Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 4 of 4

John Letcher Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01066
Scope and Contents

Papers; 1860-1875; of John Letcher, governor of Virginia, 1860-1864. Includes appointment, 1860, of justices of the peace for Augusta County, Virginia signed by Letcher; and letters, November 3, 1864-September 3, 1865, of Letcher, Lexington Virginia to Joseph A. Hierholzer, Richmond, Virginia. Three of the letters are negative photocopies.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Robert Skipwith Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Sk4
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1834-1898, of Robert Skipwith kept in Goochland County, Va., Richmond, Va. and Powhatan County, Va. Much of Skipwith's life is documented by these 14 diaries and topics include weather, personal affairs (the loss of his wife, and his aging), farming, social life in his neighborhood, the Civil War, Reconstruction, and Virginia politics. He often included genealogical information on individuals when he recorded their deaths. Skipwith's 1862-1865 diary has been digitized...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Found in: Special Collections Research Center

James Thomas, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 T38
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1851-1867, of James Thomas, Jr., a tobacco dealer in Richmond, Va. mainly concerned with the tobacco trade and prices in the Boston, New York, Philadelphia and Baltimore markets. Consists of correspondence and financial papers.

Found in: Special Collections Research Center

Filtered By

  • Subject: Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) X
  • Subject: Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 3
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 3
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Diaries 2
∨ more
Financial records 2
Photographs 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Virginia--Politics and Government 2
Augusta County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Genealogy 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Legal documents 1
Lexington (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Maps 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Photostats 1
Powhatan County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Programs 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia 1
Reports 1
Richmond (Va.)--History 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Shenandoah River Valley (Va. and W. Va.)--History 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Technical reports 1
Tobacco--Virginia--History--19th century 1
United States--Antebellum South--History 1
United States--Economic history 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 1
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
United States--Politics and Government 1
United States--Slavery 1
Virginia Military Institute--History--19th century 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--Maps 1
Washington and Lee University--History--19th century 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
∧ less
 
Names
Booth family 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 1
Hierholzer, Joseph A 1
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 1
∨ more
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 1
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 1
Longwood University 1
Skipwith, Robert 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Thomas, James. Jr. 1
Todd family 1
Whittle (Bishop) 1
∧ less