Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 9 of 9

Brown, Coalter, Tucker Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B85
Scope and Contents Papers, 1780-1929, of the Brown, Coalter, Tucker families including the papers of John Coalter (1769-1838), Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia, and John Thompson Brown (1802-1836), member of the Virginia House of Delegates.Among the correspondents are Maria (Rind) Coalter, St. George Tucker, William Munford, Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter, St. George Tucker Coalter, Frances Bland (Coalter) Brown, the Rev. Moses D. Hoge, and Henry Peronneau Brown.This...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Campbell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C16
Scope and Contents Papers of four generations of the Campbell family of Orange Co., Va. including correspondence of William Campbell (1755-1823). His papers pertain to Revolutionary pensions, bounty land claims, the War of 1812, his superintendency of the Virginia State Penitentary, and his estate and includes a diary of a trip to Kentucky in 1798. There are also papers (correspondence and accounts) of his wife, Mrs. Susan Campbell and their children. The collection includes papers of the Graves family and...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Augustus C. Golding Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 G56
Scope and Contents This collection contains the papers, dated 1859-1934, but mainly 1862-1864, of Augustus C. Golding (also spelled as Goldin and , Golden). It includes letters, a letterbook, diaries, documents, pension papers, printed materials, and photographs. All items relate to Golding's service in the Union Army, 1861-1864, in Northern Virginia, on the Virginia peninsula, and in Maryland. Golding's letters to family and friends describe troop movements, battles, camp conditions, his health, a hospital,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Maury Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 97 M44
Scope and Contents Papers, 1777-1977, of the Maury Family of Virginia, New York City and Liverpool, Eng. Includes letters and business papers of James Maury (1746-1840), the first American consul to Liverpool, England, and the letters of his second wife, Margaret Rutson Maury (1805-1882), of Liverpool. A significant amount of the collection is comprised of letters, business papers, legal papers, and diaries of  the next two generations of the Maury family, including Ann Maury (1832-1890) of Liverpool and New...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Ritchie-Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R51
Scope and Contents Papers, 1807-1938, but mainly 1830-1870, of the Ritchie and Harrison families. Includes letters, documents and a diary of members of the family of Thomas Ritchie, his wife Isabella (Foushee) Ritchie and ten of their twelve children of Richmond, Va., "Brandon," Prince George County, Va. and Washington, D.C. There are letters, 1847-1848, of Dr. Robert Ruffin Ritchie in Mexico and letters, 1849-1860, of George Ritchie while serving in the United States Navy. Many prominent...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tucker-Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 40 T79
Scope and Contents Papers, primarily 1770-1907, of the Tucker and Coleman families of Williamsburg, Winchester, Lexington, Staunton and Richmond, including papers of: St. George Tucker (1752-1827), Nathaniel Beverley Tucker (1784-1851), Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Ann Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter (1779-1813), John Coalter (1769-1838), and John Randolph of Roanoke (commonplace book is in box 64B), as well as other family members. Members of the family were involved in law, politics,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Tyler Family Papers, Group A

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: Financial records X
  • Subject: Diaries X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 8
Diaries 8
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 8
Legal documents 7
Receipts (financial records) 6
∨ more
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 4
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 4
Photographs 3
United States--History--War of 1812 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Account books 2
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 2
Genealogy 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Maps 2
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 2
Reports 2
Transcripts 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 2
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 2
United States--Politics and Government 2
United States--Religious History--Christianity 2
United States--Slavery 2
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Virginia--Politics and Government 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Agendas (administrative records) 1
American Revolution--Veterans 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Antietam, Battle of, Md., 1862 1
Architecture, Domestic--Virginia 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Bounties, Military--United States 1
Bull Run, 2nd Battle of, Va.,1862 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Campaigns 1
Canal Zone 1
Chancellorsville (Va.), Battle of, 1863 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Commonplace books 1
Compromise of 1850 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 13th 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 1
Cookery, American 1
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Destruction and pillage 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Embargo, 1807-1809 1
Equipment and supplies 1
Executors and administrators--Virginia--History--19th century 1
France--Foreign relations--1792-1815 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Hospitals 1
Invoices 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Kentucky--Description and travel 1
Liverpool (England)--History--19th century 1
Louisa County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Malvern Hill (Va.), Battle of, 1862 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Maps--United States 1
Medicine--History--19th century 1
Military pensions. 1
New York (N.Y.)--History--19th century 1
Newspapers--History--19th century 1
Oceanography--19th century 1
Orange County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Orange County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Orders (military records) 1
Oregon History To 1859 1
Patronage, Political--United States--History 1
Pensions, Military--United States--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
Personal narratives 1
Petersburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Philosophy and religion 1
Poems 1
Political cartoons 1
Portsmouth (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Presidents--United States--Election--1844 1
Presidents--United States--Election--1848 1
Princeton University--History 1
Printers--District of Columbia 1
Prisons--Virginia 1
Programs 1
Publications 1
Recipes 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
Regimental histories 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
∧ less
 
Language
French 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 2
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 2
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 2
Tucker 2
∨ more
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 2
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 2
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 2
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Booth family 1
Brown family 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 1
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 1
Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 1
Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Susan, Mrs. 1
Campbell, William, 1755-1823 1
Coalter family 1
Coalter, Judith H. Tomlin, d. 1859 1
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 1
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 1
Coleman family 1
Coleman, Emma Cornelia Parran 1
Coleman, Reuben Lindsay 1
Coulter family 1
Ellis, Pearl Tyler, 1860-1947 1
Golden family 1
Graves family 1
Harrison family 1
Hill, A. P. (A. Powell) 1
Hoge, Moses Drury, 1818-1899 1
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 1
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 1
Longwood University 1
Magurk, M. E. 1
Mason, J. M. (James Murray), 1798-1871 1
Maury family 1
Maury, James, Sr., 1718-1769 1
Munford, William, 1775-1825 1
Parran, William S., d. 1862 1
Pendleton, William Nelson, 1809-1883 1
Pleasants, John Hampden, 1797-1846 1
Randolph, Judith Randolph, fl. 1792-1813 1
Ritchie family 1
Ritchie family. 1
Ritchie, Anna Cora Ogden Mowatt, 1819-1870 1
Ritchie, Thomas, 1778-1854 1
Rives, William C. (William Cabell), 1793-1868 1
Semple, James 1
Semple, Letitia Tyler, 1821-1907 1
Spencer, Julia Gardiner Tyler, 1849-1871 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Todd family 1
Tucker, John Randolph, 1823-1897 1
Tucker, Lelia Skipwith Carter, 1767-post 1833 1
Tucker-Coleman Family 1
Tyler Family 1
Tyler family 1
Tyler, David Gardiner, 1846-1927 1
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 1
Tyler, Julia Gardiner, 1820-1889 1
Tyler, Lachlan, 1851-1902 1
Tyler, Letitia Christian, 1790-1842 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
Tyler, Robert Fitzwater, 1856-1927 1
Tyler, Robert, 1816-1878 1
Tyler, Tazewell, 1830-1874 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 10th 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 1st 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 22nd 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Mounted Rifles, 1st 1
United States. Army. New York Infantry Regiment, 70th 1
United States. Army. Ohio Volunteers 1
United States. Army. Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment, 101st 1
United States. Army. Rhode Island Volunteers, 2nd 1
United States. Army. Vermont Infantry Regiment, 2nd 1
Whittle (Bishop) 1
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 1
∧ less