Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 291 - 300 of 329

Unknown Confederate Soldier Letter, to "My Dear Sister"

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00297
Scope and Contents Letter from Samuel T. [?], Camp Elliott Hill, [Tenn.?], to "My Dear Sister," no place. He is responding to her two letters. He's glad the enemy didn't get as far as their house. He hears the people were treated badly along their route. He mentions "semi skirmishing with Philip Henry Sheridan and the number of candidates for "even the smallest offices" and tells of 16 deserters in the brigade. He hears that the army has started recruiting negroes and fears they will not be "much advantage to...

Unknown Union Soldier Letter, "Burt H." to "Charles"

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00353
Scope and Contents

A letter written by a Union soldier, Burt H., to "Charles" while at camp near Yorktown, Virginia, discusses the construction of a new road so they can take the rebels. He notes that they say it is a harder place to take than Richmond. He notes that there are one hundred and a thousand men with us and McClellan at the head.

Unknown Union Soldier Letter, from "Renton"

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00356
Scope and Contents

A letter from a Maryland-native soldier, Renton, while in Franklin County, North Carolina about going home.

Unknown Union Soldier Letter to Catherine G. Cooke

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00339
Scope and Contents

A letter from a soldier, 1st Mass. Mounted Riders, Williamsburg, Va., to his sweetheart, Catherine G. Cooke, Richmond, Mass., regarding his reenlistment. He and hopes that the war won't last any longer than 15 months more.

Unknown Union Soldier Letter to "Esteemed Friend Jenny"

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00444
Scope and Contents

A letter from Will H., Battery B, 1st NY Artillery, 5th Army Corps, to "Esteemed Friend Jenny," describes the Petersburg mine assault. It was written the day after the Battle of the Crater.

Unknown Union Soldier Letter to Joseph Lamb

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00348
Scope and Contents

A letter from a 2nd Vermont Regiment soldier [possibly Almond F. Worcester, Jr.] to Joseph Lamb describes the entire Yorktown campaign. He discusses the first encounter with Rebels, the retreat to Newport News, and the seige of Yorktown.

Unknown Union Soldier Letter to "Uncle George"

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00428
Scope and Contents The letter from Carl B., camp at Beverly Ford, Virginia, to Uncle George, no place, describes his three pen and ink sketches. The drawings depict the camp reading room, a black man attached to the Brigade Headquarters carrying water, and a humorous incident involving 11 conscripts who had arrived for the 118th P.Vs. and 18th and 22nd Mass. Regt. He looks forward to a camp dance. He rejoices over Union possession of Morris Island and the attack on Ft. Sumter. He urges Charleston be burned and...

Unknown Union Soldier Letters, from "Mac"

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00346
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of two letters from a Union Soldier, signed as "Mac". The first letter is addressed to "Friend Harry" and written from Camp Hooker detailing the end of a Rebel blockade after the shelling of a Rebel battery by a Union gunboat, dated December 12, 1861. The second letter is incomplete, but provides a detailed description of an unknown combat operation, which is undated. Mac was possibly a member of the 1st Massachusetts.

Elizabeth Van Lew Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 V32
Scope and Contents Papers, 1854-1926, collected by John Albree in preparing lectures on Elizabeth Van Lew. Includes letters, notes, newspaper clippings, and photographs. Includes typed copies of her scrapbook. Collection also includes material concerning Jefferson Davis and Civil War letters from North Carolina. Acc. 2000.54 is microfilm of the collection. Folders 1-10 of the Elizabeth Van Lew Papers are available in Swem Library’s microforms area on 1 reel of microfilm, call number E608 .V34...

