Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 25 of 50

Adam F. Carpenter Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00340

Armistead Burwell Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00344
Scope and Contents A letter from Armistead Burwell, Camp Curtis, Land's End, Virginia to his brother, discusses various aspects of their shared military experiences. He rejoices at the good news that his brother is now in winter quarters. He thinks their brother Charles should be discharged for disability. The two companies of his regiment have been moved to redoubts and rifle pits across a strip of land between the James and Warwick Rivers. He heard that the Merrimac is completed. He inquires for his...

Benjamin J. Garner Letter, 1862 May 10

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00270
Content Description

Letter from Garner to "brother" no place recorded. Garner asks for food and supplies as the cost in camp is high for even the smallest portions of food. He also mentions that his troops beat the Yankees at Yorktown and took 1300 prisoners and ran them off.

Thomas Russell Bowden Letter

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.119
Scope and Contents

Letter written by Thomas Russell Bowden to the editor of New England Magazine on May 16, 1892 in response to an article published in December 1891 as to "Why the South was defeated in the Civil War."  Bowden requests the opportunity to submit a written response to the article and includes his thoughts regarding the South and specifically Virginia as well as his longstanding familial ties to both the state, Williamsburg, and the College of William and Mary.

Charles C. Rensie Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00345
Scope and Contents

A letter from an Union soldier, Charles C., at Yorktown, Virginia, to an unknown recipient, discusses his anxiety in preparation for the siege of Yorktown.

Charles E. Turner Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00334
Scope and Contents

A letter from Charles E. Turner, Yorktown, to "Brother". He describes the skirmishes at Blackwater and Suffolk, Virginia.

David R. Everett Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00375
Content Description

Letter dated 1862 April 18 from Camp on Chessman's Creek addressed to his parents. Everett was in "I" company of the 7th New Jersey Volunteers, 3rd Brigade of Hooker's Division. He describes his unit's travel to Norfolk and then the Yorktown area and the anticipation of a hard battle with the Confederate troops who are assumed to be numerous and well fortified.

Dolly Smart Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00281
Scope and Contents Letter from Dolly Smart, 16th Virginia, Camp Huger, Norfolk Harbor, Va., to "Cousin Mollie", no place. Dolly is glad to hear she "and the rest" are enjoying good health. He is in winter quarters at last and thinks Mollie's uncle would enjoy spending a week or so there. General William Mahone has stopped all furloughs home and he expects an attack soon. France and England will lift the blockade if "Old Abe" has not whipped us in twenty two days. Several from the artillery companies went...

Henry E. Edmunds Letter to Claiborne G. Barksdale

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00619
Scope and Contents

Letter written by Henry E. Edmunds to Claiborne G. Barksdale, a member of the 14th Virginia Regiment, about the patriotic fervor of the early days of the American Civil War, shortly after Virginia ceded from the Union the month before. In the letter, Edmunds wrote of Barksdale joining the Virginia troops, how Edmunds would make a great soldier if he was younger, a local man named Townes gathering up troops to join the fight, and the great condition of the wheat crop.

Edward T. Penny Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00373

Frank C. Park Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00332
Scope and Contents

Letter from Frank C. Park, an Union soldier, while in Williamsburg, to his family about the Battle of Williamsburg. He served with the 10th Massachusetts Regiment. He describes the fighting, the dead and the wounded. Typescript is included.

George Ivy Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00308
Scope and Contents

Letter from George Ivy, Chimborazo Hospital, 4th Division, Ward 6, near Richmond, Va., to "Dear Wife," no place. He replies to her letter and tells her not to sell the land or the cow until he returns home. He sends regards to Mr. Childress and Mr. Casey.

George L. Hersum Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00354
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of letters written by George L. Hersum, Sergeant in the 5th New Hampshire Infantry, Company A, to his wife, while he was stationed in or near Alexandria, Richmond, Yorktown, Harrison's Landing, and Falmouth, Virginia.

George M. Waddy Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00284
Scope and Contents

The collection contains letters from Confederate soldier George M. Waddy to various family members. He discusses the details of camp life and anticipates impending action from the Union Army.

Harman A. Hiner Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00298
Scope and Contents

Letter from Harman A. Hiner, camp near Fredericksburg, Spotsylvania County, Va., to Miss Victoria Jane Wilson, Wilsonville, Highland County, Va. He will send her a camp song about a man who came into camp to sell eggs. He talked with some Yankees when he was on picket duty and some said the war would be over in the fall. He relates tales of "warlike" activities in camp. He mentions he and the boys are getting their pictures taken.

Henry Alexander Scandrett Civil War Diary

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00144
Scope and Contents Civil War diary of Henry Alexander Scandrett dated 1862. The front of the diary has the entry from January 7, 1862 written through Thursday, January 9, "Monday 5th of May. Was in my first battle today. About 1 o'clock PM our regiment was marched into the field.  We were thrown in advance and through some blunder was not reinforced.  We have lost all our company officers and our field officers are all wounded.  With fifteen others I was taken prisoner and am now in William and Mary College." ...

Horatio S. Carnrite Diary

 Collection — Box: Small Collections Box 117
Identifier: SC 01714
Content Description

The civil war diary of Horatio S. Carnrite, who enlisted in the 184th regiment of the New York State Volunteers. This collection contains the 134 page diary along with a 56 page handwritten transcription. There are a few mentions of Black cavalry movements.

Content warning: contains language that is derogatory towards people enslaved, as well as towards people of color.

