Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Chappelear Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C38
Scope and Contents Papers, 1876-1959, of Benjamin Curtis Chappelear including manuscript and printed maps of Fauquier, Loudoun, Clarke, and Warren counties, Va.; Virginia state maps; United States Department of the Interior Geological Survey Maps of areas in Virginia and West Virginia; notes concerning land records and manuscript volumes which include account books collected by Chappelear of blacksmiths, farmers, postmasters, students, tanners, and operators of general stores. The collection also includes...

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...

Maps of Samuel Wylie Crawford

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00422
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of two maps belonging to Union Brigadier General Samuel Wylie Crawford: a Denis Callahan copy of an unfinished map of the military departments of North-eastern Virginia with roads, railroads, turnpikes, and villages indicated (1861) and a military map titled NE Virginia showing all features of terrain including homes (undated). Each map has Crawford's name on it.

General David Allen Russell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00642
Scope and Contents This collection consists of correspondence, sketches, and other material mostly related to Union General David Allen Russell during the Civil War. Included in the papers are letters from the battlefield, hand-drawn sketches of the battlefield in Yorktown, Virginia and near Petersburg on the Appomattox River, issues of the Baltimore Clipper and the Philadelphia Inquirer  newspapers regarding Fort Monroe and the Battle of...

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...

Filtered By

  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: Virginia--Maps X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Maps 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Account books 2
Correspondence 2
∨ more
Financial records 2
Genealogy 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Legal documents 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 2
Virginia Military Institute--History--19th century 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Antietam, Battle of, Md., 1862 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Blacksmithing 1
Blacksmithing--Virginia 1
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Chicago (Ill.)--History--19th century 1
Clarke County (Va.)--Maps 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Daybooks 1
Design drawings 1
Diaries 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Farm management--Virginia--History--20th century 1
Farms--Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.) 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Fauquier County (Va.)--Maps 1
Fort Monroe (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 1
General stores--Virginia 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Hopewell (Va.)--History 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Land grants--Virginia 1
Ledgers (Accounting) 1
Loudoun County (Va.)--Maps 1
Louisa County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Maps--United States 1
Medicine--Formulae, receipts, prescriptions 1
Merchants--Virginia--Fauquier County 1
Military pensions. 1
Newspapers 1
Orders (military records) 1
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 1
Petersburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Philosophy and religion 1
Photographs 1
Poems 1
Political cartoons 1
Portsmouth (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Programs 1
Publications 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
Registers (lists) 1
Registers of birth, etc 1
Reports 1
Retail trade--Virginia--History 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Roads--Virginia 1
Rosters 1
Schools--Virginia 1
Shoemakers--Virginia 1
Sketches 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Suffolk, Battle of, Va., 1863 1
Surry County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Surry County (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Tanners 1
Tanning--History--19th century 1
Technical reports 1
Transcripts 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Hospitals 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Naval operations--Confederate States 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Newspapers 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Participation, African American 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Poetry 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Regimental histories--Army of the Potomac 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Songs and music 1
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
United States--Politics and Government 1
United States--Slavery 1
∧ less
 
Names
Booth family 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
Crawford, Samuel Wylie 1
Longwood University 1
Taliaferro family 1