Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 36

Benjamin Bray Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2002.35
Scope and Contents

One box plus oversize diploma of Benjamin Bray, William and Mary class of 1949.  He was a Common Glory actor, poet, playwright, teacher and social worker. Papers consist mostly of his poetical writings plus one play written with his brother James.

Maud Miller Buxton Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.187
Scope and Contents Letters, legal and business documents, photographs and news clippings of Maud Miller Buxton and associated families of Miller, Buxton and Ditterick. Maud Miller was born in North Dakota and eventually moved to McMinnville, Oregon via Minnesota. Correspondence spans her early childhood through her marriage to Henry Thurston Buxton and Frank Ditterick. Most letters concern family news. Includes commencement invitations, marriage invitations and clippings of marriage announcements and...

Catlett Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2001.28
Scope and Contents Catlett family papers of Caroline County, Virginia. Correspondence that reflects the hard times in Virginia following the Civil War. Collection contains 72 original letters. Written by various extended family members, the majority of the letters are addressed to Arthur Catlett, a former Confederate Soldier and Virginia resident who moved to Texas shortly after the Civil War. Transcriptions for almost all letters, provided by the collection's donor, Elizabeth Jean Voss, are included....

Waverly M. Cole Papers

 Collection
Identifier: UA 5.176
Scope and Contents

This collection contains photographs, letters, and ephemera related to the life and career of Dr. Waverly M. Cole, an anesthesiologist from Richmond, Virginia. Included in the papers are awards and school diplomas, photographs of Cole while a student at the College of William and Mary and the Medical College of Virginia (MCV), and letters written to Human Rights organizations.

Craig Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00292
Scope and Contents Collection consists mostly of letters from Albert Clifton Craig, while a private during the Civil War in the 2nd Illinois Light Artillery, to his parents, Robert and Sarah Craig in Canton, Illinois. The company is composed of men from the area of Canton and Peoria, Illinois, including Albert’s uncle, William J. Gardner.  Albert is a postilion and takes care of the horses. The company travels from Peoria, Illinois through Missouri to Pea Ridge, Arkansas where Albert is injured in battle....

Dale Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01137
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters, 1915-1916, primarily from Carson Dale to his sister, Carrie Dale, detailing his time serving in the English Army during World War I. Additional letters were sent to Carrie  from Britsh soldiers who served with Carson detailing his well-being and his death. Other materials include military records and published sources relating to the service of both Carson J. Dale and his brother Jarvis Dale (1888-1952), who served with the 1st Mississippi Infantry.  Among...

Elizabeth Feldhusen Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00049
Scope and Contents Lieutenant Elizabeth A. Feldhusen (1918-2014) was born in Brooklyn, New York and served in World War II as a nurse at field evacuation hospitals in France, Germany, and Austria. She was part of the 131st Evacuation Hospital activated out of Fort Jackson, South Carolina. After German forces signed full surrender, the 131st was ultimately assigned in Austria near a concentration camp in order to take care of recently liberated Polish and Russian prisoners. This collection includes letters from...

Florence Fix Scrapbook

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.322
Scope and Contents Scrapbook kept by Florence H. Fix (b. 1908) of Milaca, Minnesota from her high school junior year through graduation in the spring. Scrapbook contains invitations, programs, news clippings, letters, photographs, as well as many lengthy entries written by Florence's friends reflecting on their friendship, school days and future. A commencement memory booklet contains the full names of her classmates as well as a brief, often humorous entry listing what they would like to become in life. One...

Ernest L. Frye Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00618
Scope and Contents This collection contains letters, photographs, and other material documenting Ernest L. Frye's time in the 487th Aero Squadron during World War I. Included in the papers are letters from Frye to his brother and sister describing his fellow officers, reminiscing about friends back home in Oregon, his experience on the Aero squadron baseball team, and other matters. Photographs of Frye along with his fellow officers in the 487th and playing baseball, as well as programs for dances, leave...

