Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 51 - 60 of 81

Mary Ellen Vaten Letter

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01392
Content Description Ten page letter from an unknown person to Mary Ellen Vaten. In it the writer describes an elegant dinner with a judge, colonel, and reverend, among others, and also Papa's new decorations paintings in their house in order to accommodate guests. She explains that the house is in "apple pie" order. There is also lengthy descriptions of wedding plans, and family happenings.

Cordie Meanley Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00139
Content Description Cordelia (Cordie) Meanley’s diary consists of two bound books. The smaller one consists of 184 pages, covering the period from August 1862 to November 1863 (Book 1). The larger one has about 220 pages, running from November 1863 to November 1871 (Book 2). In both books, there are some gaps between dates, despite Cordie Meanley’s declared intent on the first page “to keep a diary of my life.” Some pages reflect subsequent revisions or deletions. Generally, her diary...

Memories of Rebel Prisons

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00217
Scope and Contents Bound manuscript titled "Memories of Rebel Prisons".  Contains a list of Union prisoners from the Civil War kept in the Confederate prisons of 'Castle Thunder' and 'Libby' in Richmond, Virginia and a prison in Salisbury, North Carolina.  A memorandum written by Joshua Harris Aubin dated May 14, 1940 reads, "The first thirty pages are in hand writing of Captain W.B. Galucia (1834- 1902), after that in my hand-writing although I cannot recall when or in what circumstances." Galucia's...

Pleasants Murphy Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D5
Scope and Contents Diary, 1814 September 9 -1815 April 23, kept during military service in Captain [?] Otey's Company in War of 1812. Concerns line of march from Liberty (now Bedford), Va. to Richmond and discusses prices of items in Richmond and drills, and rations at the camp at Fairfield. Murphy spent 9 October to 26 November 1814 away from his unit, recovering from a broken arm. Diary concerns trip back to Bedford County and a trip to Pittsylvania County. The volume includes a description of Williamsburg and...

Samuel Myers Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 95 M99
Scope and Contents Insurance policies for real estate and cargo owned by Samuel Myers of Richmond, Va. and his estate. Some were issued by the Mutual Assurance Society of Virginia. Some were issued to Gustavus A. Myers, the executor of Samuel Myers. Other names in the collection are [?] Bell, Dr. John Cullen, Peter Joseph Chevallie, [?] Higginson, A. R. Holiday, John Leslie (executor and trustee for Robert Craig), Joseph Marx, Thomas Massie, Henry Myers, H. P. Poindexter, John Richard, Thomas Rutherfoord, A. L....

Old Dominion Subscription Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Su2
Scope and Contents Subscription book, 1872-1873, of the Old Dominion, Richmond, Va.

Otho O. Owens Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 Ow2
Scope and Contents Papers, 1888-1908, of Otho O. Owens of Richmond, Va. and his estate. Includes deeds, deeds of trust, agreements and a copy of Owen's will.

Gregory Page Letter to "Mama"

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00559
Scope and Contents Gregory Page to "Mama."  Discusses his health, school routine, fear of smallpox in Richmond, Va., and mentions Judge [St. George] Tucker.

Pattesonia Saunders Autograph Album

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Auto9
Scope and Contents Autograph album, 1857-1864, entitled, "Friendship Album," of Pattesonia Saunders, Richmond, Va. which also contains printed illustrations.

R.A. Lancaster Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ap22
Scope and Contents Account, 1852-1858, of R. A. Lancaster and Warren L. Waring of Richmond, Virginia. Includes inventory of household furnishings, clothing, kitchen ware, and livery equipment which may have been used to settle the estate of R. A. Lancaster.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Richmond (Va.)--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 3
Brown, John Wilcox, 1833-1914 2
Gary Alonzo Barranger 2
Robertson Hospital (Richmond, Va.) 2
Tompkins, Sally Louisa, 1833-1916 2
∨ more
Tucker family 2
Alexandria gazette 1
Allan family 1
Allan, John, 1780?-1834 1
Allison White and Company 1
Anderson Gallery 1
Armistead Family 1
Aubin, Joshua Harris 1
Bagby family 1
Bagby, George William, 1828-1883 1
Banister, Anne Blair 1
Banks, Henry 1
Bannister family 1
Blair family 1
Botetourt, Norborne Berkeley, Baron de, ca. 1718-1770 1
Braxton family 1
Brooke, W.B. 1
Broome family 1
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 1
Brown, Henry James, 1811-1855 1
Brown, John Thompson, 1802-1836 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Burnet, Ichabod 1
Burwell family 1
Burwell, Blair, 1858-1882 1
Cabell, James Branch, 1879-1958 1
Centenary Church 1
Central Virginia Educational Television Corporation 1
Chahoon, George, 1840-1934 1
Christian, Joseph Allan, 1880-1968 1
Cocke Family 1
Cocke, Edmund Randolph, 1841-1922 1
Cocke, John Hartwell, 1780-1866 1
Cocke, Thomas Lewis Preston, 1838-1895 1
Cocke, William Fauntleroy, 1826-1863 1
Cocke, William Fauntleroy, 1836-1863 1
Cocke, William, 1798-1855 1
Cocke, William, fl. 1798-1855 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Library Science 1
Commonwealth Club (Richmond, Va.) 1
Coupland family 1
Coupland, Carter, fl.1833-1866 1
Coupland, John R., fl. 1843-1866 1
Coupland, Susan Henley, fl.1843-1866 1
Day, M.L. 1
Depew family 1
Dornin family 1
Dorsey family 1
Drinkard, Samuel B. 1
Dupuy, Jane S. Ruffin, b. 1800 1
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 1
Ellyson, Henry Keeling, 1823-1890 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 1
Exchange Bank of Virginia 1
Farrar family 1
Farrar, Daniel James, 1862-1923 1
Farrar, Joseph E., 1830- 1
Ford, Henry, 1863-1947 1
Forrest Family 1
Galt, James, 1805-1876 1
Galucia, Warren B., 1834-1902 1
Garnett, Alexander Y. P. (Alexander Yelverton Peyton), 1820-1888 1
George, W. Brooks 1
Goodrich, Madge 1
Gosport Navy Yard (Va.) 1
Grattan family 1
Greene, Nathanael, 1742-1786 1
Hall, Channing Moore, III 1
Hall, J. Lesslie (John Lesslie), 1856- 1
Hall, John Lesslie, Jr., 1891-1978 1
Hall, John T. 1
Hart, John, 1860-1937 1
Hart, Katherine McCowan, 1863-1948 1
Hart, Lydia H., 1790-1831 1
Hierholzer, Joseph A 1
Hobbs, Lewis C., 1845-1910 1
Horner family 1
Jackson, Yvonne Lucas 1
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 1
Keep Virginia Beautiful. Inc 1
Kibler, James Luther, 1867-1953 1
Lafayette, Marie Joseph Paul Yves Roch Gilbert Du Motier, marquis de, 1757-1834 1
Lee Gallery 1
Lee, Fitzhugh, 1835-1905 1
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 1
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 1
Lindsay, George W. 1
Lucas, Alma Rachel Margaret Farrar 1
Macfarland, Ellen Turner, Miss, 1846-1928 1
Marshall, John, 1755-1835 1
McQueen, Juan, Don, 1751-1807 1
Meanley Banks, Cordie 1
Metropolitan Richmond Chamber of Commerce 1
Miller and Rhoads (Richmond, Va.) 1
∧ less