Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 31 - 40 of 42

Plan de la ville et environs de Williamsburg en Virginie, America (Frenchman's Map of Williamsburg, Virginia), 1782-2011

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.002
Scope and Contents The Plan de la ville et environs de Williamsburg en Virginie, America (a 11 mai 1782, levé au pas), also known as the Frenchman's Map is a map of Williamsburg dated May 11, 1782. It was drafted by an unknown Frenchman probably stationed with Rochambeau's army. Its detail suggests perhaps a billeting map for the French army following the battle of Yorktown. It has been called the "Bible of the Restoration of Williamsburg" because of the detail of the original buildings shown. It has also been...

General David Allen Russell Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00642
Scope and Contents This collection consists of correspondence, sketches, and other material mostly related to Union General David Allen Russell during the Civil War. Included in the papers are letters from the battlefield, hand-drawn sketches of the battlefield in Yorktown, Virginia and near Petersburg on the Appomattox River, issues of the Baltimore Clipper and the Philadelphia Inquirer  newspapers regarding Fort Monroe and the Battle of Antietam,...

Sanborn Insurance Atlas, Williamsburg, Virginia

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. Acc. 2006.39 and 2007.100
Scope and Contents 2006.39

Sanborn Insurance Atlas of Williamsburg.  Transferred to Rare Books and filed as:  G 1294 .W5 G495.

2007.100

Images of Sanborn Insurance Atlas of Williamsburg.  Transferred to Audio-Visual Collection.

9 large maps, June, 1960 in mapcase 55 drawer 13.

Harry and Anna Saxer Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.136
Scope and Contents In 1949 Harry Saxer, a Pennsylvania steel executive, and his wife Anna Saxer traveled to Germany to assist U. S. military officials with the restoration of Germany's steel industry after World War II.  The Saxers were in Germany for much of 1949.  Harry Saxer was a civilian employee of  the U. S. Army, and worked with the Combined Steel Group in Germany.They assembled two scrapbooks (Acc. 2009.136) to document their stay in Germany. Some of the predominant formats included are...

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...

William Munford Tuck Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 68 T79
Scope and Contents This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman. Tuck's law practice files and his correspondence, 1950-1953, are arranged alphabetically. His congressional file is arranged alphabetically and the legislation files are arranged by session...

United States Military Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 Un3
Scope and Contents Artificial collections of papers, mainly 1830-1880 and 1941-1946, concerning the United States military but excluding Civil War materials. Collection includes return, 1782, of J. Pannill's Brigade, Williamsburg, Va.; printed regulations, 1814, for the uniform of U.S. Light Dragoons; pay voucher, 1833, for Philip St. George Cocke; papers, 1836-1848, concerning service of M.M. Payne; general order no. 94, and pencil sketch concerning the Mexican War; printed general orders for 1869, 1871, and...

Virginia Counties Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.

Thomas L. Williams Collection

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00254
Scope and Contents Photographs, negatives, slides, film, postcards, ephemera, correspondence and artifacts belonging to Thomas L. Williams, photographer for William & Mary for 35 years. He was also a photographer for Camp Peary and Colonial Williamsburg prior to working for William & Mary.

Williamsburg Documentary Project Collection

 Collection
Identifier: UA 351
Scope and Contents This collection is composed of material collected and created by the Williamsburg Documentary Project. The Williamsburg Documentary Project conducts oral history interviews and builds physical and digital archives, as well as other activities, through which it interprets Williamsburg’s recent past. This collection includes publications, news clippings, interviews, and planning documents about Merchant's Square, New Town, food, immigration, as well as events related to the controversy...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Maps X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Names
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 5
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 2
College of William and Mary. 2
Colonial Williamsburg Foundation 2
Madison, James, 1749-1812 2
∨ more
American Studies Program 1
Anderson Seminary 1
Beverley, Martha A. 1
Blaeu, Willem Janszoon, 1571-1638 1
Blankenship family 1
Board of Supervisors of James City County (Va.) 1
Booth family 1
Bowen, Emanuel, 1693 or 1694-1767 1
Boyle, Robert, 1627-1691 1
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bryant, William Cullen, 1794-1878 1
Busch Gardens (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Bushnell, Belle Johnston, b. 1859 1
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Charles, 1807-1876 1
Carter, Mary B. 1
Chouteau, Rene Auguste, 1749-1829 1
City Council of Williamsburg (Va.) 1
Clark, Jefferson H., b. 1890 1
College of William and Mary 1
Crawford, Samuel Wylie 1
Cryer, William 1
Cullen, John 1
Davenport, Matthew 1
Democratic Party (U.S.) 1
Dept. of Parking Services 1
Economic Development 1
Educational and Civic Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Elizabeth II, Queen of Great Britain, 1926- 1
Ewell, Judith 1
Farmer's Register 1
Greeley, Horace, 1811-1872 1
Gregory, George Craghead, 1878-1956 1
Hamilton, Frances H., 1928-2008 1
Harrison, William Henry, 1773-1841 1
Hart, John, 1860-1937 1
Holt, George Edmund 1
Homann, Johann Baptist, 1663-1724 1
Jamestown Church 1
Jesse, Julie 1
Johns, Jay Winston Jr. 1
Johnson, Lyndon B. (Lyndon Baines), 1908-1973 1
Knights of the Golden Horseshoe 1
Kurz, Rudolph Friedrich, 1818-1871 1
L'Isle, Guillaume de, 1675-1726 1
Leigh, John T. 1
Long, Stephen Harriman, 1784-1864 1
Longwood University 1
Lotter, Tobias Conrad, 1717-1777 1
Luedtke, Louis W. 1
Lyle, James A. 1
Mathews, Mary 1
Maxwell, William, 1784-1857 1
Memphis Medical College, Memphis, Tenn 1
Middle Plantation Agricultural Society (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Miller, Shirley Fout 1
Millington family 1
Millington, John, 1779-1868 1
Miss Williamsburg Pageant (Va.) 1
Molineux, Will 1
Monroe, James, 1758-1831 1
Moore family 1
Mt. Ararat Baptist Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
New York Weekly Journal of Commerce 1
Parking Services 1
Peninsula News (Toano, Va.) 1
Peninsula Transit Corporation 1
Petersburg Index (Va.) 1
Pulaski Club (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
Richmond Enquirer 1
Saint Helene, Placide de 1
Say, Thomas, 1787-1834 1
Senex, John, d. 1740 1
Seutter, Matthaeus, 1678-1756 1
Shade, Mary Clark, 1928-2009 1
Smith, Richard C. 1
Southern Literary Messenger 1
Special Collections Research Center 1
Taliaferro family 1
Taliaferro family. 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Tecumseh, Shawnee Chief, 1768-1813 1
The Palace (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
The Virginia Comedians 1
Todd family 1
Tuck, William Munford 1
Unitarian Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United States Amateur Ballroom Dancers Association. Chapter #609 (Williamsburg, Va.) 1
United States Congress 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 10th 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 1st 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 22nd 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Mounted Rifles, 1st 1
∧ less