Virginia Cities Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82ci
Scope and Contents

Artificial collection of papers relating to various cities in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Filtered By

  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 277
Correspondence 101
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 41
Financial records 34
Diaries 32
∨ more
Legal documents 28
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 27
Photographs 26
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 23
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives--Union. 20
Account books 19
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 17
Receipts (financial records) 16
Williamsburg, Battle of, Williamsburg, Va., 1862 16
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives 15
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 13
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 13
Typescripts 12
Letters (correspondence) 11
Poems 11
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 11
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 11
Scrapbooks 11
United States-- History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Veterans 10
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives, Confederate. 10
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 10
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 9
Manuscripts (document genre) 9
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 9
Genealogy 8
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia 8
Reports 8
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Hospitals 8
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Prisoners and prisons 8
United States--History--War of 1812 8
United States--Politics and Government 8
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 8
Gettysburg, Battle of, Gettysburg, Pa., 1863 7
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 7
United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865 7
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 7
United States--Slavery 7
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 7
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 6
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 31st 6
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 6
Military discharges--1860-1870. 6
North Carolina--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 6
Orders (military records) 6
Publications 6
Speeches 6
Transcripts 6
West Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 6
Agendas (administrative records) 5
American poetry--19th century 5
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 5
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 5
Maps 5
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 5
Notebooks 5
Siege of Petersburg, Va. (Richmond-Petersburg Campaign), 1864-1865 5
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 5
Virginia--History--19th century 5
Virginia--Maps 5
Bull Run, 2nd Battle of, Va.,1862 4
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 4
Courts-martial and courts of inquiry--United States 4
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Georgia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Military records 4
Newspapers 4
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Pamphlets 4
Photostats 4
Portsmouth (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Slavery--Southern States--History 4
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives. 4
United States. Navy--History--Civil War 4
Virginia--Genealogy 4
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 4
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 4
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 4
Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 3
Agriculture--Virginia--History 3
Antietam, Battle of, Md., 1862 3
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Certificates 3
Chancellorsville (Va.), Battle of, 1863 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 13th 3
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 1st. 3
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 3
Diplomas 3
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Fair Oaks (Henrico County, Va.), Battle of, 1862 3
∧ less
 
Language
French 3
German 2
Italian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 10
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 7
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 5
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 5
McCausland, John 5
∨ more
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 4
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 4
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 4
Tucker family 4
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 4
Tyler Family 4
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 4
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 3
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 3
Coalter family 3
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 3
Coleman family 3
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 3
Hill, D. H. (Daniel Harvey), 1821-1889 3
Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 3
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 3
Jenkins, Albert Gallatin 3
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 3
Taliaferro family 3
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 3
Washington family 3
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 3
Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 2
Braxton family 2
Brown family 2
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 2
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 2
Confederate States of America. Army. 2
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 2
Fitzhugh family 2
Fitzhugh, H. 2
Floyd, John Buchanan, 1806-1863 2
Gilmer, Thomas Walker 2
Harrison family 2
Hughes family. 2
Hughes, Robert William 2
Humboldt, Alexander von, 1769-1859 2
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 2
Johnson, Bradley T., b. 1829 2
Lee family 2
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 2
Loring, William Wing 2
Mason, J. M. (James Murray), 1798-1871 2
Powell, Charles Leven (1804-1896) 2
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 2
Robertson Hospital (Richmond, Va.) 2
Robinson, John M. (John Moncure), 1835-1893 2
Rogers, Powell Burwell, 1909-1976 2
Taliaferro family. 2
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 2
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 2
Tucker, Nathaniel Beverley, 1820-1890 2
Tucker-Coleman Family 2
Tyler family 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 2
United States Senate 2
University of Virginia 2
Virginia House of Delegates 2
Whig Party (U.S.) 2
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 2
Adams, J. M. 1
Adee, Etta 1
Albree, John 1
Alfriend, Frank H., 1841-1887 1
Alfriend, Frank Heath 1
Allen, James H. 1
Allison White and Company 1
Allkind, John O. 1
Anderson Gallery 1
Anthony, Charles Lewis 1
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities--History. 1
Atlanta (Ironclad) 1
Aubin, Joshua Harris 1
Austin family 1
Austin, Archibald, 1772-1837 1
Ballantine, Elisha (Rev.) 1
Ballentine family 1
Barker Family 1
Barker family 1
Barker, John H 1
Barker, John H. 1
Barksdale, Claiborne G 1
Barron, James, 1769-1851 1
Battaile family 1
Baytop family 1
Baytop, Lucy Taliaferro Catlett 1
Bedford County (Va.). Sheriff 1
Beeckman, Margaret Gardiner, d. 1857 1
∧ less