Skip to main content Skip to search results

Showing Collections: 1 - 3 of 3

Grigsby-Galt Papers

 Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2009.308 and 2011.269
Scope and Contents This collection contains the family papers of members of the Grigsby and Galt Families. Mary Blair Grigsby married William W. Galt in 1881.  The collection contains papers of various members of the Grigsby family, particulary Hugh Blair Grigsby who was a historian and Chancellor of The College of William and Mary and his son, Hugh Carrington Grigsby who lived his entire life at the family farm, Edgehill, in Charlotte County, Virginia. The collection also contains the personal...

McGavock Papers

 Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 M17
Scope and Contents Papers (including correspondence, legal documents, and accounts) of James McGavock (1728-1812), his son James McGavock (1764-1838) and his grandsons James McGavock (1804-1839) and Stephen McGavock (1807-1880). Many of the papers concern lead mines at Fort Chiswell, Va, slavery, agriculture, aspects of the Revolutionary War, and other.  Included are a list of parish levies before 1776; receipts for supplies issued at Fort Chiswell, Wythe County, Va. and at Fort Patrick Henry, Tenn. for an...

Miller-Enslow Facsimiles

 Collection
Identifier: SC 01238
Scope and Contents

Facsimiles were likely made in 1972. Copies of papers of the Miller and Enslow families which are letters, chiefly to William Miller, Newburn, Pulaski County, Va. from relatives (including his brother Daniel Miller) in Iowa, California and Missouri. The letters contain descriptions of California and Missouri and mention "Indian trouble" in Iowa. The collection includes material, 1747-1969, on the Miller, Enslow, and Glendy families.

Filtered By

  • Subject: Genealogy X
  • Subject: Indians of North America X

Filter Results

Additional filters:

Subject
Financial records 2
Indians of North America 2
Legal documents 2
Receipts (financial records) 2
Agriculture--Virginia--19th century 1
∨ more
Agriculture--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Augusta County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Bedford County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Botetourt County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Cabinet photographs 1
California--Description and travel--19th century 1
Carte de visite photographs 1
Certificates 1
Charlotte County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Cherokee Indians 1
Clippings (information artifacts) 1
College of William and Mary--History--19th century 1
Colonial period, ca. 1609-1774 1
Farms--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Genealogical tables 1
Greeting cards 1
Indians of North America--Iowa 1
Invoices 1
Iowa--Description and travel--19th century 1
Japan--Description and travel 1
Lead mines and mining--Virginia 1
Letters (correspondence) 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898 1
Manila Bay, Battle of, Philippines, 1898--Pictorial works 1
Manuscripts for publication 1
Marriage certificates 1
Mines and mineral resources--Virginia 1
Missouri--Description and travel--19th century 1
Montgomery County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Norfolk (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Photographs 1
Pittsylvania County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Poems 1
Postcards 1
Pulaski County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Report cards 1
Slavery--Virginia--18th century 1
Slavery--Virginia--19th century 1
Slavery--Virginia--History--18th century 1
Slavery--Virginia--History--19th century 1
Spanish-American War, 1898 1
Speeches 1
Stock certificates 1
Surveys (documents) 1
Tobacco farmers--Virginia 1
United States--History--Revolution, 1775-1783 1
United States. Navy 1
United States. Navy--History--19th century 1
United States. Navy--History--20th century 1
Virginia--Genealogy 1
Virginia--History--19th century 1
Virginia--History--Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775 1
Virginia--Social life and customs--19th century 1
Visiting cards 1
Washington County (Va.)--History--18th century 1
Washington County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
Wythe County (Va.)--History--19th century 1
∧ less
 
Language
Spanish; Castilian 1
 
Names
Boyd family 1
Carrington family 1
Cloyd family 1
Eastern Publishing Co 1
Galt family 1