Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 9 of 9

Charles H. Bell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B41
Scope and Contents The collection includes the correspondence, certificates, photographs, accounts, and journals of Rear Admiral Charles H. Bell. Naval journals cover Bell's service in the Mediterranean Sea from 1855-1858. The photographs are a mix of personal and souvenirs, which largely depict men and women from Peru. There is also material related to his role as executor for the estate of Samuel Swartwout. The collection also includes papers related to the Smith family, particularly Bell's executor and...

Bland Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 B159
Scope and Contents Papers, 1778-1989, of the Bland family of King and Queen County, Gloucester County, and the James River area of Virginia. Includes mostly genealogical material compiled by Lineous Preston Bland, Jr. Includes correspondence, pamphlets, family trees, scrapbooks, newsletters, photographs, legal and military records, newspaper clippings, and oral histories. Much information focuses on Richard Bland (1710-1766), Virginia statesman and pamphleteer. The collection also...

Mills E. Godwin, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 78 G54
Scope and Contents The personal papers of Mills E. Godwin, Jr., dating from 1947 to 1978, consist of 24 boxes of correspondence, 1,100 copies of speeches, schedules and appointments. Also included are 40 scrapbooks of news clippings and photographs, 159 citations and plaques, and one box of audiovisual materials, all of which pertain largely to Godwin's personal involvement in the government, political life, activities, organizations and institutions of Virginia during the 30-year period. The majority of the...

Fairfax Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...

Fay Parr Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2008.50
Scope and Contents

Family papers and a collection of Williamsburg ephemera and memorabilia of Fay Parr.  Includes family photograph albums, press photographs of Williamsburg residents and buildings, newspaper clippings of events and people in Williamsburg, Virginia and publications from Williamsburg and other places.

Samuel Paul Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 P28
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1828-1886, of Samuel Paul, merchants of Mt. Solon, Va. and who served as Augusta County, Va. Sheriff, 1866-1869, and Treasurer, 1870-1882. Includes correspondence with merchants in Richmond and Staunton, Va., Baltimore, Md. and Philadelphia, Pa.; receipts; legal agreements; tax records; business and animal licenses; and instructions given to county officials from state officials. Collection also includes scrapbooks, [post 1850]-1886, kept by Araminta G. Paul and Blanche Paul.

John Tayloe Perrin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 P42
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1770-1931, of the Perrin family of Gloucester County, Va. Chiefly the diaries and writings of John Tayloe Perrin. Includes farm books, scrapbooks, accounts, wills, and articles by Perrin.

Robb-Bernard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 R54
Scope and Contents Papers, 1800-1901, of and relating to John Hipkins and John Hipkins Bernard (mostly accounts); of and relating to members of the Hipkins, Bernard and Robb families; and relating to the Hipkins-Bernard-Robb home "Rose Hill," Caroline County, Va. (later renamed "Gay Mont") and to Bernard's lands in Alabama, Texas and Arkansas. Includes diaries, correspondence, poems, accounts and account books of women (Elizabeth Hipkins, Jane Gay Robertson Bernard, and Helen Struan Bernard Robb); and legal...

William F. Willoughby Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 72 W66
Scope and Contents Papers 1818-1955, of William Willoughby, economist, government official, director for the Institute of Research. The papers of William F. Willoughby, mostly concern his service as treasurer and secretary of Puerto Rico and as deputy legal adviser to President Yuan Shikai of China during the period when Yuan made an unsuccessful attempt to restore the monarchy to China by having himself crowned emperor. The collection includes personal correspondence of Willougby with his twin brother Westel...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Scrapbooks X
  • Subject: Legal documents X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 8
Photographs 6
Diaries 4
Financial records 4
Account books 3
∨ more
Genealogy 3
Notebooks 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 2
Pamphlets 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Women--History--Virginia 2
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Alabama--History--19th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American diaries--Women authors 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Augusta County (Va.). Sheriff 1
Augusta County (Va.). Treasurer 1
Battleships--United States--History 1
Bibles 1
Calendars 1
Canada--Description and travel 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Chandler Court (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Chemical warfare--United States--History--20th century. 1
China--History--1912-1928 1
China--Politics and government--1912-1928 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
Debt, Imprisonment for--Virginia 1
Fliers (printed matter) 1
Germany--History--Allied occupation, 1945- 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Horses--Virginia 1
Interviews 1
Jamestown Festival (1957) 1
King and Queen County (Va.)--History 1
King and Queen County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
King and Queen County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Letter books 1
Maine--Description and travel 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Merchants--Virginia--Augusta County 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Minutes 1
Newsletters 1
Newspapers 1
Oral histories 1
Parishes--Virginia 1
Philippines--History 1
Photostats 1
Poems 1
Postcards 1
Prince William County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Printed ephemera 1
Private Libraries 1
Programs 1
Puerto Rico--History 1
Puerto Rico--Politics and government--1898-1952 1
Reporters and reporting. 1
Reports 1
Segregation in education--Virginia 1
Sheriffs--Virginia--Augusta County 1
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Speeches 1
United States--Lawyers 1
United States--Politics and Government 1
United States--Women--History 1
United States. Navy--History--19th century 1
Virginia--Governors 1
Virginia--History--18th century 1
Virginia--History--19th century 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775--Historiography 1
Virginia--Religious history 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
World War, 1939-1945 1
World War, 1939-1945--European Front 1
World War, 1939-1945--Japan 1
World War, 1939-1945--Pacific Area 1
Yearbooks 1
∧ less
 
Language
Dutch; Flemish 1
French 1
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Chemical Society 1
American Red Cross 1
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Bell, Charles Heyer, 1798-1875 1