Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 52

Benjamin Schwartz Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00352
Scope and Contents This collection consists of letters written from or on the behalf of Benjamin Schwartz, who was stationed in Virginia with the 5th Pennsylvania Calvary, Company F. The letters primarily document a brother's concern over his family's health and money he sends to his sister. He includes limited discussion of skirmishes, troop movement, taking and being taken prisoner, and recurrent predictions that the war will end soon. Schwartz mentions that the Union camp at Williamsburg, Virginia was...

B.R. Linkous Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00290
Scope and Contents

B.R. Linkous, Sh.(?) Colonel Commanding, 36th Virginia Regiment, Camp near Charleston, W. Va., to Colonel John McCausland, Commanding 4th Brigade. Reports on the 36th Virginia regiment's march from Camp Dickinson to Charleston.



Carter Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00267
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1834-1861, of Carter Henry Harrison of Elkora, Cumberland County, Virginia. Includes letters about his father, Carter Henry Harrison, Sr., and his mother, Janetta Harrison, as well as his wife, Alice Harrison. Letters typically deal with the finances of Elkora and then with the preparations and operations of the Civil War.

Cassimere Churchill Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00406
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters from Cassimere Churchill, a member of Company E, 9th Cavalry Regiment, New York, to his family while stationed in New York, Washington, D.C. and Virginia during the Civil War. He participated in the battles of Yorktown, Virginia, and Williamsburg, Virginia as an artillery guard. He includes descriptions of Yorktown, Va., Manassas, Va. and Washington, D.C. He write about camp life and the surrounding area, as well as his opinions of the war and the Union's...

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...

George K. Dakin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00243
Scope and Contents

The papers of George K. Dakin concern his service in the Richmond, Virginia area during the Civil War. Dakin served in voluntary military service in the 1st New Hampshire Battery, from Manchester, New Hampshire, during the Civil War. The collection contains several Muster Rolls (in and out), certificates of promotions, official discharges, and a report written by Dakin's superior, F. M. Edgell, about certain operations of the 1st New Hampshire Battery.

David R. Everett Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00375
Content Description

Letter dated 1862 April 18 from Camp on Chessman's Creek addressed to his parents. Everett was in "I" company of the 7th New Jersey Volunteers, 3rd Brigade of Hooker's Division. He describes his unit's travel to Norfolk and then the Yorktown area and the anticipation of a hard battle with the Confederate troops who are assumed to be numerous and well fortified.

Charles H. Dimmock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 D59
Scope and Contents Papers, 1826-1872, of Charles Dimmock and Charles Henry Dimmock. Includes sketch of the life of Charles H. Dimmock; a manuscript volume containing a journal of a voyage from Norfolk to Madeira and farm journal of "Shabby Hall," Gloucester County, Va.; travel diary, 1826, of Charles Dimmock concerning travels in Venice and Germany; and papers concerning the service of Charles Henry Dimmock in the engineer's corps in the Confederate Army, some of which include work at Yorktown, Va. and having...

Drawing of the Oldest Church in America at Hampton, Va.

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00143
Scope and Contents Drawing done in pen and ink circa late 1862 that depicts the ruins of St. John's Episcopal Church in Hampton, Va. The label written under the drawing reads, "The oldest Church in America at Hampton, Va., destroyed with the City of Hampton by the Rebels under Gen'l Magruder. Respectfully dedicated to Col. v. Buren, Adt. Genl T. C. of A. by Charles Worret."  Another section reads, "Drawn by Lieut. Charles Worret 20th Reg. N.Y. Vols."  C. Worret is also written within the drawing on the trunk...

Henry E. Edmunds Letter to Claiborne G. Barksdale

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00619
Scope and Contents

Letter written by Henry E. Edmunds to Claiborne G. Barksdale, a member of the 14th Virginia Regiment, about the patriotic fervor of the early days of the American Civil War, shortly after Virginia ceded from the Union the month before. In the letter, Edmunds wrote of Barksdale joining the Virginia troops, how Edmunds would make a great soldier if he was younger, a local man named Townes gathering up troops to join the fight, and the great condition of the wheat crop.

