ephemera Collection contains material primarily acquired for teaching. It includes material in various formats, most of which have been previously published. The collection is currently being processed and new items will be added on an ongoing basis. For this reason, the indicated date range is approximate at this point.

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...

Thomas E. Pugh Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00005
Scope and Contents The papers of Rev. Thomas E. Pugh, who was the minister of the Williamsburg Baptist Church in Williamsburg, Virginia from 1952-1981. Collection includes both personal and ministerial related material.  Early photograph albums show Pugh's childhood but his correspondence and papers begin with his student days at the University of Richmond in 1940.  He attended Crozer Theological Seminary and Harvard University Chaplain School before becoming an Army Chaplain in 1944.  His first...

Robb-Bernard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...

Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 71 R75
Scope and Contents Professional and personal papers of Parke Shepherd Rouse, Jr. who was a newspaper writer and columnist and an author of books on Virginia. His personal correspondence covers his college years at Washington and Lee University; his years in the Navy during World War II; his early career while working in Richmond, Virginia and Newport News, Virginia; and his business affairs. His college and Navy letters include not only the letters he wrote home, but the letters he received from...

Virginia Counties Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents

Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.

Richard Williams Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00912
Scope and Contents Papers, circa 1940s, of Richard Williams, an African-American soldier stationed in Alaska during World War II. Includes a diary, in which he describes the weather, fishing and other recreational activities, and his duties. There are photographs and postcards that have been glued into the diary, which depict the local post office covered in snow, the towns of Juneau and Sitka, as well as Williams and other people that he met. There are also loose photographs, which seem to have come out of...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: Photographs X
  • Subject: World War, 1939-1945 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
World War, 1939-1945 6
Correspondence 5
Diaries 3
Financial records 3
Legal documents 3
∨ more
Newspapers 3
Poems 3
Programs 3
Scrapbooks 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 3
World War, 1914-1918 3
Advertising cards 2
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 2
Broadsides 2
Catalogs 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Deeds 2
Invitations 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Marriage records 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Minutes 2
Newsletters 2
Notebooks 2
Pamphlets 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
Account books 1
Accounts 1
Advertising 1
Advertising blotters 1
Advertising--United States--History 1
African Americans 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
Alaska--Description and travel--20th century 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History 1
Amelia County (Va.)--History 1
American Revolution Bicentennial, 1976--Virginia 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Amherst County (Va.)--History 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Assignats 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History 1
Authors, American--20th century 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Baptists--United States--Clergy 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History 1
Bible records 1
Booklets 1
Books 1
Botetourt County (Va.)--History 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History 1
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 1
Campbell County (Va.)--History 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Card games 1
Card games (game sets) 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Chaplains, Military--United States--20th century 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History 1
Checks (bank checks) 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Chesterfield County (Va.)--History 1
Chicago (Ill.)--Industries--Pictorial work 1
Church bulletins 1
Church records and registers--Virginia 1
Cigarette cards 1
Circulars (fliers) 1
Clarke County (Va.)--History 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Coupons 1
Criss Cross House (New Kent County, Va.) 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History 1
Daybooks 1
Deeds--Virginia 1
Desert Storm, Operation, 1991 1
Dinwiddie County (Va.)--History 1
Dunmore County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
∧ less
 
Language
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
 
Names
American Red Cross 2
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Association of University Women 1
American Chemical Society 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
∨ more
Bernard Family 1
Blair, James, 1656-1743 1
Braxton family 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Cassie Dallas Tucker 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 1
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 1
Brown, John Thompson, 1861-1921 1
Brown, John Willcox, 1886- 1
Coalter family 1
Coleman, Mary Haldane Begg, 1875-1967 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
Crozer Theological Seminary 1
Daily Press (Hampton Roads, Va.) 1
Ford, Gerald R., 1913-2006 1
Ford, Henry, 1863-1947 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Hipkins family 1
Meade, Robert Douthat, 1903-1974 1
Miller and Rhoads (Richmond, Va.) 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Pugh family 1
Pugh, Thomas E., 1917-2006 1
Robb family 1
Robb-Bernard family 1
Rouse, Parke Shepherd, Jr. 1
Saunders family 1
Saunders, Fleming 1
Saunders, Frances Bland Coalter Brown, 1891 1
Scottish Widows' Fund and Life Assurance Society 1
Sears, Roebuck and Company 1
Sears, Roebuck and Company--Pictorial works 1
Simpson family 1
Taylor, John, 1753-1824 1
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 1
Tucker family 1
Tyree family 1
United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States. President (2009- : Obama) 1
Upton family 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 1
Virginia Polytechnic Institute. 1
Virginia. General Court 1
Virginia. State Lottery Dept. 1
Whitehead and Hoag Company (Newark, N.J.) 1
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Wingo family 1
Woman's Club of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
∧ less