Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 76 - 97 of 97

William Sterrett Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 1996.41
Scope and Contents Business papers of Sterrett who was a lawyer, real estate agent and county clerk of Mason County, Virginia (now West Virginia) includes letters, accounts, deeds, promissory notes, legal records, wills and other business records. Most of the letters are from Colin Auld of Alexandria, Va. Note: Correspondents include James Hall of Harrisonburg Va., John A. Marmaduke of Hillsborough and Shepherdstown, West Virginia, George W. Peter, John P. C. Peter, Thomas Peter of Georgetown, D. C., John...
Dates: 1799-1868

Daniel Stickley Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 St5
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1829-1912, including documents concerning the estates of David Stickley, John Cooley, Jacob Sonner, J. Funk, Henry R. Browning and William McCord which were handled by Col. Daniel Stickley.

Dates: 1829-1912

William B. Stone Papers

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01176
Scope and Contents

Financial and legal papers of Major William B. Stone, a lawyer in Port Tobacco, Maryland. Includes a letter, dated 11 May 1848, by T. S. Stone to "Tom" at Princeton University urging the improvement of his penmanship and the abandonment of the use of tobacco, and extolling the virtues of physical education. One document mentions Peter Vivian Daniel and another concerns Stone's candidacy for a circuit judgeship.

Dates: 1800-1868

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...
Dates: 1811-1954

Evans Tanner Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 T16
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1830-1880, of Evans Tanner of Tanner's Store, Mecklenburg County, Va., many concerning the tobacco trade. Includes letters, 1843-1855 and accounts, 1849-1880, of Evans Tanner; accounts, 1844-1848, of King, Walker & Co., Mecklenburg County, Va.; and accounts, 1852-1854, of Walker & Tanner, Mecklenburg County, Va.

Dates: 1830-1880

Jacob Thomas Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 T37
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1852-1870, of Jacob Thomas, Staunton, Va. while serving as administrator of the estates of Daniel and Henry Thomas. Includes accounts and legal documents.

Dates: 1852-1870

Thomas Staples Martin papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 98 M36
Scope and Contents

Letters, receipts and legal papers of U. S. Senator Thomas S. Martin relating chiefly to his law practice in Charlottesville and Scottsville, Va.

Dates: 1855-1902; Majority of material found within 1870-1889

Thomas W. Thomas Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 T36
Scope and Contents Papers, chiefly 1834-1863, of Thomas W. Thomas, soldier, lawyer, and judge of Elberton, GA concerning his law practice and  his friendship with US Senator Robert Toombs. His papers primarily concern his various legal cases, but also discuss politics, the Civil War, and other topics sporadically. Included in the collection are papers, 1834-1864, of Drury B. Cade who operated a canal boat on the Savannah River. Items of special interest include letter, 3 April 1842, from John Reeves Jones...
Dates: 1809-1915; Majority of material found in 1834-1863

Trice Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2011.409
Scope and Contents

Papers include correspondence, receipts, customer accounts and printed materials of general store owner Richard Trice and legal documents and county complaints for Justice of Peace, and son of Richard Trice, James M. Trice, both of Goochland County, Virginia.

Dates: 1830-1920

William Munford Tuck Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 68 T79
Scope and Contents This collection is housed off-site. At least 72 hours advanced notice is required for retrieval. Papers, 1918-1968, of William Munford Tuck, Democrat, member of the Virginia House of Delegates, Virginia State Senate, lieutenant-governor, governor, and congressman. Tuck's law practice files and his correspondence, 1950-1953, are arranged alphabetically. His congressional file is arranged alphabetically and the legislation files are arranged by session...
Dates: 1918-1968

Tucker-Coleman Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 40 T79
Scope and Contents Papers, primarily 1770-1907, of the Tucker and Coleman families of Williamsburg, Winchester, Lexington, Staunton and Richmond, including papers of: St. George Tucker (1752-1827), Nathaniel Beverley Tucker (1784-1851), Henry St. George Tucker (1780-1848), Ann Frances Bland (Tucker) Coalter (1779-1813), John Coalter (1769-1838), and John Randolph of Roanoke (commonplace book is in box 64B), as well as other family members. Members of the family were involved in law, politics,...
Dates: 1664-1945; Majority of material found in 1770-1907

