Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 8 of 8

Beverley Randolph Tucker Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00014
Scope and Contents

The collection includes material, such as correspondence, poetry, photographs, and miscellaneous item relating to Dr. Beverley Randolph Tucker and his parents, John Randolph Tucker and Fanny Crump Tucker. Topics covered include religion, education, the legal and medical professions, the American Civil War, and Reconstruction.

Catlett Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.28
Scope and Contents Catlett family papers of Caroline County, Virginia. Correspondence that reflects the hard times in Virginia following the Civil War. Collection contains 72 original letters. Written by various extended family members, the majority of the letters are addressed to Arthur Catlett, a former Confederate Soldier and Virginia resident who moved to Texas shortly after the Civil War. Transcriptions for almost all letters, provided by the collection's donor, Elizabeth Jean Voss, are included....

Fitzhugh Lee Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01268
Scope and Contents Letters written from Lee to Manning Marius Kimmel, a fellow Confederate officer and to other acquaintances concerning former Confederate officers, Reconstruction and Kimmel's experiences fighting as a mercenary with Maximilian in Mexico. Includes letter, 4 November 1875, discussing the participation of blacks in the dedication of the equestrian statue of Stonewall Jackson on Monument Avenue in Richmond and the typescript of the speech, 11 August 1875, made by W. H. Payne when nominating Lee...

John Letcher Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01066
Scope and Contents

Papers; 1860-1875; of John Letcher, governor of Virginia, 1860-1864. Includes appointment, 1860, of justices of the peace for Augusta County, Virginia signed by Letcher; and letters, November 3, 1864-September 3, 1865, of Letcher, Lexington Virginia to Joseph A. Hierholzer, Richmond, Virginia. Three of the letters are negative photocopies.

Merritt Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 M55
Scope and Contents Papers (including business and personal correspondence and accounts) of William H.E. Merritt, of Brunswick and Greensville counties, Va. who was a lawyer, member of the Virginia House of Delegates and editor of the "Richmond Whig"and his brothers Dr. Alexander T.B. Merritt of Hicksford, Greensville County,Va. and John F.W. Merritt of Vicksburg, Miss. The collection includes letters, 8 January and 29 March 1857, written by John Minor Botts and accounts of William H.E. Merritt &...

Powell Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 P875
Scope and Contents Letters and papers of Charles Leven Powell, his wife Selina (Lloyd) Powell and children of Loudoun County, Virginia; Henry, Illinois; Winchester, Virginia; and Alexandria, Virginia. There are also included papers of Charles Leven Powell's father, Cuthbert Powell. Prominent correspondents include Johns Hopkins, Eleanor Agnes Lee, Fitzhugh Lee, George Washington Custis Lee, Mary Anna Randolph (Custis) Lee, Hunter Holmes McGuire and James Monroe. Letters concern Robert Young...

Robert Page Waller Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad209-223
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1858-1872, of Dr. Robert Page Waller of Williamsburg, Va. Although Waller was a medical doctor, these diaries do not relate to the practice of medicine. During the period from October 1862 to July 1865, Waller lived in Lynchburg, Va. The diaries concern farming, his ill-health, family, the Civil War and Reconstruction. Note:  The diaries were numbered by Waller and some volumes are not present. Msv Ad209   Vol. 1:  August 16, 1858 to October 7, 1858...

Nathaniel V. Watkins Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 W32 and 2008.306
Scope and Contents Letters, chiefly 1862-1865, written by Nathaniel Venable Watkins to his wife Nancy Daniel Watkins. During the Civil War, Watkins served with Co. H, 4th Virginia Heavy Artillery, which became part of the 34th Virginia Infantry Regiment. Watkins appeared to have saw little combat, spending much of his time in defensive positions guarding artillery batteries. His unit was stationed at Gloucester Point (during the Peninsular Campaign), near Richmond (Chaffin's Bluff) and near Petersburg. His...

Filtered By

  • Subject: United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia X
  • Subject: Virginia X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 6
Correspondence 5
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 3
United States-- History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Veterans 2
African Americans 1
∨ more
African Americans--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
American poetry--19th century 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Cavalry Regiment, 3rd 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 34th 1
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Diaries 1
Farms--Texas--History--19th century 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Financial records 1
Freedmen--Virginia--History 1
Granville County (N.C.)--History--19th century 1
Greensville County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Horses--United States--History--19th century 1
Horses--Virginia 1
Jackson Statue (Richmond, Va.) 1
Kilpatrick-Dahlgren Raid, Va., 1864 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Brunswick County 1
Lawyers--Virginia--Greensville County 1
Lawyers--Virginia--History 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Lexington (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Lynchburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 1
Photographs 1
Photostats 1
Practice of law--Virginia--History 1
Prince Edward County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Property tax 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.)--History 1
Slavery--Mississippi--History 1
Slavery--Southern States--History 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Speeches, addresses, etc. 1
Texas--History--19th century 1
Transcripts 1
United States--Slavery 1
Vicksburg (Miss.)--History 1
Virginia 1
Virginia--Cotton Farms--19th century 1
Virginia--Governors 1
Virginia--History 1
Virginia--History--19th century 1
Virginia--History--20th century 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Washington and Lee University--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Women--United States--History--19th century 1
∧ less
 
Names
Ballantine, Elisha (Rev.) 1
Ballentine family 1
Battaile family 1
Catlett family 1
Daniel family 1