Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 9 of 9

Baird Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B16
Scope and Contents Collection includes papers, 1656-1848, concerning Essex County, Va. including land records and wills, many of which relate to the Rowzee family. Many of the records date from the seventeenth century. The collection also includes correspondence, 1830-1920, of members of the Baird family including letters, 1859-1911, of Edward R. Baird while attending the University of Virginia, serving in Pickett's Division and as superintendent of schools in Essex County. There are...

Charles H. Bell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B41
Scope and Contents The collection includes the correspondence, certificates, photographs, accounts, and journals of Rear Admiral Charles H. Bell. Naval journals cover Bell's service in the Mediterranean Sea from 1855-1858. The photographs are a mix of personal and souvenirs, which largely depict men and women from Peru. There is also material related to his role as executor for the estate of Samuel Swartwout. The collection also includes papers related to the Smith family, particularly Bell's executor and...

Robert S. Campbell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C18
Scope and Contents

Correspondence, personal accounts, 7 ledgers, and legal papers, 1869-1912, of Robert S. Campbell, sheriff of Fluvanna County, Va. Includes materials on raising cattle, travel, the duties of a sheriff, and material relative to Fluvanna County. One of the ledgers is 502 pages in length and contains numerous correspondence loosely tucked inside the volume.

Mary and Hannah Gibbons Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2008.51
Scope and Contents Papers, 1793-1890, of sisters and Quaker educators, Mary and Hannah Gibbons. A small number of papers are directly related to their brother, Joseph Gibbons. Correspondence predominantly discusses relatives, friends, travels, and religious sentiments. The second series of items is family and personal papers, consisting of poems, copied scripture, drug prescriptions, and family records. The papers relating to the Infant School established by Mary and Hannah Gibbons make up the third series and...

Hall Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 H14
Scope and Contents This collection consists of the papers of the Hall and Moore families of New York, Richmond, Va. and Williamsburg, Va. Includes wills, estate papers, legal and financial transactions, 1810-1915, of Jacob Hall, Sarah Hall and Cunningham Hall; and Bishop Richard Channing Moore, Virginia Moore, Harriet Glenworth Moore, Margaretta Moore and Louise Moore. Contains correspondence, 1854-1876, between Zebulon S. Farland and Ellen Douglas Gordon Farland; letters, 1906-1928, to Margaret (Farland)...

Fairfax Harrison Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 H25
Scope and Contents Papers, 1736-1945, of and collected by Fairfax Harrison. Papers collected include colonial era documents, deeds, surveys, the diary of Sally Fairfax (1771-1772), legal papers, a copy of the Dettingen Parish (Prince William County, Va.) vestry book which contains minutes, indentures, and other (1745-1802), and photostat copy of the letterbook (1801) of Col. John Tayloe of Mount Airy, Va. Fairfax Harrison's papers include his correspondence with individuals and institutions concerning his...

John Sizer Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01086
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1853-1861, of John Sizer of King William County, Va. Includes manuscript volumes of notes taken while traveling to and at the World's Fair of 1853 in New York, N. Y.; will (copy), 1860; and account, 1861, of the sale of goods from his estates. Typescript of World's Fair notes available in library.

Upshur Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 66 Up8
Scope and Contents Papers, 1622-1936, of the Upshur family of the Eastern Shore of Virginia. Chiefly the genealogical correspondence and notes of Thomas Teackle Upshur (d. 1910) who was interested in the local history of Northampton and Accomack counties, Va. and in the genealogies of Eastern Shore families. Includes three manuscript volumes (indexed) called "Genealogies of the Kingdom of Accomack." The family papers of the Upshur family includes correspondence, 1786-1910, unpublished writings, accounts, and...

William F. Willoughby Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 72 W66
Scope and Contents Papers 1818-1955, of William Willoughby, economist, government official, director for the Institute of Research. The papers of William F. Willoughby, mostly concern his service as treasurer and secretary of Puerto Rico and as deputy legal adviser to President Yuan Shikai of China during the period when Yuan made an unsuccessful attempt to restore the monarchy to China by having himself crowned emperor. The collection includes personal correspondence of Willougby with his twin brother Westel...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Notebooks X
  • Subject: Legal documents X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 8
Financial records 6
Account books 5
Photographs 4
Scrapbooks 3
∨ more
Diaries 2
Manuscripts (document genre) 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Accomack County (Va.)--History 1
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
American diaries--Women authors 1
Certificates 1
China--History--1912-1928 1
China--Politics and government--1912-1928 1
Cigars--History 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Pickett's Division 1
Debt, Imprisonment for--Virginia 1
Eastern Shore (Va.)--History 1
Education, Higher--Virginia--History 1
Education--Virginia--Essex County--History 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--Clergy--20th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--17th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Executors and administrators--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fairs--United States 1
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Genealogical tables 1
Genealogy 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Horses--Virginia 1
Indentures 1
Invitations 1
King William County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Letter books 1
Minutes 1
New York Exhibition of the Industry of All Nations (1853-1854) 1
Northampton County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Parishes--Virginia 1
Photostats 1
Physicians--Virginia--Charlottesville 1
Poems 1
Prince William County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Private Libraries 1
Publications 1
Puerto Rico--History 1
Puerto Rico--Politics and government--1898-1952 1
Quaker women--History--19th century 1
Quaker women--Pennsylvania--Philadelphia--Correspondence 1
Quakers--Education--Pennsylvania--History 1
Quakers--United States--History--19th century 1
Reports 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Sheriffs--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Surveys (documents) 1
Tobacco industry--Massachusetts 1
United States. Navy--History--19th century 1
University of Virginia--History 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--History--18th century 1
Virginia--History--19th century 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775--Historiography 1
Virginia--Religious history 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Women--History--Virginia 1
Women--Pennsylvania--History 1
World War, 1914-1918 1
World's Fair--History--19th century 1
∧ less
 
Language
German 1
 
Names
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Baird family 1
Barron family 1
Bell, Charles Heyer, 1798-1875 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1