Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 40

Thomas L. Alfriend Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00269
Scope and Contents Chiefly letters, 1861-1865, from Thomas L. Alfriend (1843-1901) Sergeant, of Company B, 15th Virginia Infantry and Parken's Battery, Alexander's Battalion, Longstreet's Corps, Army of Northern Virginia, from camps in Virginia and Tennessee to family members in Richmond, Virginia. Includes letter dated May 26, 1861 from Alfriend while stationed in Williamsburg, Virginia.The addition contains 25 typewritten pages of transcripts of letters by Jefferson Davis, James Seddon and others...

Myrta Locket Avary Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Av1
Scope and Contents

Correspondence and typescripts of articles concerning Reconstruction. Includes reminiscences of her father Harrison Alexander Lockett concerning southside Virginia and photographs.

James Barron Papers (I)

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B27
Scope and Contents Correspondence and papers of Commodore James Barron relating to his career in the United States Navy, and especially relating to The Chesapeake-Leopard Affair in 1807 and to his duel with Stephen Decatur. Collection includes photocopies of patents issued to Barron for his inventions and a typescript of William Oliver Stevens' An Affair of Honor, a biography of Barron. Correspondents include John Adams, Jesse Duncan Elliott, Andrew Jackson, Thomas Jefferson, Amos Kendall, Duff Green and Abel...

Borland Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B66
Scope and Contents The Borland, Green, and Godwin families are related in the following manner. George Godwin, son of Jeremiah Godwin, married Fanny Green (whose mother was Mary (Giles) Green) in 1805. Dr. Thomas Wood Borland (d. 1830 or 1831), father of Roscius Cicero Borland, married Harriott Godwin, daughter of Jeremiah Godwin and Sarah (Wilkinson) Godwin.Family correspondence, chiefly 1830-1854, of Mary (Giles) Green and George Godwin of Nansemond County, Virginia; Roscius C. Borland of...

Charles Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 C17
Scope and Contents The Charles Campbell papers consist of papers received or collected by Charles Campbell (1807-1876), Virginia historian. The papers fall into four general headings: historical papers collected by Charles Campbell, correspondence, manuscript volumes, and miscellaneous. These include personal and professional correspondence as well as eighteenth century documents collected by Charles Campbell, newspaper clippings, diaries, scrapbooks, and notebooks, covering then period 1743-1896. The papers...

G. Glenwood Clark Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 77 C55
Scope and Contents Papers of G. Glenwood Clark, professor of English who taught American Literature at the College of William and Mary. The collection iIncludes correspondence, 1921-1965, with former students, faculty and administration of the College, personal acquaintances, publishing companies, clubs and organizations as well as newspaper clippings, typescripts of books, articles and talks, lecture notes, scrapbooks and materials relating to his two sabbaticals in Brazil including photographs, letters,...

William Tell Cobb Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 C63
Scope and Contents Letters of William Tell Cobb (1840-1913), of Mauricetown, New Jersey, and his brother, Edwin Cobb (b. 1838), also of Mauricetown, New Jersey. William Cobb participated in the battles of Fair Oaks and 2nd Manassas while in the Army, and the battle of Fort Fisher while in the Navy; he describes these battles in his letters. Edwin Cobb provides an eyewitness account of the battle between the "Monitor" and the "Merrimac". Other topics dealt with in the letters are camp conditions and everyday...

Jubal Early Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Ea5
Scope and Contents Papers, 1863-1890, relating to Jubal A. Early. Includes typescript of an account of the evening of the first day and the morning of the second day at the Battle of Gettysburg by [?] Turner; typescript of a report of Isaac Ridgeway Trimble regarding the Battle of Second Manassas; letter, 1867, of Mrs. E. C. Wirz [widow of Henry Wirz] thanking Early for a copy of his A Memoir of the Last Year of the War for Independence; and letter, 31 March 1884, from Early concerning Second Manassas and...

Judith Ewell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.076
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of two boxes of material created and collected by Judith Ewell, a professor of History at the College of William and Mary between 1971 and 2004. It includes papers Ewell wrote in college and graduate school; conference papers and programs; teaching materials from her year as a Fulbright Lecturer in Venezuela; correspondence about her publications; and contracts and other administrative material regarding her appointments at William and Mary.

Mary Goodwin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.036
Scope and Contents

