Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Luttrell-Cooke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 L97
Scope and Contents Personal papers and business accounts; 1820-1900; of the Luttrell and Cooke families of Rappahannock and Culpeper Counties. Includes correspondence (personal and business) between Luttrell and Cooke families, the Garth family, Ficklen family, and family in West Virginia. Papers discuss Buchanan's inauguration, Sons of Temperance, and the difficulties of a doctor trying to establish a practice at Bridgewater, Va. Also includes letters; 1853-1859; from family in Missouri which discuss living...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Manuscripts - People and Family Names

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.2 Man3a
Scope and Contents An artificial collection of papers created from material acquired during the 1930's and 1940's.  Mostly letters, financial records, published material and official records of individuals in Virginia and elsewhere.  Includes documents and signatures of well known people, such as Benjamin Harrison, John Randolph and Franklin D. Roosevelt. Documents from this collection are currently being transferred to the Small Collection  as individual items with SC identification numbers. ...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robert Pleasants Letterbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Cp9
Scope and Contents Letterbook, 1771-1781, of Pleasants includes letters written to family members, friends and to merchants in Philadelphia, New York, and England. Subjects include shipping of tobacco and other crops, buying of goods, the Quaker religion, slavery and its abolition, and the coming and progress of the American Revolution. Includes letter, March 1781, to [Benedict Arnold] and a letter, 22 September 1773, to Archibald Cary concerning the treatment of religious prisoners in the Chesterfield County,...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Poole Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00682
Scope and Contents

Letter, 15 February 1817, of William Poole, Brandywine, Delaware, to Isaac Hicks of Westbury, New York. Discusses the effect of that the abolition of slavery would have on the economy of the United States and England. Also discusses Poole's opposition to slavery and the kidnapping of free African Americans to be put into slavery.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Marie M. and Edith W. Smith Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Sm4
Scope and Contents Papers, 1783-1862, of the Thomas Smith family of Powhatan County, Va., Kentucky, and Ohio. Includes typescripts of letters, 1841-1842, of James George Smith; typescript of letter, 1862, of Thomas E. Smith; constitution, 1798, of the Emigration Society; and letter, 1799, and address, n.d., of the Humane Society against slavery. The Marie M. and Edith W. Smith Papers are primarily the genealogical charts and notes used to trace ancestral lines to the twenty-five Sureties of the Magna Carta...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: United States--Abolition--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 3
Anti-slavery movements 2
Financial records 2
United States--Slavery 2
Abolitionists 1
∨ more
Agriculture--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--United States--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
Antislavery movements--United States 1
Antislavery movements--United States--History--19th century--Sources 1
Apprenticeship programs--Virginia 1
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Debt 1
Decedents' estates 1
Dyes and dyeing 1
Finances 1
Horses--Virginia 1
Insurance, Fire--Virginia--History 1
Jefferson County (W.Va.)--History--18th century 1
Jefferson County (W.Va.)--History--19th century 1
Kingdom of the Two Sicilies 1
Lectures 1
Legal documents 1
Letter books 1
Logging--Virginia 1
Lumber trade--Virginia--History 1
Mecklenburg County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Medical practice--Virginia--History 1
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 1
Merchants--Massachusetts 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--Richmond 1
Merchants--West Virginia--Jefferson County 1
Military records 1
Mississippi--History--19th century 1
New York (State)--Social life and customs 1
Notebooks 1
Orders (military records) 1
Pamphlets 1
Petersburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Physicians--Virginia--York County 1
Powhatan County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Powhatan County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Printed ephemera 1
Quaker abolitionists 1
Rappahannock County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Slavery--Southern States--History 1
Texas--History--Republic, 1836-1846 1
Tobacco industry--Virginia--Richmond 1
Typescripts 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
Virginia--Politics and Government--18th century 1
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 1
West Point (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Wills 1
Women physicians--Virginia--History--19th century. 1
Women--Physicians 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
∧ less
 
Names
Allison White and Company 1
Arnold, Benedict, 1741-1801 1
Centenary Church 1
Cooke family 1
Exchange Bank of Virginia 1
∨ more
Ficklen family 1
Forrest Family 1
Garth family 1
Lutrell family 1
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 1
Pleasants, Robert 1
Titanic (Steamship) 1
Tuskegee Normal and Industrial Institute 1
Valentine, Edward Virginius, 1838-1930 1
West, Francis 1
West, John 1
∧ less