Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3

Charles H. Dimmock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 D59
Scope and Contents Papers, 1826-1872, of Charles Dimmock and Charles Henry Dimmock. Includes sketch of the life of Charles H. Dimmock; a manuscript volume containing a journal of a voyage from Norfolk to Madeira and farm journal of "Shabby Hall," Gloucester County, Va.; travel diary, 1826, of Charles Dimmock concerning travels in Venice and Germany; and papers concerning the service of Charles Henry Dimmock in the engineer's corps in the Confederate Army, some of which include work at Yorktown, Va. and having...

Nicolson Family Ledgers and Journals

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 65 N52, 76 N52 and 93 N52
Scope and Contents Collection contains account journals, some papers and other items of James M. Nicolson, a general merchant in Gloucester County, Virginia (1802-1869), an account book kept by Nicolson and Capt. John L. Hibble as Assistant Quarter Masters of the 26th Virginia Regiment, 1861-1864 (discusses slaves labors); a letter book of H. Yeatman & Co., merchants of Gloucester Court House, 1869-1870, which also contains some of Nicolson's correspondence; and ledger accounts, 1892-1899, for farming at...

William Booth Taliaferro Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 T15
Scope and Contents Papers, 1811-1954, of William Booth Taliaferro and his family of Gloucester County, Va. Taliaferro's papers consist of diaries, letterbook (while at Harpers Ferry), correspondence, speeches, memoirs and accounts. The collection also includes papers of his wife, Sally Nivison Lyons Taliaferro (including diaries), his ancestors, siblings and descendants, as well as photographs, genealogical notes and artifacts of the Taliaferro family.There are papers of other people who are not...

Filtered By

  • Subject: Gloucester County (Va.)--History--19th century X
  • Subject: Virginia--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 X
  • Subject: Gloucester County (Va.)--History X
  • Subject: Correspondence X
  • Language: English X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Diaries 2
Farm management--Virginia--History--19th century 2
Photographs 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 2
∨ more
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 2
Account books 1
Agendas (administrative records) 1
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
Barbour County (W. Va.)--History, Military--19th century. 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Engineer's Corps 1
Confederate States of America. Army. Virginia Infantry Regiment, 26th 1
Farm management--Southern States--History--19th century 1
Financial records 1
Genealogy 1
Germany--Description and travel--19th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Genealogy. 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--History--20th century 1
Gloucester County (Va.)--Merchants 1
Harpers Ferry (W. Va.)--History--John Brown's Raid, 1859 1
Italy--Description and travel--19th century 1
Journals (accounts) 1
Ledgers (Accounting) 1
Legal documents 1
Madeira Islands--Description and travel--19th century 1
Manuscripts (document genre) 1
Maps 1
Programs 1
Reconstruction (U.S. history, 1865-1877) 1
Reports 1
Scrapbooks 1
Siege of Petersburg, Va. (Richmond-Petersburg Campaign), 1864-1865 1
Slave labor 1
Slavery--Southern States--History 1
Technical reports 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--African Americans 1
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Maps 1
United States--History--Mexican War, 1845-1848 1
United States--Politics and Government 1
United States--Slavery 1
Virginia Military Institute--History--19th century 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--Maps 1
Virginia--Politics and Government 1
Women--Virginia--Social life and customs 1
Yorktown (Va.)--History--Civil War, 1861-1865 1
∧ less
 
Names
Booth family 1
College of William and Mary--Alumni and alumnae 1
Dimmock, Charles H. (Charles Henry), 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles Henry, 1831-1873 1
Dimmock, Charles, d. 1863 1