Turner Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00141
Scope and Contents Papers, 1778-1908, of the Turner family of "Orapax," New Kent County, Virginia which include references to John P. Turner, John D. Turner, and Louisa B. Turner. Some of the letters describe the effects of the Civil War on civilians. The collection also includes correspondence of the related Robinson family, specifically of Benjamin Robinson and Lucy H. Robinson of King William County, Virginia. There is a letter, 1870, and receipts, 1876 and 1882, which concern a loan from John D. Turner to...
Dates: 1778-1908

Tyler Family Papers, Group A

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T97 Group A
Scope and Contents Papers, 1716-1944, of the John Tyler family of "Sherwood Forest," Charles City County, Va. The collection contains correspondence, 1818-1862, of John Tyler concerning politics, War of 1812 claims, presidential election of 1840, land purchases in western Virginia, Kentucky and Illinois, "Sherwood Forest," business matters and his family. Some of the children of John Tyler and his first wife, Letitia Christian Tyler, are represented in the collection: Robert Tyler (and wife,...
Dates: 1716-1946

Upshur Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 66 Up8
Scope and Contents Papers, 1622-1936, of the Upshur family of the Eastern Shore of Virginia. Chiefly the genealogical correspondence and notes of Thomas Teackle Upshur (d. 1910) who was interested in the local history of Northampton and Accomack counties, Va. and in the genealogies of Eastern Shore families. Includes three manuscript volumes (indexed) called "Genealogies of the Kingdom of Accomack." The family papers of the Upshur family includes correspondence, 1786-1910, unpublished writings, accounts, and...
Dates: 1662-1936

Virginia Cities Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82ci
Scope and Contents

Artificial collection of papers relating to various cities in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Dates: 1663-1980

Virginia Counties Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.4 V82co
Scope and Contents

Artificial collection of papers relating to various counties in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

Includes current West Virginia Counties of Berkeley, Hardy, Jefferson, Morgan, Nicholas and Pendleton because the material was generated when these counties were part of Virginia.

Dates: 1600-2000; Majority of material found in 1730-1890

Webb Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.2 W38
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1792-1822, concerning the law suit of John C. Webb and Jacob Keeling and his wife Sarah Webb Keeling against George Webb, administrator of Kedar Webb, deceased. (Jacob Keeling was the administrator of Sarah Webb, James Webb and Penelope Webb.) Includes documents and accounts concerning Nansemond and Norfolk counties, Va. Sarah Webb Keeling was the daughter of James Webb. Kedar Webb was the son of James Webb and his wife Sarah Webb.

Dates: 1792-1822

White-Garnett Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 W58
Scope and Contents

Correspondence and legal papers of William H. White (1847-1920) and Theodore S. Garnett, Jr. (1844-1915), law partners of Norfolk, Va. concerning the collection of notes due, estate settlements and Virginia politics. Among the correspondents are John Warwick Daniel, Eppa Hunton, Thomas Staples Martin, John Barbee Minor, William Nathan Harrell Smith, David Gardiner Tyler and John S. Wise.

Dates: 1876-1893

Williamsburg Players Records

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 91 W67 and 1995.11
Scope and Contents Collection consists of correspondence, financial and legal documents, receipts, meeting minutes, photographs, newspaper articles, slides, as well as other material of the Williamsburg Players.Mss. 91 W67 Twelve scrapbooks of publicity, photographs, newsclippings, and programs, from its founding in 1956 to 1987.Mss. Acc. 1995.11 Programs, newsletters, minutes, news clippings, play reading committee material, correspondence regarding grants, photographs and drawings of...
Dates: 1956-2004

