Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 7 of 7

Baird Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B16
Scope and Contents Collection includes papers, 1656-1848, concerning Essex County, Va. including land records and wills, many of which relate to the Rowzee family. Many of the records date from the seventeenth century. The collection also includes correspondence, 1830-1920, of members of the Baird family including letters, 1859-1911, of Edward R. Baird while attending the University of Virginia, serving in Pickett's Division and as superintendent of schools in Essex County. There are...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Bevill Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00159
Scope and Contents

Copies of wills, parish, and court records, 1558-1707, relating to the Bevill family in Henrico Co., Va. and London, Eng. Also includes papers concerning the Ball family of England and correspondence, 1929-1939, concerning genealogical material on the Ball and Lacy families, also of England.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Broome Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.296
Scope and Contents Papers of the Broome family of Richmond, Virginia. Includes 2 diaries of Louise B. Taliaferro from a 1924 European trip and one diary of an unknown woman from a 1924 European trip.  Includes photographs, genealogical material, legal and business papers and correspondence, including letters of Talbot Broome during voyages to South America. The connection between Louise B. Taliaferro and the Broome Family has not been established.  Louise B. Taliaferro was married to William M....
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Genealogy Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 G29
Scope and Contents

An artificial collection of genealogical materials; ca. 1880 to 1993; many of which were probably collected by Dr. Earl Gregg Swem in connection with the publication of genealogical information in the "William and Mary Quarterly, 2nd Series". Includes correspondence, clippings, coats-of-arms, charts, and family histories.  Most newspaper clippings are from "The Standard" in Richmond, Virginia from the early 1880's.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lucy Elizabeth James Journal

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01148
Scope and Contents Journal, compiled by Lucy Elizabeth James in 1959, titled "Four Score Years, 1880-1960," in which the author shares memories of the different stations of her life in a "series of random letters and narrations." Includes reminiscences of her childhood in New Kent County, student years in Farmville, years spent in Williamsburg and Newport News, all Virginia. Also included are photographs of the author, from 1880 to the 1950s, and two 1973 obituaries for Robert Welmore James (1901-1973)....
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Gideon Macon Family Charts

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2005.40 and 2006.09
Scope and Contents

Two rolled family charts entitled "The Gideon Macon Family Tree Drawing."

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Virginia--Genealogy X
  • Subject: Genealogical tables X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 5
Genealogy 5
Photographs 3
Cabinet photographs 2
Genealogies 2
∨ more
Legal documents 2
Photocopies 2
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 2
Account books 1
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Autobiographies 1
Bible records 1
Books 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Certificates 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Cigars--History 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Pickett's Division 1
Deeds 1
Deeds--Virginia 1
Diaries 1
Education--Virginia--Essex County--History 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--17th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Europe--Description and travel--20th century 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Financial records 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Greeting cards 1
Henrico County (Va.)--History 1
Indentures 1
Indians of North America 1
Japan--Description and travel 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898--Pictorial works 1
Manuscripts for publication 1
Marriage certificates 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Notebooks 1
Obituaries 1
Photograph albums 1
Photostats 1
Physicians--Virginia--Charlottesville 1
Poems 1
Postcards 1
Real property 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Reminiscences 1
Report cards 1
Reports 1
Richmond (Va.)--Description and travel 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Richmond (Va.)--Social life and customs 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
South America--Description and travel. 1
Spanish-American War, 1898 1
Speeches 1
Stock certificates 1
Student Life--1890's 1
Surveys (documents) 1
Tidewater (Va. : Region)--Genealogy 1
Tidewater (Va. : Region)--Personal narratives 1
Tobacco farmers--Virginia 1
Tobacco industry--Massachusetts 1
United States. Navy 1
United States. Navy--History--19th century 1
United States. Navy--History--20th century 1
University of Virginia--History 1
Virginia--History 1
Virginia--History--19th century 1
Virginia--Social life and customs--20th century 1
Visiting cards 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Genealogy 1
Women travelers--Diaries 1
Women--Travel 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
∧ less
 
Language
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
Baird family 1
Ball family 1
Barron family 1
Bevill family 1
Broome family 1
∨ more
Carrington family 1
Dornin family 1
Eastern Publishing Co 1
Galt family 1
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 1
Garland family 1
Grigsby family 1
Grigsby, Hugh Blair, 1806-1881 1
Hunter family 1
Hunter, R. M. T. (Robert Mercer Taliaferro), 1809-1887 1
Lacy family 1
Macon family 1
Macon, Gideon, 1648-1702 1
Rowzee family 1
Taliaferro, H.B. and Company 1
Taliaferro, Louise B. 1
United States. Navy. Office of the Paymaster 1
Williams family 1
∧ less