Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Chappelear Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C38
Scope and Contents Papers, 1876-1959, of Benjamin Curtis Chappelear including manuscript and printed maps of Fauquier, Loudoun, Clarke, and Warren counties, Va.; Virginia state maps; United States Department of the Interior Geological Survey Maps of areas in Virginia and West Virginia; notes concerning land records and manuscript volumes which include account books collected by Chappelear of blacksmiths, farmers, postmasters, students, tanners, and operators of general stores. The collection also includes...

Gerald Cowden Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2000.40
Scope and Contents

Research material of Gerald Steffens Cowden from his Ph.D. dissertation on the Randolph's of Virginia, "The Randolphs of Turkey Island:  a Prosopography of the First Three Generations, 1650-1806. " Also includes other works and essays from his earlier education, and the research accompanying those essays as well.

Gregory Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00027
Scope and Contents The Gregory Family papers follow the family of Virginia Governor John Munford Gregory and wife Amanda Wallace through three generations with letters dating from the 1820’s to the 1920’s. Most items are letters between family members and grant insight into the daily activities and concerns of the Gregory family. The collection also includes correspondence between members of the Gregory family and other acquaintances, including members of the John Tyler family. While most letters are of a...

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

Manuscripts - People and Family Names

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.2 Man3a
Scope and Contents An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's.  Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere.  Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt. Documents from this collection are currently being transferred to the Small Collection  as individual items with SC identification numbers. ...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--Genealogy X
  • Subject: Virginia--History--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Legal documents 4
Correspondence 3
Carte de visite photographs 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
Financial records 2
∨ more
Genealogy 2
Photographs 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--History--19th century 2
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 2
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 2
Account books 1
African Americans--Virginia--History--18th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Apprenticeship programs--Virginia 1
Blacksmithing 1
Blacksmithing--Virginia 1
Cabinet photographs 1
Certificates 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chicago (Ill.)--History--19th century 1
Clarke County (Va.)--Maps 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Daybooks 1
Debt 1
Decedents' estates 1
Design drawings 1
Diaries 1
Dissertation 1
Dyes and dyeing 1
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Farm management--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Farms--Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.) 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--Maps 1
Finances 1
Genealogical tables 1
General stores--Virginia 1
Greeting cards 1
Hopewell (Va.)--History 1
Horses--Virginia 1
Index Cards 1
Indians of North America 1
Insurance, Fire--Virginia--History 1
James City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Japan--Description and travel 1
Jefferson County (W.Va.)--History--18th century 1
Jefferson County (W.Va.)--History--19th century 1
Kingdom of the Two Sicilies 1
Land grants--Virginia 1
Lectures 1
Ledgers (Accounting) 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Logging--Virginia 1
Loudoun County (Va.)--Maps 1
Lumber trade--Virginia--History 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898--Pictorial works 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Manuscripts for publication 1
Maps 1
Marriage certificates 1
Mecklenburg County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Medical practice--Virginia--History 1
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 1
Merchants--Massachusetts 1
Merchants--Virginia--Fauquier County 1
Merchants--Virginia--Richmond 1
Merchants--West Virginia--Jefferson County 1
Military records 1
Mississippi--History--19th century 1
New York (State)--Social life and customs 1
Newspapers 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Orders (military records) 1
Pamphlets 1
Petersburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Physicians--Virginia--York County 1
Poems 1
Postcards 1
Printed ephemera 1
Randolph family 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Registers (lists) 1
Registers of birth, etc 1
Report cards 1
Research notes 1
Retail trade--Virginia--History 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Roads--Virginia 1
Schools--Virginia 1
Shoemakers--Virginia 1
∧ less
 
Language
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
Allison White and Company 1
Carrington family 1
Centenary Church 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
Cowden, Gerald Steffens, b. 1940 1