Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 26

American Association of University Professors, College of William and Mary Chapter Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 16
Scope and Contents Records pertaining to the beginning of an AAUP chapter at the College of William and Mary including minutes, notes, and drafts.  Also included is information about the national, regional and local AAUP. The collection includes: minutes; constitution and by-laws with amendments; correspondence; publications; treasurer's reports; press releases; and interviews. This material deals with fringe benefits and compensation; higher education; academic policy; faculty participation in university...

Associate Provost for Academic Affairs Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/01/UA 187
Scope and Contents Acc. 1991.086 contains office files from the Associate Provost for Academic Affairs. Acc. 1994.044 contains office files from the Associate Provost for Academic Affairs, mostly from the 1980s. Acc. 1994.046 contains confidential files removed from Acc. 1994.044, including search materials, evaluations, salary information, and adjunct faculty vitas. Acc. 1996.019 contains the records of the Office of the Associate Provost, including evaluations, search...

College Women's Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 19
Scope and Contents

This collection includes bylaws and constitution, minutes, financial records, clippings, correspondence, and other material related to the College Women's Club, a faculty organization at the College of William and Mary.

Office of the Dean of the College Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 104
Scope and Contents Acc. 1979.031: This accession contains office files from 1920-1942. Acc. 1983.085: This accession contains office files from the 1940s and 1950s. These include reports of the Curriculum Committee, correspondence with the President and others, materials from the faculty protest of 1951, letters of faculty appointments and salaries, and selective service classifications of faculty members. Acc. 1998.091: Records of Kremer Jacob Hoke, 1920s-1930s. This accession contains...

Office of the Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences Records

 Collection
Identifier: 00/02/01/UA 22
Scope and Contents Acc. 1979.037: Records of W. Melville Jones, 1954-1967. This accession contains ten boxes of subject files arranged alphabetically. The inventory for this accession is available in the box list section of this finding aid. Acc. 1979.038: Records of James Wilkinson Miller, 1940s. This accession contains faculty inactive files and office files. Part of  the correspondence was removed to Acc. 1979.037. Acc. 1982.070: Office files, 1961-1979. This accession includes...

Carl R. Dolmetsch Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.111
Scope and Contents This collection contains correspondence, publications, and other material kept by Carl R. Dolmetsch, a professor in the Department of English at the College of William and Mary. Included in the collection are publications, a drawing, and a poster related to author H.L. Mencken; correspondence concerning potential visiting lecturers to events in the Department of Engllish; and letters written to Carl R. Dolmetsch by persons who had contributed material to Smart...

Faculty Research Committee Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 45
Scope and Contents

Collection includes annual reports, 1982-83, 1984-85; correspondence and memos, 1982-85; indirect cost recoveries, 1982-84; list of faculty members and  years when they were awarded grants; policy and principles for faculty research grants; summaries of grants made by the committee, 1982-85.

Inventory available in the Special Collections Research Center.

Faculty Women's Caucus Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 36
Scope and Contents The collection of the Faculty Women's Caucus at the College of William and Mary includes correspondence from 1973-1996 related to women faculty salaries and tenure; maternity leave and childcare; EEO and Affirmative Action; women's athletics, dealing mostly with Title IX, both within the College of William and Mary and the National Collegiate Athletics Association (NCAA); sexual harassment; campus security; the Women's Studies program; and discriminatory findings. Also included are salary...

Armand J. Galfo Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.019
Scope and Contents The collection contains materials related to Dr. Armand J. Galfo's teaching in the School of Education, service to the College of William and Mary, and scholarship throughout his career, his teaching and scholarly activities, awards and achievements, and service in the Air Force and Air Force Reserves.The materials consist of correspondence, news clippings, photographs, pamphlets, publications by Dr. Galfo, research materials of Armand and Mary Galfo, teaching notes, photocopies...

Office of Grants and Research Administration Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 115
Scope and Contents Acc. 1984.075: Expenditure reports, interim and final reports, award letters, and ledger books arranged by grant number, 1960s-1970s. Acc. 1988.065: Files about funded grants, 1968-1984. Acc. 1989.025: information about grants administered by college personnel, 1982-1986. Acc. 1993.024: Grant reports, financial records, invoices, and logs, 1987-1993. Acc. 1999.022: Grants, correspondence, audits, allocations, and annual reports, 1978-1994....

Hampton Roads-Peninsula War Studies Committee Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 40
Scope and Contents

The Hampton Roads-Peninsula War Studies Committee collection includes business case studies; records of expenditures; general correspondence; and correspondence and publications of Dr. Charles E. Marsh.

Kremer J. Hoke Records and Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.024
Scope and Contents Collection includes the general correspondence files of Kremer J. Hoke: Professor of Education, 1920-44; Dean, 1920-21; Dean of Students, 1921-22; Dean of the College, 1922-1938; Dean of the School of Education, 1934-38; Dean of Summer School, 1938-43.   In addition to correspondences with a variety of individuals, collection contains materials related to: the American Council on Education; Association of American Colleges; Association of Southern College; Catalogue; Curriculum Committee;...

