Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 14

Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.09
Scope and Contents Personal papers of and concerning Julian Alvin Carroll Chandler, president of William & Mary. Includes biographical materials, student notebook kept at John Hopkins University; scrapbook of letters compiled in honor of the fifteenth anniversary of Chandler's presidency; and correspondence, 1895-1916. There is correspondence of Frederic William Boatwright and some letters concern the Richmond Academy, the Women's College of Richmond, and Richmond College. Acc. 2012.062...

College Papers Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 14
Scope and Contents

This collection includes a variety of material formats and subjects from throughout the College's history.

Office of the Dean of Women Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 24
Scope and Contents Acc. 1983.074: Student Activity Notebooks, 1936-1948. This accession contains loose-leaf notebooks with the names of female students and the activities they took part in. It also contains newspaper clippings, letters, and programs about women's activities, arranged by year.Acc. 1983.094: Office Records, 1928-1936. This accession includes correspondence and reports. An inventory is available in the Special Collections Research Center.The collection also includes memos,...

Carl R. Dolmetsch Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.111
Scope and Contents This collection contains correspondence, publications, and other material kept by Carl R. Dolmetsch, a professor in the Department of English at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection are publications, a drawing, and a poster related to author H.L. Mencken; correspondence concerning potential visiting lecturers to events in the Department of Engllish; and letters written to Carl R. Dolmetsch by persons who had contributed material to Smart...

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...

Richard Lee Morton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...

Davis Young Paschall Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.14
Scope and Contents This collection is composed of material collected by and about College of William and Mary President Davis Y. Paschall including articles and speeches, biographical material, material related to his inauguration as College President, news clippings, and subject files. The collection documents Paschall's life from his days as a student at the College of William and Mary, his tenure as Superintendent of Public Instruction for the Commonwealth of Virginia (1957-1960) and President of the...

John Garland Pollard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...

Office of the President. Lyon Gardiner Tyler Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.07
Scope and Contents Acc. 1980.123: One box containing biographical material; engravings; lectures; addresses; publications; an article about the Gardiner Manor in New York; Tyler's application for the William and Mary presidency; testimonials; a calling card; correspondence, including a letter to Mrs. Alex S. Porter (circa 1917), possibly referring to Bound Volume no. 13. Acc. 1984.019: This accession is composed of fifteen boxes of Tyler's correspondence and other material as President and...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--History X
  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Subject: College of William and Mary--History--20th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Photographs 9
Financial records 5
Reports 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 5
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 4
∨ more
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 4
Legal documents 4
Minutes 4
Publications 4
Scrapbooks 4
Account books 3
College of William and Mary--Students 3
Genealogy 3
Manuscripts (document genre) 3
Notebooks 3
Virginia--History--20th century 3
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 2
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 2
Certificates 2
Class materials 2
Clippings (information artifacts) 2
Diaries 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 2
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 2
Jamestown Festival (1957) 2
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Petitions 2
Poems 2
Programs 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Speeches 2
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 2
Virginia--History--18th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 2
Women--Education--Virginia--History 2
World War, 1914-1918 2
World War, 1939-1945 2
African American physicians 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
Alexandria (Va.)--History 1
American literature--20th century 1
American periodicals--History 1
Artifacts 1
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 1
Awards and scholarships 1
Baptists--Virginia--History 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Blue Ridge Springs (Va.) 1
Broadsides 1
Buildings and Grounds 1
Buildings and Grounds--Fires--1859 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Catalogs 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Charlottesville (Va.)--History 1
Charter Day 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
Church of England--Virginia--History 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Coeducation--United States--History--20th century 1
Coeducation--Virginia 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
College of William and Mary--History--17th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
College of William and Mary--Maps, Pictorial 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
College presidents--Virginia 1
College theater--United States 1
Colonial Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Colonial Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.)--Maps, Pictorial 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 1
Community theater 1
Course work 1
Curriculum--History 1
Danville (Va.)--History 1
Drawings (visual works) 1
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--18th century 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Essays 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Football--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Fredericksburg (Va.)--History 1
Fundraising campaigns 1
Gardening--Virginia 1
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 1
Hanover Courthouse (Va.)--History 1
Harrisonburg (Va.)--History 1
History of the College--Reconstruction efforts after the war 1
Hopewell (Va.)--History 1
∧ less
 
Language
English 13
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
German 1
Latin 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
College of William and Mary. 3
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 3
American Red Cross 2
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
∨ more
College of William and Mary 2
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 2
Office of the President 2
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Association of University Women 1
American Chemical Society 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Bernard Family 1
Blayton, James Blaine, Sr., (Dr.) 1
Chandler, J. A. C. (Julian Alvin Carroll), 1872-1934 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
College of William and Mary. Dean of Women 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Crump family 1
Democratic Party (Va.) 1
Dolmetsch, Carl (Carl Richard), 1924- 1
Dunlop family 1
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 1
Grace Street Gardens (Richmond, Va.) 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Hall, Channing Moore, III 1
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 1
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 1
Hipkins family 1
Hughes, Robert M. (Robert Morton), b. 1855 1
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 1
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 1
Mencken, H. L. (Henry Louis), 1880-1956 1
Michaux, Lightfoot Solomon 1
Morton family 1
Morton, Estelle 1
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 1
Paschall, Davis Young, 1911-2001 1
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 1
Pollard, John Garland, 1871-1937 1
Richmond (Va.) News Leader 1
Richmond Academy 1
Richmond Theatre (Richmond, Va.) 1
Robb family 1
Robb-Bernard family 1
Sindt, Tobey Mark 1
Swem, E. G. (Earl Gregg), 1870-1965 1
Taylor, John, 1753-1824 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 1
United Nations Food and Agricultural Organization 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry Regiment, 25th 1
United States. Board of Veterans Appeals 1
United States. Federal Trade Commission 1
Upton family 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 1
Ward, Courtney Sharpe 1
Williams, Thomas L. 1
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 1
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Female Academy (Williamsburg, Va) 1
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Male Academy (Williamsburg, Va) 1
Williamsburg Military School (Williamsburg, Va) 1
Woman's Club of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Women's College of Richmond 1
∧ less