Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

Herbert H. Bateman State Senate Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 83 B31
Scope and Contents Office files, 1968-1982, of Herbert H. Bateman, Virginia Republican State Senator from Newport News. Includes correspondence with constituents and state officials; bills and legislative materials; memorandum; reports; pamphlets; and publications arranged according to subject. The collection contains background information and committee working papers showing Virginia's responses to the energy crisis of the late 1970's and to Ronald Reagan's "New Federalism" programs as well as the...

Lottie V. Clark Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C54
Scope and Contents Papers of members of the Clark family of Amelia County, Virginia, dated 1849, 1889-1899, 1915. The collection consists primarily of letters written to Lottie V. Clark of Namozine, Amelia County, Virginia, by Anthelia Holt and other friends in Chesterfield County, Virginia, which discuss social, religious, and family matters, and Anthelia's work in a cotton mill. In addition, there are letters, invitations, and poems, 1849, 1890, and n.d., addressed to Martha Susan Clark and Missouri A....

Richard Billups Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 B49
Scope and Contents

Business, military and legal papers, chiefly 1774-1822, of Richard Billups of Mathews and Gloucester Counties, Virginia. Papers include accounts, land records, and correspondence and some concern shipbuilding. Includes minutes, 1842, of a temperance meeting and Methodist church records.

Thomas W. Thomas Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 T36
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1834-1863, of Thomas W. Thomas, soldier, lawyer, and judge of Elberton, GA concerning his law practice and  his friendship with US Senator Robert Toombs. His papers primarily concern his various legal cases, but also discuss politics, the Civil War, and other topics sporadically. Included in the collection are papers, 1834-1864, of Drury B. Cade who operated a canal boat on the Savannah River. Items of special interest include letter, 3 April 1842, from John Reeves Jones...

Wood Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W85
Scope and Contents

Dated 1806-1878. Business and legal papers of John H. Wood, constable of Louisa County, VA. Included are a receipt for $0.76 which he paid for 138 acres of land, that being taxes due; the papers of William J., David, and Charles W. Wood; and papers of Charles Vest, Albemarle County. Also contains personal letters with economic and political comments.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Legal documents X
  • Subject: United States--Economic history X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Financial records 4
United States--Politics and Government 3
Minutes 2
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
∨ more  
Names
Anthelia Holt 1
Bateman, Herbert Harvell, 1928-2000 1
Billups, Richard 1
Clark, Lottie V., fl. 1888-1895 1
Clark, Martha Susan 1