Houstater Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00246
Scope and Contents Papers of the Houstater Family, primarily of Henry Houstater (1837-1862) and Harriet (Hattie) Houstater (1842-1931) of New York State. The collection was held by Harriet Houstater. After her death, her sister Sarah Houstater owned it.The collection includes the papers of Henry F. Houstater, a Democrat who enlisted in the Union Army in 1861. It also contains the papers of several Houstater family members. Henry F. Houstater's papers (1840s-1862) include political speeches and...

J. F. Carson Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00317
Scope and Contents

Letter from J. F. Carson, Camp, 1st NC Cavalry, near Bellfield, Va. to [?]. He reports that he is well, tired of war, and that some "rowdy boys" tried to relieve the guard but Maj. McCloud came down and quieted the. He tells of the men's reaction to reports of peace. He hopes to hear soon that the Confederacy is "free and independent". Capt. White of Warren was the successful Knight at the "grand tournament".

J.F. Flemming Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00305
Scope and Contents Letter from J.F. Flemming, Head Quarters, 49th Regiment, to James H. Greenlee, Turkey Cove Rd., McDowell County, N.C. He reports that they have been "laying around here for two months doing nothing". The Army of Northern Virginia is drawn up to battle on the Rapidan. JEB Stuart's cavalry had a skirmish with them a few days ago. There are rumors of the enemy being in Tennessee are all true. He mentions rumors of the whereabouts of Rosecrans' and Longstreets' men, and the fighting in...

John H. Leeth Letter

 File
Identifier: SC 00320
Scope and Contents

Letter from John H. Leeth [?], no place to [?]. He lists various food items and their costs. He saw Bob as he was leaving the regiment. He sends his regards and hopes the recipient will write. Incomplete.

Johnston H. Skelly Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00331
Scope and Contents

A letter by Johnston .H. Skelly, New Kent Court House, to his wife about the Battle of Williamsburg and the Peninsular Campaign. He witnesses the burning of the Merrimack [CSS Virginia].

Joseph B. Gorsuch Letters

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00324
Scope and Contents

One notebook of Civil War letters of Capt. Joseph B. Gorsuch, Ohio Volunteers, including an account of the siege of Vicksburg, dated 1863-1864. Typed copies. The location of originals is unknown.

J.S.E. McGhee Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00277
Scope and Contents

Letter from J.S.E. McGhee, Camp Carolina, Norfolk, Va., to his uncle [?], no place. The letter describes camp life and fortifications at Craney Island from where he could see the "Enemy". Other locations mentioned include Sewells Point, Spinners [Pinners] Point, the marine hospital and Fort Norfolk, which are "in good order for meeting the Northern vessels". He heard that Yankees had landed at Ocean View, Va. and he expresses his disrespect for them. He sends greetings to family members.

Laura Lee Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D26
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1862-1865, of Laura Lee, Winchester, Virginiaa. (?) entitled "A History of Our Captivity," discussing in detail movements of, and occupation by Union forces. The volume also includes lists of persons who died during the Civil War.

The material can also be viewed on microfilm: Laura Lee Diary, Winchester, VA 1862-1865, in Swem Library’s microforms area, 1 reel, call number E605 .L44

Filtered By

  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 37
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives--Union. 21
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives 15
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives, Confederate. 10
Williamsburg, Battle of, Williamsburg, Va., 1862 5
∨ more
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Personal narratives. 4
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 4
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 2
Diaries 2
Photographs 2
Poems 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Diaries 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 2
American Civil War, 1861-1865 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Cedar Mountain, Battle of, Va., 1862. 1
Chimborazo Hospital (Richmond, Va.) 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Confederate States of America. Army 1
Confederate States of America. Army. North Carolina Cavalry Regiment, 1st 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Cavalry Regiment, 16th 1
Correspondence 1
Falmouth (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Lewisburg (W. Va.) 1
Merrimack (Frigate) 1
Mount Vernon (Va.) 1
New York (State)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
New York (State)--Social life and customs 1
Newport News (Va.) 1
Norfolk (Va.) 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 1
Poetry 1
Portsmouth (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865. 1
Scrapbooks 1
Seven Day's Battles, Va., 1862 1
Slavery--Virginia--History 1
Soldiers--United States--Correspondence 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Campaigns 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Niagara County, NY 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Poetry 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Prisoners and prisons 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Sources 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Cavalry Regiment, 1st (1861-1865) 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 10th (1861-1864) 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 22nd (1861-1864) 1
United States. Army. New Hampshire Infantry Regiment, 5th (1861-1865) 1
United States. Army. New York Infantry Regiment, 70th (1861-1864) 1
United States. Army. New York Infantry Regiment, 99th (1861-1865) 1
United States. Army. Ohio Infantry Regiment, 83rd (1862-1865) 1
United States. Army. Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment, 101st (1861-1865) 1
United States. Army. Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment, 194th. Company A 1
United States. Army. Rhode Island Infantry Regiment, 12th (1862-1863) 1
Vicksburg (Miss.)--History--Siege, 1863. 1
Virginia (Ironclad) 1
Winchester (Va.)--History--19th century 1
World War, 1939-1945--Japan--Pictorial works 1
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 1
World War, 1939-1945--United States--Personal narratives 1
∧ less
 
Names
Aubin, Joshua Harris 1
Barksdale, Claiborne G 1
Carnrite, Horatio S., Private (1838) 1
Carson, J.F. 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1