Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 10

Armistead Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Ar5
Scope and Contents

Copies of papers concerning the Armistead family of Williamsburg, Va. Includes copies of wills; letter of R. T. Armistead concerning his Civil War record; Confederate passes issued to Robert H. Armistead and his oath of allegiance to United States. Includes copies of letters of Cynthia Beverley (Tucker) Coleman and printed circular of Female Seminary, Williamsburg, Va.

Bucktrout-Smith Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00142
Scope and Contents Papers of Richard M. Bucktrout, merchant and mortician in Williamsburg, Virginia. Includes correspondence, receipts, financial papers, records of soldiers killed at the Battle of Williamsburg and legal papers, dated 1855 to 1869. List of deaths at the Seminary Hospital from July to November 1861 in Williamsburg, Virginia and coffins made for soldiers dying in Williamsburg in July-August 1861.The business papers of Sydney Smith, dated 1874 to 1929.Lists names of people...

Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00007
Scope and Contents

The collection contains the papers of Williamsburg resident Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington Coleman and includes correspondence, Coleman's personal writings, various publications, legal and financial papers, and artifacts.

Benjamin Stoddert Ewell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Ew3
Scope and Contents This collection contains materials dated 1784-1934. It includes correspondence, legal papers, and accounts, chiefly 1830-1892, of Benjamin S. Ewell, professor at the U.S. Military Academy, Hampden-Sydney College, Washington and Lee College, and the College of William and Mary (which he served as acting president, 1848-1849, and president, 1854-1888). Letters from Ewell during the Civil War when he was assistant adjutant-general to Gen. Joseph E. Johnston are included as well. Among the...

Leonard Henley, Jr. Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00935
Scope and Contents 2002.59 This collection is composed of an account book, 1872-1873, kept by Leonard Henley, Jr. a druggist in Williamsburg, Virginia. The account book includes names of residents who had accounts. Henley's store sold other merchandise as well as medicine. 160 p. ; 35 cm. x 21 cm. 2005.19 Leonard Henley artifacts. Civil War artifacts of Dr. Leonard Henley, of Williamsburg, including candle, shoulder strap, $5 Confederate bill, minie ball, Tredegar Iron Works...

Ned Hoxie Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00531
Scope and Contents Letters 18 March and 17-30 May 1862, written by Ned Hoxie, Camp Brightwood, Washington, D.C. and Baltimore, [Va.] while serving in a Massachusetts Infantry Regiment during the American Civil War. The letters are to his parents, Mr. and Mrs. B. B. Hoxie, Northampton, Massachusetts and concern the fighting in Virginia, the occupation of a Tyler family home, and also mention picking up weapons from the Battle of Williamsburg. The letterhead is stamped with "The Shield of Liberty, 1776-1861" on...

John Adams Dix Letter to Henry A. Wise

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00649
Scope and Contents

Letter, dated April 28, 1863, from Union Major General John Adams Dix to Confederate General Henry A. Wise to stop the attacks on the Union-held insane asylum in Williamsburg, Virginia. Dix writes that, although the asylum is under the control of the Union, there have been repeated attack by officers of the Confederacy on its employees and residents. Dix also mentions he has directed General Keyes to re-occupy Williamsburg.

Lee Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children.  An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...

William H. E. Morecock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00110
Scope and Contents

Civil War correspondence, passes and orders relating to 1st Lieutenant William H.E. Morecock of the 32nd Virginia Volunteer Regiment.  Legal documents of William H. E. Morecock, mostly concerning the lawsuit in Williamsburg and James City County, McCandlish vs Warburton, during 1851 to 1853.  Correspondence and financial records of the Board of Visitors of the College of William and Mary while William H.E. Morecock was Secretary of the Board, 1877-1890.

Robert Page Waller Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad209-223
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1858-1872, of Dr. Robert Page Waller of Williamsburg, Va. Although Waller was a medical doctor, these diaries do not relate to the practice of medicine. During the period from October 1862 to July 1865, Waller lived in Lynchburg, Va. The diaries concern farming, his ill-health, family, the Civil War and Reconstruction. Note:  The diaries were numbered by Waller and some volumes are not present. Msv Ad209   Vol. 1:  August 16, 1858 to October 7, 1858...

Filtered By

  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 7
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 7
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 3
Correspondence 3
Diplomas 2
∨ more
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Poems 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Hospitals 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Williamsburg, Battle of, Williamsburg, Va., 1862 2
Account books 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
Armistead family 1
Artifacts 1
Certificates 1
Children--Death 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 1
Diaries 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 1
Female Seminary (Virginia) 1
Financial records 1
French Revolutionary Hospital (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Genealogy 1
Hampden-Sydney College 1
History of the College 1
James City County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Lawyers--Virginia--James City County 1
Legal documents 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Lynchburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Mental illness--Treatment--History 1
Mental illness--Treatment--United States 1
Mental illness--United States 1
Mentally ill--Care 1
Military records 1
Morticians 1
Newspapers 1
Notebooks 1
Orders (military records) 1
Pen drawing--19th century. 1
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 1
Pharmacists--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Pharmacy--Virginia--History 1
Photocopies 1
Photographs 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia 1
Reports 1
Schools--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Scrapbooks 1
Slavery--United States--History--19th century 1
United States Military Academy 1
United States-- History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Veterans 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Refugees 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783--Participation, French 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--Militia--History--War of 1812 1
Washington and Lee University--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Hospital 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 1
Women college students 1
Women--Education--Virginia 1
Women--Virginia--Williamsburg--Social conditions--19th century 1
Wren Building (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
∧ less
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 2
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities--History. 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1