Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 7 of 7

Austin-Twyman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 Au7
Scope and Contents Papers, 1765 (1800-1890) 1939, of the Austin, Twyman, Spiller and Horsley families of Amherst and Buckingham counties, Virginia.The papers include correspondence, accounts, legal papers and manuscript volumes. Includes papers of Archibald Austin (1772-1837), member of Congress, 1817-1819, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, 1815-1816, 1835-1837, his wife, Grace R. (Booker) Austin and their children, James M. Austin, John Austin and Bernard Austin, Grace Austin and Frances...

S. B. Barham Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00467
Scope and Contents

Bills and accounts, 1904-1910, of Dr. S. B. Barham, Runnymede, Surry Co., Va. Includes a letter, 26 January 1907, to Barham concerning the rebuilding of the Surry County Courthouse.

Barraud Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B26
Scope and Contents Correspondence and other papers, mostly 1810-1860, of the Barraud family of Norfolk, Virginia. Correspondence of Dr. Philip Barraud (1758-1830), his wife, Ann Blaws (Hansford) Barraud (1760-1836), and their children, included Daniel Cary Barraud (1790-1867), Otway Byrd Barraud (b. 1801), and Leliana (Barraud) Baker (b. 1805). A number of the letters, as well as some poems, are from St. George Tucker (1752-1827), a close friend of Barraud's when he lived in Williamsburg,...

Blow Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B63
Scope and Contents Papers, 1770-1875, of the Blow family of "Tower Hill," Sussex County, Va. and of the Waller family. Prominent correspondents in the collection include Philip Barraud, John Hartwell Cocke, Henry Lee and Edmund Ruffin. Most of these accessions were integrated as the collection was partially processed, but some are boxed separately. Includes a Blow family scrapbook containing many manuscript items. Collection includes: correspondence of Richard Blow (1746-1833), merchant, who had...

James Fenton Bryant Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 85 B84
Scope and Contents

Correspondence, 1873-1903, of Dr. James Fenton Bryant. Chiefly, 1885-1888, with Margaret (Gunter) Bryant of Enfield, North Carolina who became his second wife. The letters concern their courtship and marriage. The collection also includes some letters from Margaret Gunter's sister, and her cousins at Richmond, Virginia, Lynchburg, Virginia and Tarborough, North Carolina; account books and a diary of Dr. Bryant.

Luttrell-Cooke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 L97
Scope and Contents Personal papers and business accounts; 1820-1900; of the Luttrell and Cooke families of Rappahannock and Culpeper Counties. Includes correspondence (personal and business) between Luttrell and Cooke families, the Garth family, Ficklen family, and family in West Virginia. Papers discuss Buchanan's inauguration, Sons of Temperance, and the difficulties of a doctor trying to establish a practice at Bridgewater, Va. Also includes letters; 1853-1859; from family in Missouri which discuss living...

Maupin-Washington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 M44
Scope and Contents Papers, 1732-1932, of the Maupin and Washington families. The bulk of the papers, 1850-1870, are letters received by Peter Grayson Washington who served as Assistant Secretary of the U. S. Treasury from 1853- 1857. Most of the letters relate to political patronage, Democratic Party politics and the various responsibilities of the Treasury Department. Later letters relate to Washington's work as a claims agent in Washington, D. C. and to his investments in New York City. The collection also...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Medicine--Practice X
  • Subject: Correspondence X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Account books 3
Financial records 3
Diaries 2
Legal documents 2
Medicine--Study and teaching--Virginia 2
∨ more
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
United States--History--War of 1812 2
Agriculture--United States--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
Amherst County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Buckingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Cavalry Regiment, 13th. Company H 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Volunteers, Third Brigade 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Hampden-Sydney College--History--19th century 1
History of the College 1
Indians of North America 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Marriage--United States--History--19th century 1
Medicine 1
Medicine, Rural--Practice 1
Medicine--Practice--United States 1
Medicine--United States--History--18th century 1
Medicine--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Merchants--North Carolina--History--18th century 1
Merchants--North Carolina--History--19th century 1
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Music--18th century 1
Music--Virginia--Williamsburg. 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Nottaway Indians 1
Photographs 1
Rappahannock County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Receipts (financial records) 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Slaves--United States--Correspondence 1
Slaves--Virginia--Correspondence 1
Slaves--Virginia--Social conditions 1
Spanish-American War, 1898 1
Surry County (Va.)--History 1
Tower Hill (Sussex County, Va.) 1
United States--Abolition--History 1
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
United States. Dept. of the Treasury 1
United States. Navy 1
University of Virginia--History--19th century 1
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Virginia. General Assembly. House of Delegates 1
Virginia. Militia. 15th Regiment 1
Virginia. Militia. 4th Regiment 1
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Women--Education--Virginia 1
∧ less
 
Names
Barraud, Philip, 1758-1830 2
Austin family 1
Austin, Archibald, 1772-1837 1
Barraud Family 1
Barraud family 1