Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 11 - 20 of 26

Fairfax Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...

Jefferson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 Pst J352
Scope and Contents Negative photostats of papers, 1776-1818, of Thomas Jefferson which concern Williamsburg, Va. and the College of William and Mary. Originals in Jefferson Papers, Library of Congress.

Jay W. Johns, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 74 J64
Scope and Contents The collection contains mostly personal and business correspondence of Jay Winston Johns, Jr., including papers of the Atlas Fuel Corporation of New York, New York and Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Lee-Jackson Memorial, Inc.; the Virginia Trust for Historic Preservation; and "Ash Lawn," now owned by the College of William and Mary.The correspondence of Johns includes correspondence with Virginia Democratic Party figures such as Albertis S. Harrison, William M. Tuck, Mills Godwin, Harry...

Maben Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 69 J72
Scope and Contents Papers, 1676-1967, of and collected by Maben Jones, a genealogist from Columbia, S.C. Includes Jones' genealogical notes, correspondence, and research papers, including photocopied correspondence, legal papers, and other primary source material concerning the Jones family, Flippen family, LeGrand family, Dibrell family, Walker family, Walton family, Scott family, Woodson family and West family. Most of the families that Jones was interested in were from Buckingham County, Va.

Walter Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 Pst J725
Scope and Contents Negative photostats of papers, 1721-1767, of the Jones family of Northumberland County, Va. Includes letters written by Walter Jones while a student at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Va. and while studying medicine at Edinburgh, Scotland and while in Williamsburg, Va. to his brother Thomas Jones of Northumberland County, Va. Originals located at the Library of Congress.

William Lamb Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L16
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1855, 1859-1861, 1864-1909, (52 volumes) of Col. William Lamb (1835-1909), written while a student at the College of William and Mary, newspaper editor, Civil War commander of Fort Fisher, N.C. (1862-1865), coal merchant, Norfolk businessman and mayor (1880-1886), and member of the Board of Visitors and Rector of William and Mary. Collection also includes diary, 1861, and some letters of his wife Sarah Annie Chaffee Lamb as well as page proofs and other material relating to...

John Letcher Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01066
Scope and Contents Papers; 1860-1875; of John Letcher, governor of Virginia, 1860-1864. Includes appointment, 1860, of justices of the peace for Augusta County, Virginia signed by Letcher; and letters, November 3, 1864-September 3, 1865, of Letcher, Lexington Virginia to Joseph A. Hierholzer, Richmond, Virginia. Three of the letters are negative photocopies.

Bishop James Madison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 Pst
Scope and Contents Photostats of correspondence, 1777-1812, of Bishop James Madison, President of College of William & Mary, with Thomas Jefferson, James Monroe, Joseph C. Cabell, St. George Tucker, and others.  These copies are from originals housed in various libraries:  Harvard College Library, Free Library of Philadelphia, University of the South, Church Historical Society in Austin, Texas, Maryland Historical Society, Chicago Historical Society, Yale University and the Free Library of Philadelphia. ...

Stephen R. Mallory Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 75 M29
Scope and Contents Includes correspondence and research papers of English professor Reginald A. Kenney relating to Stephen R. Mallory, Confederate Secretary of the Navy. Collection also contains photostats of Mallory's correspondence (location of originals unknown), a few original papers relating to Mallory and an original photograph of Mallory's daughter, Margaret Mallory Bishop (Mrs. Henry Bishop), nd.

Naugle Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 N22
Scope and Contents Two copies of a privately published volume, Virginia Taxpayers, 1782-1787, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau, by Augusta B. Fothergill and John Mark Naugle (1940); and photocopies of railroad maps, schedules, and views of Civil War sites involving railroads, 1830-1865.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Photostats X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
Jefferson, Thomas, 1743-1826 3
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
Dinwiddie, Robert, 1693-1770 2
Lee, Robert Edward, 1807-1870 2
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 2
∨ more
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Associates of Dr. Bray (Organization) 1
Bartram, John, 1699-1777 1
Blair, John, 1732-1800 1
Brooks, Phillip, 1835-1983 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 1
Cabell, Joseph C. (Joseph Carrington), 1778-1856 1
Carey family 1
Cary, Wilson Miles, 1838-1914 1
Chaffee, Sarah Lamb 1
Clayton, John, 1686-1773 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of English 1
Culpeper family 1
Custis, George Washington Parke, 1781-1857 1
Democratic Party (U.S.) 1
Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) 1
Dolmetsch, Carl (Carl Richard), 1924- 1
Early, Jubal Anderson, 1816-1894 1
Edwards family 1
Equal Suffrage League of Virginia 1
Fairfax, Sally, fl. 1771-1772 1
Fauquier, Francis, 1704?-1768 1
Fields, Joseph E. (Dr.) 1
Ford, Worthington Chauncey, 1858-1941 1
Freeman, Douglas Southall, 1886-1953 1
Gallatin, Albert (1761-1849) 1
Gallatin, Baron Gaspard de, b. 1758 1
Harris family 1
Harrison, Fairfax, 1869-1938 1
Henry, Patrick, 1736-1799 1
Hierholzer, Joseph A 1
Hill, D. H. (Daniel Harvey), 1821-1889 1
Hofheimer family 1
Jackson, Stonewall, 1824-1863 1
Johns, Jay Winston Jr. 1
Lamb, Sarah Anne Chaffee, b. 1837 1
Lamb, William, 1838-1909 1
Letcher, John, 1813-1884 1
Letters for Peace 1
Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865 1
Linnaeus, Carl von, 1707-1778 1
Madison, James, 1749-1812 1
Markova, Ida 1
Marshall, Marie 1
Mencken, H. L. (Henry Louis), 1880-1956 1
Moton, Elizabeth Harris 1
Nicholson, Francis, 1655-1728 1
Oxrieder, Julia W. 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Preston Family 1
Preston family 1
Preston, Francis 1
Preston, Francis, 1765-1836 1
Preston, John, 1764-1827 1
Preston, William 1
Preston, William, ca. 1729-1783 1
Short family 1
Short, William (1759-1849) 1
Sindt, Tobey Mark 1
Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts (Great Britain) 1
Stanard, William G. 1
Surratt family 1
Tayloe, John, fl. 1801 1
Torrence, Clayton, 1884-1953 1
Tronson du Coudray, Philippe Charles Jean Baptiste, 1738-1777 1
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 1
Virginia Gazette 1
Virginia Trust for Historic Preservation 1
Williamsburg Catholic Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Female Institute 1
Williamsburg Female Institute (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Woman's National Christian Temperance Union 1
∧ less