Kremer J. Hoke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.024
Scope and Contents Collection includes the general correspondence files of Kremer J. Hoke: Professor of Education, 1920-44; Dean, 1920-21; Dean of Students, 1921-22; Dean of the College, 1922-1938; Dean of the School of Education, 1934-38; Dean of Summer School, 1938-43.   In addition to correspondences with a variety of individuals, collection contains materials related to: the American Council on Education; Association of American Colleges; Association of Southern College; Catalogue; Curriculum Committee;...

R. Wayne Kernodle Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.044
Scope and Contents Acc. 1999.028: This collection contains copies of published articles by Professor Wayne Kernodle and others; book reviews; Marshall-Wythe Symposium correspondence; files about the athletic department scandal (1951); Sociology Department papers; Eastern State Hospital papers; the Hampton Roads Peninsula World War II study; correspondence between Kernodle and department members, College officials, and scholars at other institutions; and correspondence with William and Mary alum John Bell...

William Lamb Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L16
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1855, 1859-1861, 1864-1909, (52 volumes) of Col. William Lamb (1835-1909), written while a student at the College of William and Mary, newspaper editor, Civil War commander of Fort Fisher, N.C. (1862-1865), coal merchant, Norfolk businessman and mayor (1880-1886), and member of the Board of Visitors and Rector of William and Mary. Collection also includes diary, 1861, and some letters of his wife Sarah Annie Chaffee Lamb as well as page proofs and other material relating...

James Lyons Letter to Nathaniel B. Tucker

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01092
Scope and Contents

Letter, 15 Oct. 1839, James Lyons, Richmond, Va. to Judge [Nathaniel Beverley] Tucker, Williamsburg, Va. Letter of introduction for Joseph M. Carrington who plans to attend Tucker's law lectures [at the College of William & Mary]. Carrington has already studied Blackstone, Coke, etc.

Bruce A. McConachie Papers, 1978-1995

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.045
Scope and Contents

Signed typescript of "Goin' Home to Freedom," McConachie's adaptation of Uncle Tom's Cabin (Acc. 1986.013). Correspondence, student references, teaching evaluations, a draft and offprints of "Goin' Home to Freedom" (Acc. 1999.016).

Terry L. Meyers Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.047
Scope and Contents The papers of College of William and Mary Department of English faculty member Terry Meyers document his career and research interests. Acc. 2004.01 is the printed four page illustrated prospectus for "Uncollected Letters of Algernon Charles Swinburne", 3 vols., to be published May 2004 by Pickering and Chatto, London. Acc. 2009.256 includes file of material relating to Prof. Terry Meyers' ACLU lawsuit about the Virginia law which required him to obtain permission to...

John Millington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M59
Scope and Contents

Papers including correspondence concerning Millington's experiences as directing engineer of the Anglo-Mexican Mining Association, as professor at College of William and Mary where he lived in the Wythe House, as professor at University of Mississippi, and at Memphis Medical College. Includes diaries covering 1832, 1835, and 1861-1867; letters of his family members; and Blankenship family land records and letters concerning the Spanish-American War.

Office of the President. Lyon Gardiner Tyler Records

 Collection
Identifier: UA 2.07
Scope and Contents Acc. 1980.123: One box containing biographical material; engravings; lectures; addresses; publications; an article about the Gardiner Manor in New York; Tyler's application for the William and Mary presidency; testimonials; a calling card; correspondence, including a letter to Mrs. Alex S. Porter (circa 1917), possibly referring to Bound Volume no. 13. Acc. 1984.019: This accession is composed of fifteen boxes of Tyler's correspondence and other material as President and...

Committee on Research Funds Records, 1950-1958

 Collection
Identifier: UA 51
Scope and Contents

The Committee on Research Funds was chaired by Nelson Marshall, then Charles F. Marsh. The collection contains office files including correspondence, grant applications, and proposals.

Department of Sociology Records, 1952-2008

 Collection
Identifier: UA 195
Scope and Contents

This collection includes announcements, correspondence, minutes, publications, and other material related to the Department of Sociology at William & Mary.

Tyler Family Papers, Group B

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group B
Scope and Contents Papers, 1868-1951, of Lyon Gardiner Tyler, his wives Anne Baker Tucker Tyler and Sue Ruffin Tyler and his descendants. Includes personal correspondence and correspondence relating to American Historical Association, Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities, Colonial Williamsburg, Cooperative Education Commission of Virginia, Equal Suffrage League of Virginia, Jamestown Exposition, New York Southern Society, Sons of the Revolution, Virginia Board of Education, Virginia...

William D. Eppes Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 E7
Scope and Contents Series 1: Scrapbook with correspondence and ephemera; 1959-1994; concerning William D. Eppes' book fund for purchases in the Humanities for Swem Library. Majority of correspondence is with James A. Servies, Librarian.Series 2: Photocopied correspondence, playbills, and newspaper clippings used to support the nomination of Eva Le Gallienne for an honorary degree. Originals of the correspondence can be found at the Walter Hapton-Edwin Booth Theatre Collection and Library....

