Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 17

Blow Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B63
Scope and Contents Papers, 1770-1875, of the Blow family of "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and of the Waller family. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Philip Barraud, John Hartwell Cocke, Henry Lee and Edmund Ruffin. Most of these accessions were integrated as the collection was partially processed, but some are boxed separately. Includes a Blow family scrapbook containing many manuscript items. Collection includes: correspondence of Richard Blow (1746-1833), merchant, who had...

Dora E. Doud (Swem) Letter and Pin

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00138
Scope and Contents

One letter from Willard Doud to his sister, Dora Elizabeth Doud (Swem) dated July 11, 1898 from Guantanamo Bay, Cuba.  In his letter, Doud describes the scene in the Caribbean during the Spanish American War.  He even gives a description of prisoners of war from the Spanish Navy on transport via the USS St. Louis.  Included with the letter is a pin from Dora's high school year at Englewood High School in Chicago, Illinois.

George G. York Letter

 Collection — Container: Small Collections Box 120
Identifier: SC 01744
Content Description

An eight page letter with envelope from George G. York, a senior corporal stationed at Camp Alger, to his wife and child. York writes about a visit to the camp by President McKinley, the moral of the soldiers, his experience with military rations, and his thoughts on the Spanish-American war.

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

Charles E. Littlefield Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01594
Scope and Contents Two diaries kept by an officer while serving on board the USS Vulcan, the Navy's first repair ship as it supported the gun boats off the coast of Cuba during the Spanish American War. Littlefield recounts his daily activities, work on board the ship, weather, and events as they happened almost daily. He also recounts illnesses of fellow soldiers, those who died, and of soldier's who were taken to mast for carious violations. It is clear that Littlefield is skilled in the work of iron forging...

John Millington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M59
Scope and Contents

Papers including correspondence concerning Millington's experiences as directing engineer of the Anglo-Mexican Mining Association, as professor at College of William and Mary where he lived in the Wythe House, as professor at University of Mississippi, and at Memphis Medical College. Includes diaries covering 1832, 1835, and 1861-1867; letters of his family members; and Blankenship family land records and letters concerning the Spanish-American War.

Myers-Burrage-Graham Papers (I) Group B

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 98 M99 Group B
Scope and Contents Papers, 1886-1942, of Vice-Admiral Guy Hamilton Burrage. Includes commissions, orders, correspondence, photographs, scrapbooks and medals. Includes material relating to his command of the "U. S. S. Nebraska" during World War I and the "U. S. S. Memphis" which returned Charles A. Lindbergh from Paris after his historic flight. There are also papers relating to his involvement in an attempt to resolve the Lindbergh kidnapping case in 1932. Addition to this...

Offley Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.164
Scope and Contents This collection details the history of the Offley Family from 1826 to 1916 through correspondences, diaries, photographs and personal effects. Its creators include multiple generations of Offleys and their associates. The papers provide insight into the daily life of the era as well as major geopolitical events such as the Greek War of Independence, the Spanish-American War, the Philippine-American War, the 1906 San Francisco Earthquake, and World War I. Many of the Offleys served in the...

Photograph Album of 8th Massachusetts Infantry in Cuba, Georgia, and Kentucky

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01339
Content Description Photograph album containing 84 pictures of the 8th Massachusetts Infantry. Pictures show men of the regiment in Matanzas, Cuba at Camp Thomas in Chickamauga, Georgia and at Camp Lexington in Lexington, Kentucky. The photographs do not seem to follow a chronological order in their placement in the album, but the description of most of the photographs are clearly annotated to describe the people and/ or locations depicted. One photographs shows members of the regiment boarding a train from...

Charles Mills Sheldon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 S3
Scope and Contents Correspondence, clippings, photographs, and papers of Charles Mills Sheldon (1866-1928), British illustrator and war correspondent. Letters were written primarily to his wife, Grace, of London, and often contain detailed descriptions of his experiences abroad. Some of the topics discussed in his correspondence include the Sudan (1896), Cuba (1898), the Spanish-American War, Egypt during the opening of the Aswan Dam (1902), the Durbar in India (1903), and Spain (1906) during the royal wedding...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Spanish-American War, 1898 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Spanish-American War, 1898 14
Correspondence 6
Photographs 5
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 3
Diaries 3
∨ more
Spanish-American War, 1898--Personal Narratives 3
United States. Navy--History--20th century 3
World War, 1914-1918 3
Account books 2
Cuba--History--19th Century 2
Financial records 2
Indians of North America 2
Medals 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
United States. Navy--History--19th century 2
Virginia--History--19th century 2
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Artifacts 1
Assouan Dam (Egypt) 1
Buckles (strap accessories) 1
Cabinet photographs 1
California--History--1850-1950 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Certificates 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Cavalry Regiment, 13th. Company H 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Volunteers, Third Brigade 1
Cuba--History--20th century 1
Debates and debating--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Diplomatic and consular service 1
Engineering--Study and teaching--United States--19th century 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Genealogical tables 1
Genealogy 1
Great Britain--History 1
Greece--History--War of Independence, 1821-1829 1
Greeting cards 1
Hampden-Sydney College--History--19th century 1
India--History--20th century 1
Islam 1
Jamaica--History--19th century 1
Japan--Description and travel 1
Journalists 1
Legal documents 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Lithographs 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898--Pictorial works 1
Manuscripts for publication 1
Maps 1
Marriage certificates 1
Matanzas Bay (Cuba) 1
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 1
Men--Societies and clubs 1
Merchants--North Carolina--History--18th century 1
Merchants--North Carolina--History--19th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Mexico--History--19th century 1
Military bases -- United States 1
Mining engineering--History--19th century 1
Minute books 1
Muslims 1
Naval operations 1
Newport News (Va.)--History 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Nottaway Indians 1
Ohio--Social life and customs 1
Philippines--Description and travel 1
Philippines--History 1
Philippines--History--1898-1946 1
Poems 1
Postcards 1
Report cards 1
Scrapbooks 1
Shipbuilding--Virginia 1
Spanish-American War, 1898 -- Campaigns -- Cuba 1
Speeches 1
Stock certificates 1
Sudan (Africa)--History--20th century 1
Tobacco farmers--Virginia 1
Tower Hill (Sussex County, Va.) 1
Treaty of Paris (1898) 1
United States--Description and travel 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
United States--Jewish History 1
United States. Army--Appointments, promotions, salaries, etc 1
United States. Navy 1
Universities and Colleges--Virginia--Faculty 1
University of Mississippi--History--19th century 1
University of Virginia--History--19th century 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 1
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 1
Virginia. Militia. 15th Regiment 1
Virginia. Militia. 4th Regiment 1
Visiting cards 1
Watercolors (drawings) 1
∧ less
 
Language
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 1
Bay State (Ship) 1
Blankenship family 1
Blow family 1
Burrage, Guy Hamilton, 1867-1954 1