Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 20 of 20

Mr. and Mrs. Hibbert D. Corey Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.43-2
Scope and Contents Papers of Professor H.D. Corey, formerly economics professor at the College of William and Mary and of his wife, an active member of the Williamsburg Garden Club. Includes typescript of "American Foreign Trade Zone Policy and its Application to Hampton Roads" by Hibbert D. Corey, August 1930 and a "Rose Test Notes" scrapbook and related papers from the Williamsburg Garden Club, 1947-1957. Publications include "National Geographic" October 1954 issue,"Williamsburg: Its College and...

Eastern State Hospital Records

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01415
Scope and Contents The collection is composed of material, chiefly 1862-1868, relating to Eastern Lunatic Asylum (now Eastern State Hospital), Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence, a list of female patients and "coloured" female patients, patient reports, and requisition orders of Dr. Peter Wager, director of the hospital during the Union occupation of Williamsburg. There are also replies, 1956-1957, to inquiries for information about Dr. John de Sequeyera [or Sequeyra], a physician at the hospital from...

W. C. Ewing Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Ew4
Scope and Contents

Correspondence, programs, minutes, reports, and clippings; 1935-1936; concerning the Virginia Court season in Williamsburg for 1935 and plans for 1936.

B. Floyd Flickinger Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2012.341
Scope and Contents Papers of B. Floyd Flickinger, Superintendent of the Colonial National Historic Park.  Letters, memos, reports, speeches, documents, photographs, and other material related to the creation and operation of the Colonial National Historic Park in Yorktown, Virginia.  Material on archaeology at Jamestown and the expansion of the National Park Service.  Personal papers which include Flickinger's position at the Technical Training Service at the Quartermaster School during World War II, his...

Guy Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1985.42
Scope and Contents Papers of the William George and Gladys Bennett Guy family of Williamsburg, Virginia with additions from Joan Eastman Bennett.  Includes correspondence, invitations, minutes, clippings, oral histories, notebooks, reports, photographs, written memories, essays and printed materials. Papers include items about water and gas, Williamsburg Landing, American Red Cross, Williamsburg United Service Organization, Williamsburg Female Academy, College of William and Mary and zoning regulations. ...

Janet C. Kimbrough Williamsburg Area History Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1985.50, 1991.36 and 1993.06
Scope and Contents

Collection of material about Williamsburg, Virginia area history including Colonial Williamsburg Foundaton, Williamsburg Public Library, "Model" school of Williamsburg, Yorktown Bicentennial, Bundles for Britain and more.  Includes photographs of family and friends, many set in Williamsburg, and photograph of dedication of the Confederate Monument on the Palace Green.

King's Daughters. Kate Custis Circle (Williamsburg, Va.) Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 71 K61, 2008.134, 2010.330
Scope and Contents Mss. 71 K61 includes the records of the Kate Custis Circle of the King's Daughters of Williamsburg, Virginia: a printed history of the circle by Estelle H. Smith; minutes of the circle meetings; correspondence; newspaper clippings; photographs; minutes of state convention meetings; programs of state conventions; scrapbooks; and leaflet concerning Estelle H. Smith. Mss. Acc. 2008.134 (Box 5) includes journal records from 1913-1933. Mss. Acc. 2010.330 (Box 6) includes...

Lee Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01 and Mss. Acc. 1995.27
Scope and Contents Mss. Acc. 1993.06-01, Series 1 - 4: Papers and photographs of the Edward Myers Lee Family of Williamsburg, Virginia. Lee graduated from the College of William and Mary, as did many of his children.  An album has photos of a May Pole in front of the Williamsburg Court House on Duke of Gloucester St. The papers include material for some of his children, particulary Elizabeth Mallory Lee (Mrs. John Walston Henderson), Peticolas Lee (Mrs. Robert Edward Lee), Mary King Lee, and Edward M. Lee. ...

James Madison, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M26
Scope and Contents Dates; 1792-1831, 1931; document and correspondence (some are copies). Includes letters between James Madison, Sr. (1723-1801) and his son President James Madison, Jr., his brother Bishop James Madison, Josiah Quincy, Robert Walsh, and others. Also includes engravings and prints of Madison and a "Report of the Overseers of Harvard University" commenting of the new constitution recently submitted to the people of Virginia. Letters discuss politics, family life in Virginia, religion, and other...