William F. Willoughby Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 72 W66
Scope and Contents Papers 1818-1955, of William Willoughby, economist, government official, director for the Institute of Research. The papers of William F. Willoughby, mostly concern his service as treasurer and secretary of Puerto Rico and as deputy legal adviser to President Yuan Shikai of China during the period when Yuan made an unsuccessful attempt to restore the monarchy to China by having himself crowned emperor. The collection includes personal correspondence of Willougby with his twin brother Westel...
Dates: 1818-1955; Majority of material found within 1891-1937

Wood Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W85
Scope and Contents

Dated 1806-1878. Business and legal papers of John H. Wood, constable of Louisa County, VA. Included are a receipt for $0.76 which he paid for 138 acres of land, that being taxes due; the papers of William J., David, and Charles W. Wood; and papers of Charles Vest, Albemarle County. Also contains personal letters with economic and political comments.

Dates: 1806-1878

C. L. Worthington Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 W89
Scope and Contents The collection also contains miscellaneous manuscripts and account books. Included in this material are: land grants, 1761 and 1766, for land in Fairfax and Frederick counties, Va.; eighty-five survey maps of Frederick, Fauquier, and Loudoun counties, Va. and Berkeley and Hampshire counties, W. Va.; road petitions, 1743-1828, for Frederick County; affidavits for Revolutionary War service; correspondence, 1923-1930, of the Improved Order of Redmen, Great Council of Virginia; letters written...
Dates: 1752-1938

Filtered By

  • Subject: Legal documents X
  • Subject: Financial records X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Financial records 85
Correspondence 80
Receipts (financial records) 37
Account books 19
Photographs 19
∨ more
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 18
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 14
Genealogy 13
Diaries 11
Invoices 10
United States--History--War of 1812 8
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 7
Notebooks 7
United States--Politics and Government 7
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 7
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 6
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 6
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century 6
Manuscripts (document genre) 6
Minutes 6
Reports 6
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 6
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 6
Certificates 5
College of William and Mary--History--18th century 5
Deeds 5
Executors and administrators--Virginia--History--19th century 5
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 5
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 5
Virginia--Genealogy 5
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 5
Virginia--Politics and Government 5
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--20th century 5
Agendas (administrative records) 4
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 4
College of William and Mary--History--20th century 4
Daybooks 4
Horses--Virginia 4
Lawyers--Virginia--Correspondence 4
Lawyers--Virginia--History 4
Petitions 4
Poems 4
Publications 4
Richmond (Va.)--History--19th century 4
Scrapbooks 4
Sheriffs--Virginia--History--19th century 4
Speeches 4
Surveys (documents) 4
United States--Economic history 4
United States--Slavery 4
Virginia--History--19th century 4
Virginia--Militia 4
Virginia--Politics and Government--18th century 4
Williamsburg (Va.)--History--19th century 4
World War, 1914-1918 4
Accomack County (Va.)--History 3
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Bedford County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Buckingham County (Va.)--History 3
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 3
Fluvanna County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 3
Indentures 3
Letters (correspondence) 3
Maps 3
Merchants--Virginia--History--18th century 3
Photostats 3
Plantations 3
Princeton University--History 3
Printed ephemera 3
Programs 3
Slavery--Southern States--History 3
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 3
Tobacco--Virginia--History--19th century 3
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 3
Virginia--Cotton Farms--19th century 3
Virginia--History--18th century 3
Virginia--Politics and Government--19th century 3
Virginia--Religious history 3
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 3
Women--History--Virginia 3
World War, 1939-1945 3
Accounts 2
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Architecture, Domestic--Virginia 2
Bedford County (Va.)--Sheriffs 2
Berkeley County (W.Va.)--History 2
Broadsides 2
Brunswick County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Buckingham County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Catalogs 2
Cherokee Indians 2
College of William and Mary--Presidents 2
College of William and Mary--Students 2
Community theater 2
Cotton trade--Southern States--History--19th century 2
Courtship--Virginia 2
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 2
Decedents' estates 2
+ ∧ less
 
