Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 161 - 170 of 321

Johnston H. Skelly Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00331
Scope and Contents A letter by Johnston .H. Skelly, New Kent Court House, to his wife about the Battle of Williamsburg and the Peninsular Campaign. He witnesses the burning of the Merrimack [CSS Virginia].

Joseph E. Johnston Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 J63
Scope and Contents Papers of Joseph E. Johnston, C.S.A. General during the American Civil War, including correspondence which reflect his long military career and interest in his nephews, John Warfield Johnston and John Preston Johnston. The papers include a diary, 1857, of Johnston's survey of the southern boundary of Kansas and eighteen volumes of Civil War dispatches and telegrams. The collection also includes a diary, 1 May-31 July 1864, of Thomas B. Mackall; letters received by Louis...

Johnston to Capt. William G. Taliaferro Letter (Photostat)

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01248
Scope and Contents Photocopy of letter from Johnston in Lexington, Kentucky to William G. Taliaferro in Bowling Green, Virginia about the end of the American Civil War and Reconstruction. September 30, 1867.

Jonah H. Lupton Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af25 Oversize
Scope and Contents Account book, 1816-1875, of Jonah H. Lupton, merchant and farmer. Included in the volume are notes on livestock, home remedies, and the birth of children. Also included are Civil War notes, 1861-1862, concerning feeding the troops, the Union occupation of Winchester on 12 March 1862, and Jackson and his men.

Edward R. Jones, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01262
Scope and Contents Letters, 1861-1898, bulk, 1861-1864, of Edward R. Jones, Jr. of Co. K, 95th Penn. Vols. (Col. John M. Gosline's Penn. Zouaves) written to his mother, aunt, cousin, and William Butt, Jr. Letters were written from Virginia, Maryland, and Washington, D.C. and describe camp-life, battle, express his views on the war, and discuss family affairs. Includes a description of John S. Mosby's Partisan Rangers and Jones' part at the Battle of Fredericksburg (1862). He also discusses battle conditions at...

Jones Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 J71
Scope and Contents Papers, 1826-1916, of the Jones family of "Land's End," Gloucester County, Virginia, and related families of Curtis, Taliaferro, Page and Harrison. Includes correspondence, genealogical notes, obituaries, legal files, real estate material, notes concerning Land's End, Petsworth Parish (Gloucester County), Yorktown, and the homes of the Cringan family and the Mackenzie family, ; and Bible records of the Jones and Fauntleroy families. The first two accessions, which compose the bulk...

John William Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 J72
Scope and Contents Letters, 1875-1893, received by John William Jones, Richmond, Va. as secretary of the Southern Historical Society. Most of the letters concern the Civil War. Correspondents include Edward Porter Alexander, Jubal A. Early, Horace Edwin Hayden, Andrew Atkinson Humphreys, Joseph E. Johnston, Charles Colcock Jones (concerning his A Roster of General Officers), Dabney H. Maury, Charles Landon Carter Minor, William Gordon McCabe, H. B. McClellan (concerning the twenty-fifth reunion at Gettysburg,...

Joseph B. Gorsuch Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00324
Scope and Contents One notebook of Civil War letters of Capt. Joseph B. Gorsuch, Ohio Volunteers, including an account of the siege of Vicksburg, dated 1863-1864. Typed copies. The location of originals is unknown.

J.S.E. McGhee Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00277
Scope and Contents Letter from J.S.E. McGhee, Camp Carolina, Norfolk, Va., to his uncle [?], no place. The letter describes camp life and fortifications at Craney Island from where he could see the "Enemy". Other locations mentioned include Sewells Point, Spinners [Pinners] Point, the marine hospital and Fort Norfolk, which are "in good order for meeting the Northern vessels". He heard that Yankees had landed at Ocean View, Va. and he expresses his disrespect for them. He sends greetings to family members.

J.T. Kerby Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00299
Scope and Contents Letter from J.T. Kerby, V. District, Eastern Prison, Cell No. 3, to Brigadier General John Henry Winder, Commanding Departartment, Henrico. He hears that a committee of the House of Representatives is about to look into the prison. He writes to an officer who "entertains a strong prejudice" against him to tell of the unjust and inhumane punishments inflicted upon Southern Soldiers there. He desires an interview with Winder or his adjutant Capt. Pegram.

Filtered By

  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 10
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 7
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 5
McCausland, John 5
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 4
∨ more
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 4
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 4
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 4
Tyler Family 4
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 4
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 3
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 3
Coalter family 3
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 3
Hill, D. H. (Daniel Harvey), 1821-1889 3
Hope, James Barron, 1829-1887 3
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 3
Jenkins, Albert Gallatin 3
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 3
Taliaferro family 3
Tucker family 3
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 3
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 3
Washington family 3
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Wise, Henry A. (Henry Alexander), 1806-1876 3
Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 2
Braxton family 2
Brown family 2
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 2
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 2
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 2
Coleman family 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 2
Confederate States of America. Army. 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 2
Fitzhugh family 2
Fitzhugh, H. 2
Floyd, John Buchanan, 1806-1863 2
Gilmer, Thomas Walker 2
Harrison family 2
Hughes family. 2
Hughes, Robert William 2
Humboldt, Alexander von, 1769-1859 2
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 2
Johnson, Bradley T., b. 1829 2
Lee family 2
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 2
Loring, William Wing 2
Mason, J. M. (James Murray), 1798-1871 2
Powell, Charles Leven (1804-1896) 2
Robertson Hospital (Richmond, Va.) 2
Robinson, John M. (John Moncure), 1835-1893 2
Rogers, Powell Burwell, 1909-1976 2
Taliaferro family. 2
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 2
Tucker, Nathaniel Beverley, 1820-1890 2
Tyler family 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 2
United States Senate 2
University of Virginia 2
Virginia House of Delegates 2
Whig Party (U.S.) 2
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 2
Adams, J. M. 1
Adee, Etta 1
Albree, John 1
Alfriend, Frank H., 1841-1887 1
Alfriend, Frank Heath 1
Allen, James H. 1
Allison White and Company 1
Allkind, John O. 1
Anderson Gallery 1
Anthony, Charles Lewis 1
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities--History. 1
Atlanta (Ironclad) 1
Aubin, Joshua Harris 1
Austin family 1
Austin, Archibald, 1772-1837 1
Ballantine, Elisha (Rev.) 1
Ballentine family 1
Barker Family 1
Barker family 1
Barker, John H 1
Barker, John H. 1
Barksdale, Claiborne G 1
Battaile family 1
Baytop family 1
Baytop, Lucy Taliaferro Catlett 1
Bedford County (Va.). Sheriff 1
Beeckman, Margaret Gardiner, d. 1857 1
Benjamin, Mary A 1
Blanchard, Albert G. 1
Blankenship family 1
Blayton, James Blaine, Sr., (Dr.) 1
Bobbett, James 1
∧ less