Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 5 of 5

John M. Blankenbeker Ledgers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad3-MsV Ad8
Scope and Contents

Ledgers; 1849-1869; kept in Madison County, Va. by blacksmith John M. Blankenbeker. Six ledgers:

1849-1850, 1851-1854, 1856-1858, 1859-1862, 1860-1863 and 1863-1869.

Smith F. Blankenbeker Ledgers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad9-MsV Ad12
Scope and Contents

Ledgers, 1854-1862, kept in Robertson, Madison County, Va. by blacksmith Smith F. Blankenbeker.

John A. Cave Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: SC 00671
Scope and Contents

This collection consists of a ledger that once belonged to John A Cave, a Blacksmith in Page County, Virginia. The entries primarily deal with Cave's accounts with Joshua Buracker from 1858 through 1861. Some of the items listed include shoes, shovels, and nails.

Chappelear Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 C38
Scope and Contents Papers, 1876-1959, of Benjamin Curtis Chappelear including manuscript and printed maps of Fauquier, Loudoun, Clarke, and Warren counties, Va.; Virginia state maps; United States Department of the Interior Geological Survey Maps of areas in Virginia and West Virginia; notes concerning land records and manuscript volumes which include account books collected by Chappelear of blacksmiths, farmers, postmasters, students, tanners, and operators of general stores. The collection also includes...

Thomas K. McCutchans Ledgers

 Collection
Identifier: MS 00151
Scope and Contents This collection consists of two ledgers kept by Thomas K. McCutchans, a blacksmith in Rockbridge, VA. The first ledger, from 1852-1867, lists the names of people McCutchans has accounts with and mostly deals with the purchases of household goods. Most of the pages are either blank or have been ripped out of the ledger. The second ledger, from 1866-1888, contains an index to all the accounts in the ledger, and most of the accounts are for household goods but there are some for spokes,...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Ledgers (Accounting) X
  • Subject: Blacksmithing--Virginia X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Account books 3
Blacksmithing--Virginia 3
Blacksmithing--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Blacksmiths--1860-1870 2
Madison County (Va.)--History--19th century 2