Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 11

Schuyler Otis Bland Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B61
Scope and Contents Chiefly office files and personal correspondence, 1918-1950, of S. O. Bland while serving as member of U. S. Congress from First Virginia District. Collection includes newspaper clippings on topical and geographical areas of interest to Bland, speeches and talks given by Bland as Congressman, and general papers and personal working files he maintained. Included in the general papers is Bland's voting record. As a representative of the First District, Bland focused a significant...

Campaigns and Elections Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C17
Scope and Contents

An artificial collection of documents, election tickets, campaign literature, and photographs from national, state, and local elections. Most of the state election material concerns Virginia and the largest group of materials is from the 1932 presidential campaign.

Charles J. Duke, Jr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 00/06/UA 6.065
Scope and Contents This collection includes memorabilia, resolutions, early William and Mary campus photographs, clippings, and correspondence of Charles J. Duke, Jr. Correspondence, reports and photographs relate to Charles Duke's position as the Bursar of the College of William and Mary. Of particular importance is the material on the Norfolk and Richmond Divisions which later became Old Dominion University and Virginia Commonwealth University, especially the correspondence of Director William T. Hodges....

Lawrence I'Anson Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 85 Ia6
Scope and Contents

Papers, circa 1938-1983, of Lawrence I'Anson, lawyer and justice of the Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals. Includes correspondence, invitations, programs, speeches, judicial opinions, certificates, newspaper clippings, magazine articles, photographs and scrapbooks.

Carter Lowance Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 94 L95
Scope and Contents The personal and professional papers of Carter Lowance, executive assistant to six governors of Virginia: William M. Tuck, John S. Battle, Thomas B. Stanley, J. Lindsay Almond, Albertis S. Harrison and Mills Edwin Godwin. Papers also concern Harry F. Byrd, Sr. and Harry F. Byrd, Jr., and John N. Dalton. There are speeches, papers relating to Lowance's military career (including correspondence with his wife, Elizabeth Austin Lowance), awards received by Lowance, photographs, and papers...

James Madison, Sr. Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 M26
Scope and Contents Dates; 1792-1831, 1931; document and correspondence (some are copies). Includes letters between James Madison, Sr. (1723-1801) and his son President James Madison, Jr., his brother Bishop James Madison, Josiah Quincy, Robert Walsh, and others. Also includes engravings and prints of Madison and a "Report of the Overseers of Harvard University" commenting of the new constitution recently submitted to the people of Virginia. Letters discuss politics, family life in Virginia, religion, and other...

John Garland Pollard Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 70 P76
Scope and Contents Letters, clippings, manuscript volumes, business papers, pamphlets, genealogical material, family papers, reports, memos, campaign literature, photographs of John G. Pollard (1871-1937), lawyer, educator, statesman, humanitarian, and governor of Virginia, 1930-1934. Prominent correspondents include Henry Watkins Anderson, Lady Astor, Frederic W. Boatwright, David K. E. Bruce, John Stewart Bryan, William Jennings Bryan, Harry F. Byrd, James Cannon, J. A. C. Chandler, Calvin Coolidge,...

Harrison Holt Riddleberger Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 R44 and Mss. Acc. 2003.60
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters and other papers, 1872-1902, of H. H. Riddleberger (1844-1890) of Woodstock, Virginia who retained the titles of member of the House of Delegates, 1871-1875; State Senator, 1879- 1882; and U.S. Senator, 1883-l889. Among the correspondents are: William Mahone, William E. Cameron, Winfield S. Hancock, Roscoe Conkling, Robert Toombs, Fitz-John Porter, John W. Daniel, and John Goode. There are letters from Riddleberger to his wife Emma Belew Riddleberger and to...

Robert Skipwith Diaries

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Sk4
Scope and Contents Diaries, 1834-1898, of Robert Skipwith kept in Goochland County, Va., Richmond, Va. and Powhatan County, Va. Much of Skipwith's life is documented by these 14 diaries and topics include weather, personal affairs (the loss of his wife, and his aging), farming, social life in his neighborhood, the Civil War, Reconstruction, and Virginia politics. He often included genealogical information on individuals when he recorded their deaths. Skipwith's 1862-1865 diary has been digitized...

