Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4

Martha Barksdale Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 6.004
Scope and Contents

The papers include Martha Barksdale's diary for 1918-1919, recording her experiences as a member of the first class of women at William and Mary. The bulk of the collection consists of photographs that document student activities and women's sports at the college from her student years to her teaching career. The bulk of the photographs date from the 1920s-1940s.

Catherine Dennis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.004
Scope and Contents The papers of Catherine Dennis include pages from the scrapbook she kept at the College of William and Mary. Dennis was part of the first class of women to attend William and Mary beginning in 1918. Photographs feature Dennis and other students, including Martha Barksdale, around campus. The collection also includes an invitation to the Students' Army Training Corps Ball, a letter from William and Mary President Lyon G. Tyler to Catherine Dennis, and a copy of the September 1974 Alumni...

University Archives Scrapbook Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 335
Scope and Contents This collection contains scrapbooks related to faculty, students, and various programs and events at the College of William and Mary. Acc. 1983.075: twenty-seven scrapbooks, 1934-1943, of newspaper clippings about the College, events, and programs. Acc. 1983.081: scrapbooks, 1919-1938, with clippings about the College, students, and faculty. Acc. 1983.083: two scrapbooks, 1934-1942, with invitations to programs, concerts, plays, parties, and other events...

Scrapbook of Campus Life

 Collection
Identifier: UA 78
Scope and Contents

A soft black leather album with a stylized "W&M" on the cover containing pictures of William and Mary students, faculty, buildings, and events.