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Photographs X
  • Subject: Letters (correspondence) X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Photographs 35
Clippings (information artifacts) 10
Scrapbooks 7
Diaries 6
Receipts (financial records) 6
∨ more
Certificates 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--Photographs 5
Greeting cards 4
Postcards 4
Correspondence 3
Financial records 3
Legal documents 3
Newspapers 3
Printed ephemera 3
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 3
World War, 1914-1918--France 3
World War, 1939-1945--Aerial operations 3
Bible records 2
Booklets 2
Cabinet photographs 2
Carte de visite photographs 2
Charlotte County (Va.)--History 2
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
College of William and Mary--Faculty and Staff 2
Diplomas 2
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 2
High school students--United States--Social life and customs--20th century 2
Ledgers (Accounting) 2
Marriage certificates 2
Negatives 2
Orders (military records) 2
Poems 2
Programs 2
Recipes 2
Report cards 2
Tax records 2
Tobacco farmers--Virginia 2
Transcripts 2
Vietnam War, 1961-1975--Personal narratives, American 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--History--19th century 2
World War, 1914-1918--France--Personal narratives 2
World War, 1939-1945 2
World War, 1939-1945--Veterans--United States 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
Account books 1
Accounts 1
Advertising cards 1
Africa--Description and travel 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History 1
Almanacs 1
Amelia County (Va.)--History 1
American Red Cross--History--World War II period 1
Americans, abroad 1
Americans--Italy 1
Amherst County (Va.)--History 1
Anesthesiologists--United States 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Architecture, Domestic--Virginia 1
Athletics--Baseball 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History 1
Autograph albums 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History 1
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History 1
Birth certificates 1
Birthday cards 1
Botetourt County (Va.)--History 1
Broadsides 1
Brunswick County (Va.)--History 1
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 1
Buildings and Grounds--Lake Matoaka Ampitheatre 1
Buttons (fasteners) 1
Campbell County (Va.)--History 1
Card games (game sets) 1
Caroline County (Va.)--History 1
Caswell County (N.C.)--History--19th century 1
Catalogs 1
Catholics 1
Charles City County (Va.)--History 1
Chesterfield County (Va.)--History 1
Christmas cards 1
Church records and registers--Virginia 1
Circulars (fliers) 1
Clarke County (Va.)--History 1
Coins (money) 1
Cold War--1960-1970 1
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--Students 1
College theater--United States 1
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation--History 1
Cookbooks 1
Courtship--United States--History--20th century 1
Criss Cross House (New Kent County, Va.) 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History 1
Daybooks 1
Deeds 1
∧ less
 
Language
English 35
French 2
German 2
Latin 2
Chinese 1
∨ more  
Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 2
Battaile family 1
Bray, Benjamin F., b. circa 1926 and d. 2002 1
∨ more
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Burger, Warren Earl, 1907-1995 1
Buxton, Maud Miller, 1881-1985 1
Carrington family 1
Catlett family 1
Clark, Jefferson H., b. 1890 1
Close, Glenn, 1947- 1
Cole, Stanley 1
College of William and Mary. Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
College of William and Mary. William and Mary Theatre 1
Craig Family 1
Craig, Albert Clifton, 1842-1862 1
Dept. of Theatre, Speech, and Dance 1
Ditterick family 1
Eastern Publishing Co 1
Erb family 1
Feldhusen, Elizabeth 1
Fix, Florence 1
Frye, Ernest L., 1896-1974 1
Galt family 1
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 1
Gardner, William J 1
Garland family 1
Grigsby family 1
Grigsby, Hugh Blair, 1806-1881 1
Harrer, David. 1
Hickman family 1
Jamestown Corporation 1
Jones, W. Melville, 1901-1992 1
Joynt, Richard G. 1
Lavin, Linda, 1937- 1
Lawrence, Clara L. 1
Long, William Ivey 1
Mayer family 1
McIllwaine family 1
McNeil, Mozelle DeVonne, 1934- 1
McNutt, Samuel H. 1
Milaca High School (Milaca, Minn.) 1
Miller, Malcom Howard, 1857-1933 1
Moon, John C 1
Myers family 1
Myers, Barton, 1853-1927 1
Nadel, Murray, 1918-1997 1
Newport News Women's Club (Va.) 1
Offer, August R., Jr. 1
Person, William (1903-1980) 1
Phi Beta Kappa. Virginia Alpha (College of William and Mary) 1
Rembert, John Patrick, 1907-1976 1
Rembert, Sarah 1
Rickert, Carl A. 1
Robertson, Mary A 1
Robison, Samuel 1
Scammon, Howard, 1911-1999 1
Shade, Mary Clark, 1928-2009 1
Skalski, Stan 1
United States. Army. Illinois Light Artillery Regiment 1
United States. Army. Signal Corps 1
United States. Navy. Office of the Paymaster 1
Verkuil, Paul R 1
Verkuil, Paul R. 1
Virginia Shakespeare Festival 1
Virginia. General Court 1
Walker family 1
Walton family 1
Weddenburn, Alexander John, 1849-1916 1
Wedderburn, John, 1868-1932 1
Williamsburg Players (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Winfree family 1
Wissler family 1
Yeaman family 1
Young Men's Division 1
∧ less