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Photographs X
  • Subject: Virginia--Politics and Government X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 8
Reports 5
Virginia--Politics and Government 5
Agendas (administrative records) 4
Financial records 4
∨ more
Virginia--Politics and government--20th century 4
Certificates 3
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 3
Invitations 3
Legal documents 3
Publications 3
Diaries 2
Fliers (printed matter) 2
Maps 2
Programs 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 2
Speeches 2
Technical reports 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
United States--Politics and Government 2
Virginia--Governors 2
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 2
Agricultural exhibitions--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
American Revolution--Veterans 1
Announcements 1
Baptist Church--Virginia--History 1
Baptists--Virginia--History 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Books 1
Broadsides 1
Bumper Stickers 1
Calendars 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Presidents 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 1
Editorials 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
Elections--United States--History 1
Elections--Virginia 1
Engravings (Prints) 1
Executive departments--Virginia 1
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fishing--Virginia 1
Fundraising campaigns 1
Genealogy 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Goochland County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Greeting cards 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Harvard University--History--19th century 1
Isle of Wight County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Jamestown Festival (1957) 1
Journals (periodicals) 1
Judges--Virginia--History 1
Land use--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Lawyers--Virginia--History 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Matthew Whaley School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Menus 1
Merchant marine--United States 1
Methodist Church--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Microfilms 1
Minutes 1
Newspapers 1
Obituaries 1
Occasion for the Arts 1
Orange County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Orange County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Pamphlets 1
Photocopies 1
Plantation life 1
Plantations 1
Postcards 1
Postcards--Virginia 1
Postcards--Virginia--Jamestown 1
Posters 1
Powhatan County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Presidents--United States--Election--1932 1
Prints 1
Prohibition--United States--History 1
Public libraries--Cultural programs 1
Resolutions (administrative records) 1
Restaurants--Virginia--Williamsburg 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Scrapbooks 1
Signs (declaratory or advertising artifacts) 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 3
Democratic Party (U.S.) 2
Readjuster Party of Virginia 2
Bland family 1
Booth family 1
∨ more
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Cameron, William Evelyn, 1842-1927 1
College of William and Mary. 1
Colonial National Historical Park (Va.) 1
Conkling, Roscoe, 1829-1888 1
Dalton, John N 1
Duke, Charles Joseph, Jr., 1898-1953 1
Educational and Civic Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Godwin, Mills Edwin 1914-1999 1
Goode, John, 1829-1909 1
Hodges, William T. 1
James River and Kanawha Canal (Va.) 1
Longwood University 1
Lowance, Carter, 1910- 1
Madison, James, 1749-1812 1
Madison, James, 1751-1836 1
Madison, James, Jr., 1751-1836 1
Madison, James, Sr., 1723-1801 1
Mahone, William, 1826-1895 1
Marshall-Wythe School of Law 1
Mathews, Mary 1
Middle Plantation Agricultural Society (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Miller, Shirley Fout 1
Miss Williamsburg Pageant (Va.) 1
Mt. Ararat Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Old Dominion University--History 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Peninsula Transit Corporation 1
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 1
Pollard, John Garland, 1871-1937 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Quincy, Josiah 1
Republican Party (U.S.) 1
Richmond Whig (Va.) 1
Shenandoah Herald (Woodstock, Va.) 1
Skipwith, Robert 1
Special Collections Research Center 1
Stanley, Thomas Bahnson, 1890-1970 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
The Palace (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Todd family 1
Tuck, William Munford, 1896-1983 1
Tyler, Samuel 1
Unitarian Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United States Amateur Ballroom Dancers Association. Chapter #609 (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United States Congress 1
United States Senate 1
United States. Board of Veterans Appeals 1
United States. Federal Trade Commission 1
Virginia Commonwealth University 1
Virginia Gazette (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Virginia Independence Bicentennial Commission 1
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 1
Virginia. Supreme Court of Appeals 1
Walsh, Robert, 1784-1859 1
Whig Party (U.S.) 1
Whittle (Bishop) 1
Williamsburg Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Businessmen's Association (Va.) 1
Williamsburg Community Council (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg High School (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Williamsburg Press, Inc 1
Williamsburg Theater (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
∧ less