Will Molineux Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00042
Scope and Contents

Williamsburg, Virginia items given by Will Molineux, mostly via the Williamsburg Historic Records Association.  Some items are personal papers (newspaper articles, etc.) of Will Molineux.  The photograph collection covers the entire Williamsburg area, including James City County and York County.  Subjects include people, places, buildings, events, Colonial Williamsburg, William and Mary and many more.

Richard Lee Morton Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 M84
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1930-1969, of Richard Lee Morton, professor of history at the College of William and Mary from 1919 to 1959. Series 1 includes personal and professional correspondence, lectures and notes relating to his research on Virginia history, and material relating to his community activities in Williamsburg, Va. Includes correspondence of his wife Estelle (Dinwiddie) Morton, land grants, 1756 and 1774, signed by Robert Dinwiddie and Lord Dunmore, Confederate currency and bonds,...

Stella Neiman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1999.54, 2000.004, 2008.70
Scope and Contents The bulk of the collection contains papers related to Stella Neiman while on the Williamsburg City Council. These include reports, minutes, agendas, clippings, and a report on the desegregation of the public schools. The collection also contain Professor Fraser Neiman's Harvard dissertation on English literature. Stella Neiman was a member of the Williamsburg City Council from 1966-1970, the Williamsburg-James City County School Board from 1981-1987 and the Williamsburg Planning...

John Garland Pollard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...

Pulaski Club Records

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00097
Scope and Contents

Records of the Pulaski Club of Williamsburg, a men's social club, named in honor of Count Pulaski of American Revolutionary War fame.  Includes minutes, correspondence, photographs, poetry, stationery and clippings.  Two letters by John D. Rockefeller are included.

Mary Eleanor Davis Ries Papers, 1870-1967

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 D29
Scope and Contents Papers, 1870-1967, of Mary Eleanor (Davis) Ries. Includes correspondence of Ries with her parents, Donald Walton Davis [1882-1950] and Katherine (Bressler) Davis and other family members including her brother Donald Walton Davis, Jr. and sister Virginia Davis Faulconer as well as research notes, research papers, photographs, postcards, and memorabilia from her years at Smith College. The collection also includes papers of Donald Timmerman Ries and photographs of Williamsburg, Virginia and...

This Century Art Gallery Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.15
Scope and Contents The records of This Century Art Gallery include office, financial, and personal files from various board members and officers, board minutes, printed material such as promotional material and newsletters, artist and exhibit information, inventory notebooks, daily logs, and loose papers. Because Roger Sherman had made notes on many of the papers he gathered to help him write the history of the Gallery, they have been left together, but filed within the categories used for the rest...

Williamsburg Area Historical Society Records

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 1993.41 and Acc. 2005.45
Scope and Contents

Records of the Williamsburg Area Historical Society and six monographs on Williamsburg, Virginia related topics.

Williamsburg Area Performing Arts Center Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.105
Scope and Contents

Minutes, reports, correspondence and papers of the Williamsburg Area Performing Arts Center, formerly the Williamsburg Area Civic and Cultural Center, Inc. of Williamsburg, Virginia. This group attempted to create a performing arts center in the Williamsburg area, but was not successful.

Williamsburg Crossroads Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 323
Scope and Contents

This collection includes summaries of reports for the Williamsburg Crossroads project. The project was a collaboration between the College of William and Mary, the City of Williamsburg, James City County, Colonial Williamsburg, and several other local businesses. The project was in charge of creating a plan for the economic development of the Greater Williamsburg area.

Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 1.09
Scope and Contents This collection covers the Greater Williamsburg Area, including Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, James City County, York County and other nearby communities. It includes gifts and purchases whose contents are ephemeral in nature and not well-suited as stand-alone collections.  The items are usually transient documents of everyday life and can include menus, flyers, advertisements, and programs but can also be postcards, games, ticket stubs, and the like. The majority of...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Reports X
  • Subject: Williamsburg (Va.)--History X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 15
Correspondence 13
Photographs 10
Minutes 9
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 5
∨ more
Programs 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 5
Financial records 4
James City County (Va.)--History--20th century 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--Social life and customs 4
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 3
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History 3
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--20th century 3
Fliers (printed matter) 3
Invitations 3
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 3
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Newspapers 3
Scrapbooks 3
Speeches 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Council 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--Library 3
Broadsides 2
Certificates 2
College of William and Mary--Presidents 2
Diplomas 2
Jamestown Festival (1957) 2
Journals (periodicals) 2
Land use--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
Maps 2
Membership lists 2
Mental illness--Treatment--History 2
Mental illness--Treatment--United States 2
Mental illness--United States 2
Notebooks 2
Pamphlets 2
Poems 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Resolutions (administrative records) 2
Schools--Virginia--Williamsburg 2
Theater 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--City Planning Commission 2
World War, 1939-1945 2
York County (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Yorktown (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agricultural exhibitions--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
American Revolution--Veterans 1
Announcements 1
Art Gallery 1
Artists 1
Athletics--Football--Scandal of 1951 1
Bank statements 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Baptists--Virginia--History 1
Bumper Stickers 1
Business records 1
Buttons (information artifacts) 1
Calendars 1
Charities--Virginia 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Checks (bank checks) 1
Church bulletins 1
Class materials 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
College of William and Mary--Commencement 1
Confederate Memorial (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Curriculum--History 1
Diaries 1
Dissertation 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Eastern State Hospital (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Editorials 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Essays 1
Football--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Fundraising campaigns 1
Garden Clubs--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Genealogy 1
Greeting cards 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Harvard University--History--19th century 1
Isle of Wight County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown 350th Anniversary 1
Legal documents 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Memorandums 1
Men--Virginia--Societies and clubs 1
Mentally ill--Care 1
∧ less
 
Language
English 19
 
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 10
College of William and Mary. 3
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 3
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
College of William and Mary. School of Education 2
∨ more
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 2
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Eastern State Hospital (Va.) 2
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
Williamsburg Garden Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 2
American Association of University Women 1
American Red Cross 1
Anthony, James 1
Bennett, Henry Eastman, 1873-1941 1
Board of Supervisors of James City County (Va.) 1
Bright, Robert Southall, 1872-1947 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bundles for Britain, Inc 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
City Council of Williamsburg (Va.) 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of History 1
Democratic Party (Va.) 1
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 1
Dunmore, John Murray, Earl of, 1732-1809 1
Eastern Lunatic Asylum (Va.) 1
Economic Development 1
Educational and Civic Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Elizabeth II, Queen of Great Britain, 1926- 1
Flickinger, B. Floyd, 1905-1992 1
Graves, Thomas Ashley, Jr 1
Guy family 1
Guy family. 1
Guy, Gladys Elizabeth Bennett 1
Guy, William George 1
Jamestown Church 1
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 1
Kate Custis Circle (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Kimbrough, Janet C. (Janet Coleman) 1
King's Daughters (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Lee Family 1
Lee family 1
Lee, Edward Myers 1
Lee, Elizabeth Mallory, 1902- 1
Lee, Peticolas, 1904- 1
Madison, James, 1749-1812 1
Madison, James, 1751-1836 1
Madison, James, Jr., 1751-1836 1
Madison, James, Sr., 1723-1801 1
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 1
Mathews, Mary 1
Middle Plantation Agricultural Society (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Miller, Shirley Fout 1
Miss Williamsburg Pageant (Va.) 1
Molineux, Will 1
Morton family 1
Morton, Estelle 1
Morton, Richard Lee, 1889-1974 1
Mt. Ararat Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Nott, Edward (Governor) 1
Omohundro Institute of Early American History and Culture 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Peninsula Transit Corporation 1
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 1
Pollard, John Garland, 1871-1937 1
Powell, William Devens 1
Quincy, Josiah 1
Sequeyra, John de, 1712-1795 1
Sherman, Roger 1
Shiflett, Glenna Graves 1
Special Collections Research Center 1
The Model School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
The Palace (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
Tyler, Samuel 1
US Army Quartermaster School 1
Unitarian Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United Service Organizations (U.S.) 1
United States Amateur Ballroom Dancers Association. Chapter #609 (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United States. Board of Veterans Appeals 1
United States. Federal Trade Commission 1
United States. National Park Service 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
Virginia Alcoholic Beverage Control Board 1
Virginia Independence Bicentennial Commission 1
Virginia Museum of Fine Arts 1
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 1
Walsh, Robert, 1784-1859 1
Williamsburg Area Historical Society (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Arts Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 1
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Press, Inc 1
Williamsburg Theater (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg-James City County 1
Woman's Club of Williamsburg (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
∧ less