Filtered By

  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 44
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 41
Correspondence 20
Diaries 10
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
∨ more
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 7
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 7
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 7
West Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 6
Account books 5
Financial records 5
Letters (correspondence) 5
Receipts (financial records) 5
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 4
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 4
Photographs 4
Siege of Petersburg, Va. (Richmond-Petersburg Campaign), 1864-1865 4
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 4
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Legal documents 3
Military records 3
Orders (military records) 3
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 3
Transcripts 3
Typescripts 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives--Union. 3
United States--Politics and Government 3
Virginia--Maps 3
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 3
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Antietam, Battle of, Md., 1862 2
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Fort Monroe (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Hampton (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Maps 2
Maryland--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Notebooks 2
Poems 2
Programs 2
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 2
Reports 2
Speeches 2
Technical reports 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Hospitals 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Songs and music 2
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 2
United States--History--War of 1812 2
United States--Slavery 2
Virginia--History 2
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 2
Virginia--Politics and Government 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Accounts 1
African Americans--History--19th century 1
African Americans--Virginia--James City County 1
African Americans--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
Appointments (military records) 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Battle of Gaines' Mill, 1862 1
Battle of Hatcher's Run, Feb. 1865 1
Battle of Locust Grove, 1862 1
Battle of Malvern Hill, 1862 1
Battle of Opequon (Third Battle of Winchester), 1864 1
Battle of South Mountain, 1862 1
Battle of West Point (Ga.), 1865 1
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Bristoe Station, Battle of, Va., 1863 1
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 1
Bull Run, 2nd Battle of, Va.,1862 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Engineer's Corps 1
Confederate States of America. Army. North Carolina Infantry Regiment, 46th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 21st--History 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 26th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 36th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 6th 1
Constitutional law--United States. 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Cumberland County (Va.) 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Essays 1
Fair Oaks (Henrico County, Va.), Battle of, 1862 1
Farm management--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Genealogy 1
Georgia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Germany--Description and travel--19th century 1
Gettysburg, Battle of, Gettysburg, Pa., 1863 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
∧ less
 
Language
German 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
Loring, William Wing 2
McCausland, John 2
Tyler Family 2
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
∨ more
Albree, John 1
Aubin, Joshua Harris 1
Barksdale, Claiborne G 1
Beeckman, Margaret Gardiner, d. 1857 1
Benjamin, Mary A 1
Booth family 1
Churchill, Cassimere, 1840-1861 1
College of William and Mary. Board of Visitors 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Volunteer Regiment, 32nd 1
Copland, Charles 1
Cox, Jesse 1
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 1
Dimmock, Charles H. (Charles Henry), 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles Henry, 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles, d. 1863 1
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 1
Edmunds, Henry E. 1
Ellis, Pearl Tyler, 1860-1947 1
Everett, David R., -1862 1
Finney, George W. 1
Finney, William A. 1
Fitzhugh, H. 1
Floyd, John Buchanan, 1806-1863 1
Galucia, Warren B., 1834-1902 1
Gardiner Family 1
Gardiner, Alexander, d. 1850 1
Gardiner, David Lyon 1
Gardiner, Juliana McLachlan, d. 1864 1
Garnett, Alexander Y. P. (Alexander Yelverton Peyton), 1820-1888 1
Gensel, Ira F. 1
Gilmer Family 1
Gilmer, Anne Baker 1
Gilmer, Thomas Walker 1
Gosport Navy Yard (Va.) 1
Harrison, Carter Henry, 1831-1861 1
Hierholzer, Joseph A 1
Hill, D. H. 1
Hill, Daniel Harvey, 1821-1889 1
Hooker, Joseph 1
Hughes family. 1
Hughes, Robert William 1
Humboldt, Alexander von, 1769-1859 1
Hunter, David 1
Hunter, John 1
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 1
Jenkins, Albert Gallatin 1
Jenkins, John H. B. 1
Johnston, Joseph Eggleston, 1807-1891 1
Jones, Andrew I. 1
Jones, Edward R., Jr. 1
Lee, Henrietta B. 1
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 1
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 1
Linkous, B.R. 1
Longwood University 1
McCandlish, Robert 1
McClellan, George Brinton 1
Morecock, William Henry Edloe 1
Morton, Thomas 1
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 1
Penny, Edward T. 1
Peter, Emmanuel 1
Peticolas, C. L. Southern Cross 1
Pollard, Joseph Lawrence 1
Pollard, Joseph P. , M.D. 1
Preston Family 1
Preston, Francis 1
Preston, John, 1764-1827 1
Robertson Hospital (Richmond, Va.) 1
Robinson Family 1
Robinson family 1
Robinson, Conway 1
Robinson, Moncure, 1802-1891 1
See Family 1
Semple, James 1
Semple, Letitia Tyler, 1821-1907 1
Skipwith, Robert 1
Spencer, Julia Gardiner Tyler, 1849-1871 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Todd family 1
Tompkins, Christopher Quarles, 1813-1877 1
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 1
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 1
Tyler family 1
Tyler, David Gardiner, 1846-1927 1
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 1
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1898 1
Tyler, Julia Gardiner, 1820-1889 1
Tyler, Lachlan, 1851-1902 1
Tyler, Letitia Christian, 1790-1842 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
Tyler, Robert Fitzwater, 1856-1927 1
∧ less