Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 21 - 30 of 40

Eliza Jones Memorandum Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af7
Scope and Contents

Kept by Eliza Jones of "Concord," Gloucester Co., Va. containing household and farm accounts, 1831-1843. Includes names of slaves and clothing purchased for them. 93 p. : bound volume ; 16 cm.

Jones Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 69 J71
Scope and Contents Papers, 1826-1916, of the Jones family of "Land's End," Gloucester County, Virginia, and related families of Curtis, Taliaferro, Page and Harrison. Includes correspondence, genealogical notes, obituaries, legal files, real estate material, notes concerning Land's End, Petsworth Parish (Gloucester County), Yorktown, and the homes of the Cringan family and the Mackenzie family, ; and Bible records of the Jones and Fauntleroy families. The first two accessions, which compose the...

Warner T. Jones Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 J75
Scope and Contents Papers, 1807-1891, of Warner T. Jones, judge of Gloucester County, Virginia; his brother Richard P. Jones; and his nephew John R. Page. Papers include letters concerning the Jones family and the Seawell family. Prominent correspondents include John Randolph Bryan, Joseph Bryan, Samuel Bassett French, James Barron Hope, Charles Triplett O'Ferall, William Booth Taliaferro, John Randolph Tucker, and Lyon Gardiner Tyler. Collection includes printed advertisements for sewing and...

The Reverend Henry Gardiner Lane Memorial Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 90 L24
Scope and Contents Correspondence, chiefly 1850-1900, of members of the family of Henry Gardiner Lane, an Episcopal clergyman of Mathews and Gloucester counties, Va. Correspondents include members of the Harrison, Randolph, and Lane families of Mathews and Gloucester counties, Va. Included are autograph and composition books, wills, certificates of indenture, Civil War pardon, Confederate bonds and almanacs. See Also: Southern Women and their Families in the 19th Century Papers and Diaries Series C...

Merchant's Account Book, Gloucester County, Virginia

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame12u
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1830-1836, of an unidentified merchant, [Gloucester County, Va. ?], which includes accounts with members of the Taliaferro family.

Nicolson Family Ledgers and Journals

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 N52, 76 N52 and 93 N52
Scope and Contents Collection contains account journals, some papers and other items of James M. Nicolson, a general merchant in Gloucester County, Virginia (1802-1869), an account book kept by Nicolson and Capt. John L. Hibble as Assistant Quarter Masters of the 26th Virginia Regiment, 1861-1864 (discusses slaves labors); a letter book of H. Yeatman & Co., merchants of Gloucester Court House, 1869-1870, which also contains some of Nicolson's correspondence; and ledger accounts, 1892-1899, for farming at...

P. R. Page Diary

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV D39 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Diary, 1856-1861, of P. R. Page, of Gloucester County, Virginiaa. which concerns his farm and weather.

John Tayloe Perrin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 P42
Scope and Contents

Papers, 1770-1931, of the Perrin family of Gloucester County, Va. Chiefly the diaries and writings of John Tayloe Perrin. Includes farm books, scrapbooks, accounts, wills, and articles by Perrin.

William K. Perrin Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 95 P42
Scope and Contents Business letters, 1833-1839, to Major William K. Perrin and 1855, 1860, to his son-in-law Wyndham Kemp, both of Gloucester County, Virginia from Perrin's step-son Robert W. Nicolson in Uniontown, Perry County, Alabama, about the management of a cotton plantation. Letters mention purchasing land, growing and selling cotton management of slaves, legal and banking matters and uprising of the Creek Indians. Papers, 1800-1855 and n.d., relating to the hiring out and management of slaves of...

Physician's Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Am17-20
Scope and Contents

