Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 10

Charles Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 C17
Scope and Contents The Charles Campbell papers consist of papers received or collected by Charles Campbell (1807-1876), Virginia historian. The papers fall into four general headings: historical papers collected by Charles Campbell, correspondence, manuscript volumes, and miscellaneous. These include personal and professional correspondence as well as eighteenth century documents collected by Charles Campbell, newspaper clippings, diaries, scrapbooks, and notebooks, covering then period 1743-1896. The papers...

Gregory Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00027
Scope and Contents The Gregory Family papers follow the family of Virginia Governor John Munford Gregory and wife Amanda Wallace through three generations with letters dating from the 1820’s to the 1920’s. Most items are letters between family members and grant insight into the daily activities and concerns of the Gregory family. The collection also includes correspondence between members of the Gregory family and other acquaintances, including members of the John Tyler family. While most letters are of a...

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...

Morton Genealogy Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 90 M85 and 82.7
Scope and Contents Genealogy material compiled by Mr. William S. Morton and his wife, Mrs. Margaret H. Morton of Farmville, Virginia which trace the descendants of Joseph Morton of Prince Edward County, Virginia and allied families.  Includes primary source material, such as the 1830 daybook of the J. J. Dupuy Company of Charlotte Court House. Also, contains typescript of Richard Lee Morton's copy of Hugh Blair Grigsby's notes on the Robert Rose Diary  and of William Cryer's transcript of the Charles Campbell...

Morton Genealogy Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss.90.M85 Mss.82.7
Scope and Contents Genealogy material compiled by Mr. William S. Morton and his wife, Mrs. Margaret H. Morton of Farmville, Virginia which trace the descendants of Joseph Morton of Prince Edward County, Virginia and allied families.  Includes primary source material, such as the 1830 daybook of the J. J. Dupuy Company of Charlotte Court House. Also, contains typescript of Richard Lee Morton's copy of Hugh Blair Grigsby's notes on the Robert Rose Diary  and of William Cryer's transcript of the Charles Campbell...

Richard Lee Morton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...

Robb-Bernard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...

William G. Stanard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00579
Scope and Contents Letters, 1888-1928, written to William G. Stanard, secretary of the Virginia Historical Society and editor of the Virginia Magazine of History and Biography concerning historical and genealogical matters. Includes letters from Benjamin Stoddert Ewell, J. Franklin Jameson, Lyon G. Tyler, and W. A. R. Goodwin. Some of the letters concern the College of William and Mary and the history of Williamsburg, Va. June 15, 1925, letter from W. G. Stanard to E.G. Swem concerning a portrait of General R....

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: Genealogy X
  • Subject: College of William and Mary--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Virginia--Genealogy 8
Correspondence 7
Diaries 7
Genealogy 7
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 6
∨ more
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 6
Legal documents 6
Photographs 6
Financial records 4
Poems 4
Account books 3
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Manuscripts (document genre) 3
Notebooks 3
Typescripts 3
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 3
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 2
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 2
Campbell County (Va.)--History 2
Carte de visite photographs 2
Certificates 2
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 2
College of William and Mary--Students 2
Cumberland County (Va.) 2
Daybooks 2
Prince Edward County (Va.)--History 2
Publications 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Reports 2
Research notes 2
Scrapbooks 2
Speeches 2
United States--Slavery 2
Virginia--History 2
Virginia--History--19th century 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Virginia--Politics and Government 2
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American periodicals--Virginia--History 1
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Broadsides 1
Cabinet photographs 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Catalogs 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Class materials 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--History 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Curriculum--History 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
Education--Study and teaching 1
Education--Virginia--History 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Football--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Genealogical tables 1
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Greeting cards 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Indians of North America 1
James City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Japan--Description and travel 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Maine--Description and travel 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898--Pictorial works 1
Manuscripts for publication 1
Maps 1
Marriage certificates 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Minutes 1
Newspapers 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Pamphlets 1
Petersburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Philippines--History 1
Postcards 1
Programs 1
Railroads--Virginia--History 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
Report cards 1
∧ less
 
Language
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
German 1
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
Morton family 3
Morton, Estelle 3
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 3
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
Morton, Margaret H. 2
∨ more