Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3

Barraud Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B26
Scope and Contents Correspondence and other papers, mostly 1810-1860, of the Barraud family of Norfolk, Virginia. Correspondence of Dr. Philip Barraud (1758-1830), his wife, Ann Blaws (Hansford) Barraud (1760-1836), and their children, included Daniel Cary Barraud (1790-1867), Otway Byrd Barraud (b. 1801), and Leliana (Barraud) Baker (b. 1805). A number of the letters, as well as some poems, are from St. George Tucker (1752-1827), a close friend of Barraud's when he lived in Williamsburg,...

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

Conway Whittle Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 76 W61
Scope and Contents Papers of Conway Whittle II of Norfolk, Va. and of his two sisters, Mary Eliza Whittle Neale and Frances Munford Whittle Lewis. There are items concerning the earlier generation of the family, represented by Conway Whittle I and his brother Fortescue Whittle, Norfolk merchants. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of social history and naval history (including personal and official correspondence of William Lewis [1781-1815] and several letters of his...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century X
  • Subject: United States. Navy X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Legal documents 2
United States. Navy 2
Cabinet photographs 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Certificates 1
∨ more  
Language
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
Barraud Family 1
Barraud family 1
Barraud, Ann Blaws Hansford, 1760-1836 1
Barraud, Ann Blaws, 1760-1836 1
Barraud, Daniel Cary, 1790-1867 1