Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6

Scrapbook of Campus Life and Events

 Collection
Identifier: UA 131
Scope and Contents This scrapbook contains programs from student activities at the College such as the H2E Club Circus, theater productions, May Day events, debates, and Phi Beta Kappa events. It also includes student government materials, including a 1933 ballot and handbills from the Student Party and the Progressive Party, or "Non-Fraternity Frat."

Lena Pomeroy Galanis Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00893
Scope and Contents Lena Pomeroy began her diary on July 31, 1924, when she was just 15 years old. It is a small one, written at the beginning of a composition book that is approximately 6" X 8" in size (15.24 cm X 20.32 cm). She numbered the pages of her diary. When she started it, she was pregnant, and going away from her home in Bartlesville to “the Mother Lee Home.” She made her last entry on December 5, 1924. The diary entries consistently show how much she missed her family. They also reflect...

Ivy House Restaurant Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.51
Scope and Contents The records of the Ivy House Restaurant in Williamsburg, Virginia include business records, guest registers, customer and business correspondence, legal documents, and a variety of ephemera from the local business including menus. This mid-20th century collection documents the history of this restaurant during a time when Williamsburg was going through changes and growth in the tourism industry.

Harry and Anna Saxer Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.136, 2009.162
Scope and Contents In 1949 Harry Saxer, a Pennsylvania steel executive, and his wife Anna Saxer traveled to Germany to assist U. S. military officials with the restoration of Germany's steel industry after World War II.  The Saxers were in Germany for much of 1949.  Harry Saxer was a civilian employee of  the U. S. Army, and worked with the Combined Steel Group in Germany. They assembled two scrapbooks (Acc. 2009.136) to document their stay in Germany. Some of the predominant formats included are...

Marie Katherine and Oliver E. Seegelken Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2014.083
Scope and Contents The papers of Marie Katherine and Oliver Seegelken consist of a 1934 diary of the couple's South American sea voyage kept by Marie Seegelken, and of love letters between husband and wife, 1918, 1943, and undated. During WWI, Oliver Seegelken served in the USNRF (United States Naval Reserve Force) in San Pedro, California. The diary is filled not only with an account of each day, but with hand-drawn illustrations of passengers, crew, and ports.  Marie Seegelken also wrote vignettes...

Williamsburg (Va.) Area Ephemera Collection

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 1.09
Scope and Contents This collection covers the Greater Williamsburg Area, including Williamsburg, Yorktown, Jamestown, James City County, York County and other nearby communities. It includes gifts and purchases whose contents are ephemeral in nature and not well-suited as stand-alone collections.  The items are usually transient documents of everyday life and can include menus, flyers, advertisements, and programs but can also be postcards, games, ticket stubs, and the like. The majority of materials...