Three ledgers and an account book, 1805-1826, of an unidentified physician who practiced in the vicinity of Gloucester County, Va., Mathews County, Va., and King and Queen County, Va.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Correspondence 18
Account books 17
Financial records 10
Legal documents 10
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 8
∨ more
Ledgers (Accounting) 7
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 7
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 7
Farms--Virginia--Gloucester County 6
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 6
Diaries 5
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 5
Mathews County (Va.)--History--19th century 5
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 5
Photographs 5
Receipts (financial records) 5
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 4
Genealogy 4
Journals (accounts) 4
Manuscripts (document genre) 4
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 3
Indentures 3
King and Queen County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Minutes 3
Slavery--Southern States--History 3
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 3
Agendas (administrative records) 2
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 2
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 26th 2
Daybooks 2
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 2
Gloucester County (Va.)--Social life and customs 2
Judges--Virginia 2
Maps 2
Notebooks 2
Scrapbooks 2
Slave labor 2
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 2
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 2
United States--Slavery 2
Virginia--Genealogy 2
Virginia--Maps 2
Virginia--Religious history 2
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Accounts 1
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia 1
Agriculture--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
American diaries--Women authors 1
Anti-slavery movements 1
Armistead family 1
Astronomy--Study and teaching 1
Authors, American--20th century 1
Authors, American--Women 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
Blacksmithing--United States 1
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 1
Business records 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Cigars--History 1
Clergy 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
Cocke family 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Engineer's Corps 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Pickett's Division 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 1
Cookery--Southern States 1
County clerks--Virginia 1
County clerks--Virginia--Gloucester County 1
Creek Indians 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Deeds 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Education--Alabama 1
Education--Virginia--Essex County--History 1
Education--Virginia--Gloucester County--History 1
Education--Virginia--History 1
Education--Virginia--Williamsburg--19th century 1
Episcopal Church--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--17th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Farm management 1
Farm management--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 1
Genealogical tables 1
Germany--Description and travel--19th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--Pictorial works. 1
∧ less
 
Language
English 39
 
Names
Taliaferro family 4
Taliaferro family. 3
Booth family 2
Jones, Warner Throckmorton 2
Perrin family 2
∨ more
Taliaferro, John P., 1828-1869 2
Armistead Family 1
Baird family 1
Barron family 1
Bassett, Burwell, 1764-1841 1
Baytop family 1
Baytop, Lucy Taliaferro Catlett 1
Billups, Richard 1
Burwell family 1
Burwell, Charles Blair 1
Burwell, John, d. 1887 1
Catlett family 1
Cocke Family 1
Cocke, Edmund Randolph, 1841-1922 1
Cocke, Thomas Lewis Preston, 1838-1895 1
Cocke, William Fauntleroy, 1826-1863 1
Cocke, William Fauntleroy, 1836-1863 1
Cocke, William, 1798-1855 1
Cocke, William, fl. 1798-1855 1
Coleman, Cynthia Beverley Tucker Washington, 1832-1908 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
Cooke family 1
Cringan family 1
Curtis family 1
Dimmock, Charles H. (Charles Henry), 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles Henry, 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles, d. 1863 1
Dixon family 1
Dixon, Elizabeth Peyton 1
Dixon, John 1
Dixon, John, d. 1788 1
Dixon, William M 1
Education--North Carolina 1
Edwards, Maria Seawell, b. 1815? 1
Ewell, Benjamin Stoddert 1
Fauntleroy family 1
Fauntleroy, William Lawson 1
Fitzhugh family 1
Fitzhugh, Henrietta Ellen Baytop 1
Fitzhugh, Mary F. 1
Fitzhugh, Rufus King 1
Foster, Adam 1
Garland, Anne (Burwell) 1
Glass family 1
Gordon, Elizabeth Gordon Biddle 1
Harrison family 1
Hicks family 1
Hunter family 1
Hunter, R. M. T. (Robert Mercer Taliaferro), 1809-1887 1
Jones family 1
Jones, Mary Fauntleroy 1
Jones, Mary Throckmorton 1
Jones, Richard P. 1
Kemp, Wyndham 1
Langborn, William 1
Longwood University 1
Mackenzie family 1
Methodist Church. Virginia Conference. Richmond District. Gloucester Circuit. 1
Nicolson, James Monroe 1
Nicolson, Robert W. 1
Page family 1
Patton, John Mercer, 1796-1858 1
Perrin, John Taloe 1
Perrin, William K. 1
Preston family 1
Putnam, Elizabeth Margaret Burwell, b. 1823 1
Roane family 1
Rotary Club 1
Rowzee family 1
Seawell, Molly Elliot, 1860-1916 1
Sheldon family 1
Sinclair family 1
Taliaferro, George 1
Taliaferro, Sally Lyon 1
Taliaferro, William Booth 1
Tidewater Fox Hunters Association 1
Todd family 1
Tucker, John Randolph, 1823-1897 1
Tucker, St. George, 1752-1827 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 10th 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 1st 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Infantry Regiment, 22nd 1
United States. Army. Massachusetts Mounted Rifles, 1st 1
United States. Army. New York Infantry Regiment, 70th 1
United States. Army. Ohio Volunteers 1
United States. Army. Pennsylvania Infantry Regiment, 101st 1
United States. Army. Rhode Island Volunteers, 2nd 1
United States. Army. Vermont Infantry Regiment, 2nd 1
Virginia House of Delegates 1
Washington family 1
Washington, Lawrence, 1791-1875 1
White family 1
Whiting family 1
Whittle (Bishop) 1
Yates, Robert 1
∧ less