Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 10 of 17

Armistead-Cocke Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 Ar6
Scope and Contents Correspondence, 1756-1764, of Maria Carter Armistead (including letters written by Mrs. Thomas Feilde); business papers, 1782-1828, of William Cocke of "Bremo," Henrico County, Virginia and of "Oakland," Cumberland County, Virginia; and letters, 1861-1863, of William Fauntleroy Cocke, Thomas Lewis Preston Cocke and Edmund Randolph Cocke concerning their service in the Confederate States Army (including the Battle of First Bull Run).Also included are five volumes of farm and...

Baird Family Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 B16
Scope and Contents Collection includes papers, 1656-1848, concerning Essex County, Va. including land records and wills, many of which relate to the Rowzee family. Many of the records date from the seventeenth century. The collection also includes correspondence, 1830-1920, of members of the Baird family including letters, 1859-1911, of Edward R. Baird while attending the University of Virginia, serving in Pickett's Division and as superintendent of schools in Essex County. There are...

Civil War Collection

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 C76
Scope and Contents The Civil War Collection is an artificial collection of material, chiefly 1861-1865, pertaining to the American Civil War including items from both Union and Confederate forces. The collection includes official correspondence, general and special orders, descriptions of campaigns and battles, articles concerning the war, and artifacts. There are pardons, poems, songs, autographs, maps, muster rolls, pen and ink sketches of camp life, engineers' drawings, and a memorandum of signals used by...

Curtis, Jones & Co. Journal

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame19 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1837-1844, of Curtis, Jones & Co., merchants, Gloucester Court House, Va.

John Dixon Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 D6
Scope and Contents The John Dixon Papers include letters, legal papers, farm and personal accounts, 1760-1829 of John Dixon, Jr. (1777-1830) of "Airville" Gloucester County, Virginia. Letters include those from Charles H. Braxton of "Oak Spring," Burwell Bassett of Williamsburg, Richard Jones, John Nicholson, John Peyton, and James and Samuel Stubbs of Gloucester County. The collection also includes a letter, 22 October 1827, of Burwell Bassett and a letter, 1826, of John Mercer Patton (1796-1858)....

Gloucester County, Va. School Ledger

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV As3
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1819-1849, of the school commissioners of Gloucester County, Va. and minutes of meetings, 1818-1829.

Hibble and Stubbs Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame53-54 Oversize
Scope and Contents

Journal, 1854-1856, and daybook, 1856-1857, of Hibble and Stubbs, merchants, at Cappahosic, Gloucester County, Va.

Hughes, Stubbs & Co. Account Books

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ame61-63 Oversize.
Scope and Contents

Journals, 1844-1847, and day book, 1846-1847, of Hughes, Stubbs & Co., merchants, at Stubbs, Gloucester County, Va.

Catesby Jones Account Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af6
Scope and Contents

Ledger, 1767-1845, of Catesby Jones, of "Marlfield," Gloucester County, Va. Includes information on Robert Yates, a student at the College of William and Mary in 1827.

Eliza Jones Memorandum Book

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af7
Scope and Contents

Kept by Eliza Jones of "Concord," Gloucester Co., Va. containing household and farm accounts, 1831-1843. Includes names of slaves and clothing purchased for them. 93 p. : bound volume ; 16 cm.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century X
  • Subject: Account books X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Ledgers (Accounting) 6
Correspondence 5
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--18th century 4
Journals (accounts) 4
Merchants--Virginia--History--19th century 4
∨ more
Farms--Virginia--Gloucester County 3
Financial records 3
Legal documents 3
Mathews County (Va.)--History--19th century 3
Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 3
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 2
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 26th 2
Daybooks 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Slavery--Southern States--History 2
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 2
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 2
African Americans--Medical care--Virginia 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Agriculture--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Albemarle County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Armistead family 1
Astronomy--Study and teaching 1
Blacksmithing--United States 1
Blackwater, Battle of, 1863 1
Bull Run, 1st Battle of, Va., 1861 1
Camp Allen (Jamestown Island, Va.) 1
Cigars--History 1
Cocke family 1
College of William and Mary--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Pickett's Division 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 14th 1
Culpeper County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Cumberland County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Diaries 1
Drawings and graphics 1
Education--Virginia--Essex County--History 1
Education--Virginia--Gloucester County--History 1
Education--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--17th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Essex County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Fredericksburg (Va.), Battle of, 1862 1
Genealogical tables 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Merchants 1
Hampton (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Henrico County (Va.)--History 1
Indentures 1
Jamestown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
King and Queen County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Louisa County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Maps 1
Maps--United States 1
Marlfield (Gloucester County, Va.) 1
Marriage records--Virginia--Gloucester County 1
Marriage records--Virginia--King and Queen County 1
Marriage records--Virginia--Mathews County 1
Medicine--Practice--Virginia 1
Memoranda Books 1
Merchants--Virginia--Gloucester County 1
Military pensions. 1
Notebooks 1
Orders (military records) 1
Peninsular Campaign, 1862 1
Petersburg (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Philosophy and religion 1
Physicians--Virginia--Charlottesville 1
Plantation life--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Plantation life--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Plantation life--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Poems 1
Political cartoons 1
Portsmouth (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Powhatan County (Va.) 1
Publications 1
Randolph family 1
Reconstruction 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877)--Virginia 1
Richmond (Va.)--History 1
Richmond (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Rosters 1
Schools--Virginia 1
Scrapbooks 1
Slave labor 1
Study and teaching 1
Suffolk, Battle of, Va., 1863 1
Surry County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Surry County (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
Surveying--Virginia--History 1
Surveys (documents) 1
Tobacco industry--Massachusetts 1
Transcripts 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
∧ less
 
Names
Armistead Family 1
Baird family 1
Barron family 1
Bassett, Burwell, 1764-1841 1
Cocke Family 1