Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 11 of 11

Civilian Conservation Corps (U. S.) Shenandoah Park (Virginia) Records

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01255
Scope and Contents Includes correspondence between CCC members of camp 2, 4 and 5 working on the Skyline Drive, Shenandoah Valley, Virginia, newspapers (1 issue of the CCC newspaper "Happy Days", Vol. 1, No. 15, 26 August, 1933; two issues of the Daily News-Record, Harrisonburg, Va., 27 October, 1934 and 8 May, 1935); photographs, and the printed report "White Pine Blister Rust" by Charles Lathrop Pack. There are approximately 35-40 photographs including group photographs of CCC members, camps and other...
Dates: 1934-1936
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Henkel Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 H38
Scope and Contents Correspondence, papers, and ledgers of the Rev. Paul Henkel (1754-1825), who was a Lutheran missionary, and David Henkel, Ambrose Henkel, and Solomon Henkel of New Market, Shenandoah Co., Va. Includes woodcuts and watercolor sketches, Ambrose Henkel's account ledger (1807-1813), notebooks on the study of Hebrew, memorandum book, indentures, certificates, and other. Topics include Lutheranism, printing, Shenandoah County, immigration, merchants, and education. Mss poem with a hand...
Dates: 1783-1874
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Kitty Kemper Memorandum Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Me2
Scope and Contents

Memorandum book, 1845-1897, used by [Kitty Kemper, Shenandoah Valley, Virginiaa. ?] and others. The book contains laborers' accounts and farm memoranda.

Dates: 1845-1897
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Lambert-Sheetz Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 L18
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1814-1907, of the Lambert and Sheetz families of Augusta and Shenandoah counties. Include papers of Daniel H. Lambert, Staunton, Va. including his orders as a conscript in the Confederate Army in 1864 and his Oath of Allegiance to the United States in July 1865. Also include letters received by James and Joseph L. Sheetz, Woodstock, Shenandoah County and a single page extra newspaper issued by The Valley Virginian at the time of the riot, 3 November 1883,in Danville, Va.

Dates: 1818-1907
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

John Letcher Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01066
Scope and Contents Papers; 1860-1875; of John Letcher, governor of Virginia, 1860-1864. Includes appointment, 1860, of justices of the peace for Augusta County, Virginia signed by Letcher; and letters, November 3, 1864-September 3, 1865, of Letcher, Lexington Virginia to Joseph A. Hierholzer, Richmond, Virginia. Three of the letters are negative photocopies.Three Democratic tickets for the Virginia gubernatorial election held on Thursday, May 26, 1959. The tickets list John Letcher for Governor,...
Dates: 1860-1875
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Merchant's Account Book, Shenandoah Valley

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame23u
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1848-1851, of an unidentified merchant, probably in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia.

Dates: 1848-1851
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Merchant's Journal, Shenandoah Valley

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame 37u
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1866-1867, of an unidentified merchant in the [Shenandoah Valley, Va. ?] which was entered in a book of printed forms for military reports of military companies of the Confederate States Army.

Dates: 1866-1867
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

New Shenandoah Company Minute Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Mi14-MsV Mi15
Scope and Contents

Minute books, 1815-1857, of the New Shenandoah Company, Port Republic, Rockingham Co., Va. The company was organized to open the Shenandoah River and its branches to navigation. Includes a printed copy of the company's charter, and a letter, 16 March 1856, from a stockholder.

New Shenandoah Company Meeting Minutes and other records 1815-1860 in Swem Library’s microforms area, 1 reel, call number HE631 .V8 N4.

Dates: 1815-1857
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Solomon Bowman Ledgers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ac19-MsV Ac21
Scope and Contents

Ledgers, 1843-1856, of Solomon Bowman, cobbler [of the Shenandoah Valley, Va. ?]

Dates: 1843-1856
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Wilkin Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 W64
Scope and Contents More than 600 items from the period 1757 to 1922, with the bulk falling between 1780 and 1870.  Most items reference members of the Wilkin/Wilkins family of Shenandoah County, Virginia, particularly Godfrey, John, Philip, Benomi, and Benjamin Wilkin.  Other surnames include Gochenauer, Layman, Funkhauser, Koock, and Miller.  Most documents are financial or legal, such as receipts, promissory notes, account statements, and probate records.  There is some correspondence, as well as a few...
Dates: 1757-1922 and undated; Majority of material found in 1780-1870
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Dr. George Williamson Daybook

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00632
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a physician's daybook kept by Dr. George Williamson of New Market, Virginia, whose practice extended throughout the Shenandoah Valley. Spanning 1807-1819, the daybook records names of patients, treatments, and payments (for both Caucasians and African Americans). Treatments range from inoculations and venereal disease to all night vigils.

Dates: 1807-1819
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.)--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.)--History 10
Account books 5
Correspondence 4
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Journals (accounts) 2
∨ more
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Rockingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History 2
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
Danville (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Danville (Va.)--Riot, 1883 1
Farms--Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.) 1
Financial records 1
German American literature--Publishing--Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.)--History 1
German Americans--Virginia 1
Germans--Virginia 1
Indentures 1
Inland water transportation--Virginia 1
Invoices 1
Ledgers (Accounting) 1
Legal documents 1
Lexington (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Lutheran Church--Virginia 1
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 1
Medicine--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Memoranda Books 1
Merchants--Virginia--19th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--Shenandoah County 1
Military records 1
Minutes 1
New Market (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Notebooks 1
Petitions 1
Photographs 1
Photostats 1
Physicians--Virginia--New Market 1
Printing--Virginia--History 1
Publications 1
Publishers and publishing--Virginia--History 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia 1
Reformed Church in the United States--History 1
Reformed German Church 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Shenandoah County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Shoes--United States--History--19th century 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Virginia--Religious history 1
Washington and Lee University--History--19th century 1
+ ∧ less
 
Language
German 2
Hebrew 1
 
Names
Civilian Conservation Corps (U.S.) 1
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 1
Funkhauser family 1
Hierholzer, Joseph A 1
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 1
∨ more
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 1
Sheetz, James 1
Sheetz, Joseph L 1
Wilkin, Godfrey, fl. 1788-1815 1
Wilkin, John 1
Wilkin, Rachel 1
Williamson, George, Dr 1
+ ∧ less