Dudley Woodbridge Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 89 W85
Scope and Contents

Speeches and newspaper clippings relating to the career of Dudley Warner Woodbridge, who was professor, 1927-1966, and Dean of the Law school at the College of William and Mary. Also includes photographs and letters written to him on the occasion of his retirement.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty X
  • Subject: Correspondence X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 25
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 10
Reports 9
Minutes 6
Photographs 6
∨ more
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 4
Financial records 4
Manuscripts (document genre) 4
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 3
Fliers (printed matter) 3
Scrapbooks 3
Typescripts 3
Account books 2
Diaries 2
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 2
Newsletters 2
Pamphlets 2
Photostats 2
Posters 2
Publications 2
Speeches, addresses, etc. 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
United States--Lawyers 2
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 2
World War, 1939-1945 2
African Americans 1
American diaries--Women authors 1
American literature--20th century 1
American newspapers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
American periodicals--History 1
Announcements 1
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 1
Athletics--Women 1
Awards and scholarships 1
Buildings and Grounds 1
Class materials 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Coeducation--United States--History--20th century 1
Coeducation--Virginia 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Continential Congress 1
Course work 1
Declaration of Independence 1
Dogs 1
Dogs--Pictorial works 1
Drawings (visual works) 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Education--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Engineering--Study and teaching--United States--19th century 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Fort Fisher (N.C.) 1
Fundraising campaigns 1
History of the College--Reconstruction efforts after the war 1
House of Burgesses 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History 1
Jamestown Exposition (1907) 1
Jamestown Ter-centennial Exposition (1907) 1
Law--Study and teaching--Virginia--History 1
Legal documents 1
Lithographs 1
Maps 1
Memorandums 1
Mexico--History--19th century 1
Mining engineering--History--19th century 1
North Carolina--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Oil paintings (visual works) 1
Orders (military records) 1
Playbills 1
Poets, English--19th century--Correspondence. 1
Press releases 1
Printed ephemera 1
Satire, American--18th century 1
Self Study--1974 1
Slavery--Southern States--History 1
Slides (photographs) 1
Sound Recordings 1
Spanish-American War, 1898 1
Speeches 1
Surveys (documents) 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
Universities and Colleges--Finance 1
University of Mississippi--History--19th century 1
Virginia--History--18th century 1
Virginia. High Court of Chancery. Richmond District 1
Watercolors (drawings) 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Colonial Period--History 1
Women's rights--United States 1
Women--History--Virginia 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
World War, 1939-1945--Aerial operations 1
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 1
Wythe House (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Siege, 1781--Centennial celebrations, etc 1
∧ less
 
Language
English 24
German 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary. School of Education 4
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
College of William and Mary. Dean of the College 3
Hoke, Kremer Jacob, 1878-1944 3
College of William and Mary 2
∨ more
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 2
Dean of Students. 2
Dept. of Sociology 2
Hughes, Robert M. (Robert Morton), b. 1855 2
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 2
Marsh, Charles F. (Charles Franklin), 1903-1984 2
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 2
Miller, James Wilkinson, 1902- 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
Adams, John, 1735-1826 1
American Association of University Professors 1
American Historical Association 1
Associate Provost for Academic Affairs 1
Blankenship family 1
Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching 1
Chaffee, Sarah Lamb 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
College of William and Mary. College Women's Club 1
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 1
College of William and Mary. Committee on Research Funds 1
College of William and Mary. Dean of the Faculty 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 1
College of William and Mary. Faculty Research Committee 1
College of William and Mary. Office of Grants and Research Administration 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the President 1
College of William and Mary. Office of the Provost 1
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 1
Dean of the Faculty of Arts and Sciences 1
Deptartment of English 1
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 1
Dolmetsch, Carl (Carl Richard), 1924- 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 1
Equal Suffrage League of Virginia 1
Faculty Women's Caucus 1
Galfo, Armand J., 1926- 1
Galfo, Mary 1
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 1
Hampton Roads-Peninsula War Studies Committee 1
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 1
Lamb, Sarah Anne Chaffee, b. 1837 1
Lamb, William, 1838-1909 1
Marshall, Nelson 1
Memphis Medical College, Memphis, Tenn 1
Mencken, H. L. (Henry Louis), 1880-1956 1
Millington family 1
Millington, John, 1779-1868 1
New York Southern Society 1
North Atlantic Treaty Organization 1
Office of the President 1
Office of the Provost 1
School of Education 1
Self Study 1
Sindt, Tobey Mark 1
Swinburne, Algernon Charles, 1837-1909 1
Tyler Family 1
Tyler, Anne Baker Tucker, 1860-1921 1
Tyler, Sue Ruffin 1
Umbeck, Sharvy 1
United States Air Force 1
Virginia Historical Society 1
Virginia House of Delegates 1
Virginia. High Court of Chancery 1
Wakefield National Memorial Association 1
Woodbridge, Dudley Warner, 1896-1969 1
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 1
∧ less