The papers of Mary Goodwin concern her reaction to Jack E. Morpurgo's "Their Majesties' Royall Colledge". Included is a cover letter from Mary Goodwin to Herbert Ganter, a draft chapter from Morpurgo's book (pp. 241-278) with Goodwin's marginalia, and her separate 27-page critical review of the chapter. The collection also contains five binders of Goodwin's Historical Notes about William and Mary.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Typescripts X
  • Subject: Correspondence X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Manuscripts (document genre) 10
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 9
Photographs 7
Diaries 6
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 4
∨ more
Scrapbooks 4
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 4
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 3
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 3
Notebooks 3
Reports 3
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 3
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Account books 2
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Atlanta Campaign, 1864 2
Bull Run, 2nd Battle of, Va.,1862 2
Class materials 2
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 2
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Financial records 2
Fliers (printed matter) 2
Genealogy 2
Georgia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Minutes 2
North Carolina--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Pamphlets 2
Photocopies 2
Photostats 2
Programs 2
Siege of Petersburg, Va. (Richmond-Petersburg Campaign), 1864-1865 2
Speeches 2
Speeches, addresses, etc. 2
United States--Lawyers 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Aeronautics--United States--Accidents 1
Affirmative action programs 1
African Americans 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Aircraft accidents 1
Alien and Sedition laws, 1798 1
American Revolution--Veterans 1
American diaries--Women authors 1
American literature--20th century 1
American newspapers--Virginia--Norfolk 1
Anniversary Celebration--1968 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Antietam, Battle of, Md., 1862 1
Ash Lawn (Virginia : Estate) 1
Athletics--Football 1
Awards and Scholarships--Martin Luther King, Jr. Scholarship 1
Banks and banking--United States--History 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Battle of Hatcher's Run, Feb. 1865 1
Battle of Opequon (Third Battle of Winchester), 1864 1
Branch County (Mich.)--History--19th century 1
Brazil--History--1930-1954 1
Brazil--Politics and government--1930-1954 1
Broadsides 1
Buildings and Grounds 1
Catalogs 1
Cedar Creek, Battle of, Va., 1864 1
Charleston (S.C.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Chesapeake-Leopard Affair, 1807 1
College of William and Mary--History 1
Confederate States of America. Army Virginia Infantry Regiment, 15th. Company B 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Longstreets I Corps Alexander's Battalion. Parker's Battery 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 26th 1
Continential Congress 1
Courts-martial and courts of inquiry--United States 1
Declaration of Independence 1
Dueling--Virginia 1
Education, Higher--History--19th century 1
Education--History--19th century 1
Education--New York (State) 1
Education--Study and teaching 1
Education--Virginia--History 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Executors and administrators--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fair Oaks (Henrico County, Va.), Battle of, 1862 1
Farm management 1
Finances 1
Football--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Fort Fisher (N.C.) 1
France--Foreign relations--United States 1
Fundraising campaigns 1
Germantown (Pa.)--History 1
Gettysburg, Battle of, Gettysburg, Pa., 1863 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Goochland County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Great Depression--History--Virginia 1
House of Burgesses 1
Indian School 1
Inventions--History--United States 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History 1
Jamestown 400th Anniversary 1
∧ less
 
Language
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 3
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 3
Adams, John, 1735-1826 2
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 2
∨ more
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 2
College of William and Mary. School of Business Administration 2
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 2
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 2
Hill, D. H. (Daniel Harvey), 1821-1889 2
Mahone, William, 1826-1895 2
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 2
Mason School of Business 2
Adams, John Quincy, 1767-1848 1
Alfriend, Frank H., 1841-1887 1
Alfriend, Frank Heath 1
Anderson Seminary 1
Barron, James, 1769-1851 1
Beauregard, Pierre Gustave Toutant, 1818-1893 1
Beeckman, Margaret Gardiner, d. 1857 1
Borland, Roscius Cicero, d. 1847 1
Borland, Thomas Roscius, 1844-1900 1
Bragg, Braxton, 1817-1876 1
Brooks, Phillip, 1835-1983 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Charles, 1807-1876 1
Carter, Mary B. 1
Catron, Louis E. 1
Chaffee, Sarah Lamb 1
Clark, Graves Glenwood, 1894-1967 1
College of William and Mary. 1
College of William and Mary. College Development 1
College of William and Mary. College of Arts and Sciences 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Anthropology 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Art and Art History 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Biology 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Chemistry 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Fine Arts 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Government 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Home Economics 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Modern Languages 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Physics 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Psychology 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Religious Studies 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Sociology 1
College of William and Mary. Endowment Association. 1
College of William and Mary. Office of Director of Development 1
College of William and Mary. Office of Grants and Research Administration 1
College of William and Mary. Office of University Development 1
College of William and Mary. Project Plus 1
College of William and Mary. School of Education 1
College of William and Mary. School of Marine Science 1
College of William and Mary. Swem Library 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 1
Copland, Charles 1
Cryer, William 1
Curtis family 1
Custis, George Washington Parke, 1781-1857 1
Davis, Jefferson, 1808-1889 1
Decatur, Stephen, 1779-1820 1
Democratic Party (U.S.) 1
Dept. of Anthropology 1
Dept. of Applied Science 1
Dept. of Biology 1
Dept. of Computer Science 1
Dept. of Economics 1
Dept. of Fine Arts 1
Dept. of Geology 1
Dept. of Government 1
Dept. of History 1
Dept. of Military Science 1
Dept. of Modern Languages and Literatures 1
Dept. of Music 1
Dept. of Philosophy 1
Dept. of Physical Education 1
Dept. of Physics 1
Dept. of Psychology 1
Dept. of Religious Studies 1
Dept. of Sociology 1
Development Office--Endowment Association 1
Edwards family 1
Elliott, Jesse D. (Jesse Duncan), 1782-1845 1
Elliott, Jesse Duncan, 1782-1845 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert, 1810-1894 1
Ewell, Judith 1
Farmer's Register 1
Field, James G. 1
Fund for William and Mary 1
Gallatin, Albert (1761-1849) 1
Gantt, Thomas T. (Thomas Tasker), 1814-1889 1
Gardiner Family 1
Gardiner, Alexander, d. 1850 1
Gardiner, David Lyon 1
Gardiner, Juliana McLachlan, d. 1864 1
Gibson, John Thomas 1
Gilmer Family 1
Gilmer, Anne Baker 1
Gilmer, Thomas Walker 1
∧ less