Language
English 96
French 2
Spanish; Castilian 2
Dutch; Flemish 1
German 1
∨ more
Latin 1
+ ∧ less
 
Names
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 8
Bruton Parish Church (Williamsburg, Va.) 4
Virginia House of Delegates 4
Brown family 3
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 3
∨ more
Galt family 3
Randolph, John, 1773-1833 3
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 3
Tyler, John, 1790-1862 3
Tyler, John, Jr., 1819-1896 3
United States Congress 3
Williamsburg Historic Records Association (Williamsburg, Va.) 3
Braxton family 2
Brown, Coalter, and Tucker Family 2
Brown, Frances Bland Coalter, 1835-1894 2
Brown, Henry Peronneau, 1883-1942 2
Coalter family 2
Coalter, John, 1769-1838 2
Dew, Thomas R. (Thomas Roderick), 1802-1846 2
Galt, William Richard, 1818-1892 2
Harrison family 2
Hicks family 2
Taliaferro family 2
Taliaferro family. 2
Tucker 2
Tucker, Henry St. George, 1780-1848 2
Tyler, Lyon Gardiner, 1853-1935 2
United States Senate 2
University of Virginia 2
Virginia State Senate 2
Wythe, George, 1726-1806 2
Allison White and Company 1
American Chemical Society 1
American Red Cross 1
Andros, Edmund, Sir, 1637-1714 1
Archer, William Segar, 1789-1855 1
Armistead, John 1
Armistead, William 1
Association for the Preservation of Virginia Antiquities. Colonial Capitol Branch 1
Bank of the Valley in Virginia 1
Bassett, Burwell, 1764-1841 1
Bateman, Herbert Harvell, 1928-2000 1
Beale family 1
Bedford County (Va.). Sheriff 1
Bernard Family 1
Billups, Richard 1
Blackwell, Robert 1
Blayton, James Blaine, Sr., (Dr.) 1
Booth family 1
Bowden, Lemuel Jackson. 1
Boyd family 1
Boyle, Robert, 1627-1691 1
Bracken, John 1
Braithwaite family 1
Braithwaite, Adelia Bucktrout 1
Braxton, Carter, 1787-1855 1
Bright, Robert Anderson, 1839-1904 1
Bright, Samuel Francis 1
Brooke, W.B. 1
Brown, Cassie Dallas Tucker 1
Brown, Charles 1
Brown, John Thompson, 1861-1921 1
Brown, John Willcox, 1886- 1
Bryan, Elizabeth Tucker Coalter, b. 1805 1
Bryan, John Randolph, 1806-1887 1
Bryan, John Stewart, 1871-1944 1
Bucktrout family 1
Burks, Martin Parks, fl. 1817-1859 1
Bushnell, David Ives, Jr., 1875-1941 1
Byrd, William, 1728-1777 1
Bywaters family 1
Cabaniss family 1
Cabaniss, George 1
Cabaniss, James, 1793-1837 1
Cabaniss, John, circa 1787 - 1882 1
Calfee family 1
Calfee, Calvin J. 1
Calfee, David H. 1
Calfee, James 1
Calfee, L. S. 1
Calfee, William B. 1
Campbell family 1
Campbell, Malcolm E. 1
Campbell, Robert Samuel, 1842-1918 1
Campbell, Susan, Mrs. 1
Campbell, William, 1755-1823 1
Carey family 1
Carrington family 1
Carrington, George, 1711-1785 1
Carter, Robert 1
Carter, Robert ("King"), 1663-1732 1
Cary, Wilson Miles, 1838-1914 1
Centenary Church 1
Cheek, Leslie, 1908-1992 1
Cloyd family 1
Coalter, Judith H. Tomlin, d. 1859 1
Coalter, Maria Rind, d. 1792 1
Coalter, St. George Tucker, 1809-1839 1
Coke, Richard, 1790-1851 1
Coleman family 1
+ ∧ less